We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Review Highlights
First visit

First time visit to the Barracks, what a really enjoyable day, our guide was brilliant and very... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
60AlisonC60
,
Rowton, United Kingdom
via mobile
Ashworth Barracks

Had a great time today @AshworthBKS , plenty to see, museum we'll set out and Barry the guide was... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
DaiCymru
Read all 629 reviews
  
Reviews (629)
Filter reviews
629 results
Traveler rating
588
36
5
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
588
36
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews victoria cross guided tour shooting range ex army military museum armed forces zulu wars fantastic museum his knowledge assault course volunteer guides two hours world war run by volunteers ask questions fantastic afternoon on display
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 629 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2019

Tucked away in the middle of a housing estate I didn't know what to expect but its a marvellous place to visit. The two hour tour given by Keith was fantastic, a lovely bloke, who made the time fly by. Definitely worth a visit

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank warlokk59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2019 via mobile

I took a resident with autism and did wonder before going if he would be able to cope for 2 hours with the guide talking. Because it was so interesting both of us thoroughly enjoyed it and it was very educational. well worth it

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank DebbieandKarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2019 via mobile

A very good museum with ex military blokes showing you around.
Nice cafe that have very reasonable prices. Great visit.

Date of experience: February 2019
1  Thank Cavman56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2019 via mobile

Our second visit with our grandsons 10 and 8 and we all thoroughly enjoyed it. New exhibits have been added since our last visit.
Keith was a very informative and interesting guide, explaining things very carefully to the boys.
The main focus is on the VC's telling some of their stories, however,the museum moves through the eras from Rorkes Drift to the more recent conflict in Afghanistan, showing the development of weapons and equipment.
The boys loved being allowed to hold some of the weapons and wearing helmets.
Thank you.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Kay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2019 via mobile

Fantastic museum. The guide was excellent and really spent time explaining the exhibits to young and old My elderly father loved it. Lunch was equally good. The volunteers go that extra mile.

Date of experience: February 2019
1  Thank Annette803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews