We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for both Food and Service”
Review of Taj Cottage

Taj Cottage
Ranked #75 of 526 Restaurants in Doncaster
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $39
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Excellent for both Food and Service”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

My husband booked this restaurant for my birthday, as we used to go regularly and had not been for a while, needless to say nothing had changed still the same excellent food and service, in nice and relaxing surroundings.
Just wish we had not left it so long before returning, and will definately be going back.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank suecave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    27
    19
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
doncaster,UK
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“very comprehensive menu”
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Visited as a party of four for a double birthday meal.The interior has been refurbished and also has an upstairs with a separate bar as well.We had a wide variety of food to share and the house red wine was excellent.The food and service was prompt and the whole meal good value for money.The menu has a very wide choice.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Shame there weren't more people in.”
Reviewed October 4, 2011

I really enjoyed the food here but went on a night when there was just us two and one other couple with two people on it which spoilt it a bit. The food was very tasty and a bit different (as Indian food should be). The price was reasonable as well.

Hopefully this place will pick up a bit soon, would be a real shame for us to loose it.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rachel_a_1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food and good value”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Called for a takeaway, food was fabulous, ready on time and good value for money. Slightly more than a regular take away curry but it is from a restaurant and the food is far superior to a general take away. Best curry house in Tickhill by far and highly recommended. We take all our visitors here and they love it, even asking if they can come and stay just s they can go back again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Popet70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The last supper”
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Booked a table for my brothers birthday, table was booked at 8. A local to this we walk down and got in about 7:45 to sit and have a drink. Very warm welcome as always and they did say there would be a little wait which we accepted as there was 7 of us even though we book. We ordered some drinks, then some more, then some more. We got up to check where our table was as it was now 9:15. They said just a couple of moments and they took our order at the bar for our food.....9:45 we sat down got our starts within 5 mins which was ok, our mains followed 4 of 7 was cold now so we complained but by now it was 10:20 they did say the would change them but after the service we said we didn't want to and just wanted to leave, a waitress let slip hen saying sorry that they hadn't bought a diary yet .... For a restaurant that's just madness. Needless to say they was very sorry but ruined the evening for us, the only good thing is that they did not charge us for the food just the drink, but to little to late as we did used to go at least once a month + lots of take aways

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SiG1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taj Cottage also viewed

Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Taj Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing