We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service”
Review of Cactus Jacks

Cactus Jacks
Ranked #8 of 517 Restaurants in Doncaster
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Me and my partner go cactus jacks allllll the time. Not any more.

The managers service tonight was horrendous. Not only did he get our meal wrong...twice. we were over charged. Then when we complained over the phone his attitude was disguisting and was the most condensending person ive ever dealt with.


Sort it out and sack the manager before i go back again.

Disgusting!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffdean1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    55
    19
    11
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Quick friendly service, food good, reasonable prices. .....”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Staff always friendly and efficient, even with some rowdy tables. Always busy and buzzing, not the place for a quiet night! !! Food good, I had burritos, partner had ribs, tasty and plentiful. Plenty of meat on the ribs and boxed up 3rd of em to take home. Value for money, worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
“Rude staff..average food”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Four of us came to cactus jacks on 9/10/13, food was standard for what we paid, restaurant had no atmosphere whatsoever, in major need of a makeover to keep upto date with other restaurants in the town center. We're offered drinks when seated but had to catch waitresses eye for more, as they were all stood around the bar laughing and constantly texting (stood with the man who seemed to be manager), felt awkward interrupting for a drink and bill no concern for customers. All in all not good value for money, relish and zest have superior service and atmosphere, would not return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs. UK.
Level Contributor
654 reviews
477 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Mexican Themed Restaurant.”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Visited while passing through Doncaster. Service was efficient and friendly. Food was just ok - no frills, fairly basic - but good value for money. Suppose it would be good for a night out with friends as long as you are not expecting a gourmet experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank richardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice Meal”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I wasn't sure what to expect after reading some of the reviews, but my worries were unfounded as we had a great night. There were eight of us for a birthday party on a Tuesday night and we had a smashing time. The place was warm and welcoming and the staff were very pleasant. The food was very good and well presented with some of the party having starters which all looked good. The main meals ordered were varied and everyone said how hot and tasty they were. I had south west chilli with all the trimmings and a real red hot chilli pepper on the side and found it to be very tasty, without being too spicy. The prices of the main dishes are all quite reasonable and one or two of the party had ice-cream desserts which I thought were quite expensive for what they got. We had a lovely meal in nice surroundings with pleasant staff, so what more could you want.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sammie134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cactus Jacks also viewed

Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Cactus Jacks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing