We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Seagrave Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Seagrave Arms
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent Hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We've just returned from a great relaxing weekend at the Seagrave Arms. Our room was fine, ok not the largest we've stayed in, but it didn't stop us doing anything! The food was excellent: there's a good choice for starters, main and desserts. All the staff were very friendly and welcoming. We'd quite happily stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenandGoldEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    55
    29
    10
    6
See reviews for
34
164
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Our room was over the front entrance and looked out at the carpark. The room was small but adequate with a comfortable bed and we liked the 'teapigs' assorted teas. We didn't like that there was no shaver point, only one shower gel and no shampoo or conditioner and very poor lighting in the bathroom. Our television was not tuned in and our Internet connection didn't work which was frustrating.
We enjoyed our meal in the busy restaurant but not that we were put on the smallest table in the room!
Breakfast was cooked freshly and was very tasty but we didn't like the carton orange juice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
director69, Owner at The Seagrave Arms, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for your review.We are a Country Inn & Restaurant with Rooms and not a Hotel.We are delighted you enjoyed your evening meal & breakfast and your comfortable bed.I believe we did re-tune your television as soon as you asked.We have free wireless internet throughout the building and the coverage is good for a country location.Our bathrooms have a full range of REN toiletries and we are always happy to provide extras if requested.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

First, the food. It really is of the very highest quality and well worth a visit. We certainly enjoyed it.

But we less impressed with the accommodation. The room was very hot and airless, even on a cool day. It was also very small, and the bathroom even smaller. There is no way the beds are king size; they are much smaller than that and very uncomfortable: we both work with bad backs.

Room Tip: The choice is between road side rooms (which other reviewers say are noisy) and south facing rooms w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p1nkyandperky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
director69, Owner at The Seagrave Arms, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
We are pleased that you enjoyed our food -we are once again in the Good Food Guide this year.We are suprised by your comments on the room.Our building is a Georgian farm house and the rooms all have opening windows.Pictures of our rooms can be seen on our website or Facebook page.We have had many compliments (see other reviews) about how comfortable our beds are.I gather from your comments that you suffer with back problems which I suggest may have affected your comfort as you are probably used to firmer beds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Booked this Restarant with Rooms short notice...the room was really tastefully decorated with crsip white bed linen and soft fluffy white towels, enough bathroom products for our stay with a range of herbal teas, coffee , hot chocolate and delicious flap jacks.

We walked to Chippen Camden in the day, it was one of our rare hot sunny days..the Lad behind the bar said it was hilly but walkable..being Welsh we thought we were well equipped to deal with hills....we got there in just nder and hour ..it is ALL up hill...first port of call was a bar to rehydrate!!!! Coming back was less arduous, obviously and we were more than ready for our evening meal.

We enjoyed an aperitif in the garden before dinner which was lovely.
The Menu choice and Food at the Seagrave are amazing, ..attention to detail is second to none, i had no sooner finished my last Tiger Prawn with Samphire and Horseradish dip when the Restaurant Manager arrived with a steaming bowl of lemon water and fresh napkins for my sticky fingers!

We had a lovely stay in this great Establishment..would definitely recommend to anyone wanting an evening getaway with lovely Rooms and excellent food in a very nice part of the countryside.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jangolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

We did a last minute booking just the night before we stayed. The hotel is situated a couple of miles from Chipping Campden so is good for touring the area. It is definitely more of a restaurant/hotel than a pub.
Our room was on the front of the pub right next to the busy road, so was quite noisy with lorries and tractors using the junction nearby. The room was fine - nice and clean with good quality bedding and toiletries. A minor point for the girls is that there was nowhere with good lighting to put on makeup. The shower was good with plentiful hot water.
Our evening meal was eaten in the garden as we managed to stay on one of the few fine days this summer. Service and food were both excellent. Not huge portions but very tasty and well presented.
Breakfast was ok with a small choice, but, again, portions were quite small and there was no cereal choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
director69, Owner at The Seagrave Arms, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for your comments and we are pleased you enjoyed our food.We are located in a small cotswold village in a farming area and your visit coincided with the first day of the harvest,hence there were many more tractor & lorry movements than usual.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harpenden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Had such a brilliant stay here, great food, lovely cosy rooms and set in beautiful countryside. Cannot reccommend it highly enough .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank millie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend and got an absolutely lovely suite (huge, quiet, beautifully decorated bedroom with an equally huge, quiet and beautifully decorated bathroom) for a very good price. The hosts were charming, the food was good (v reasonably-priced restaurant for dinner) and the location was very convenient for some gentle Cotswolds walking.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Londoner27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
2.1 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
4.6 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,162 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
#1 of 28 in Chipping Campden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seagrave Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seagrave Arms

Property: The Seagrave Arms
Address: Friday Street | Weston Subedge, Chipping Campden GL55 6QH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Campden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Seagrave Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seagrave Arms is a charming country inn and award-wining restaurant with eight en-suite guestrooms. Set in the heart of the Cotswolds, mid-way between the villages of Chipping Campden (1 mile) and Broadway (3 miles) and just 20 minutes dive from both Cheltenham and Stratford upon Avon. The eight bedrooms feature king-size beds, luxurious linen, flat screen TVs, Branche d'Olive toiletries, tea and coffee making facilities and free Wi-Fi. With 2 Rosettes, the restaurant serves seasonal British cuisine. The menu is made with sustainable local produce including fruits and vegetables from nearby farms, Cotswold beef, Gloucester Old Spot pork and plenty of game from local shoots. Whether you want to enjoy a pint of real ale in the bar near the roaring-log fire or dine on classic dishes in the candlelit and intimate restaurant, Hannah, Newstead and Mally (The cat) look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your The Seagrave Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Seagrave Arms Hotel Chipping Campden
The Seagrave Arms Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing