We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Review Highlights
First visit

First time visit to the Barracks, what a really enjoyable day, our guide was brilliant and very... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
60AlisonC60
,
Rowton, United Kingdom
via mobile
Ashworth Barracks

Had a great time today @AshworthBKS , plenty to see, museum we'll set out and Barry the guide was... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
DaiCymru
Read all 629 reviews
  
Reviews (629)
Filter reviews
629 results
Traveler rating
588
36
5
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
588
36
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews victoria cross guided tour shooting range ex army military museum armed forces zulu wars fantastic museum his knowledge assault course volunteer guides two hours world war run by volunteers ask questions fantastic afternoon on display
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 629 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2019

Whilst appearing from the outside as run down, once you get inside the transformation is amazing, it gives a concise and interesting storyline of the VC recipients with various full size models of trenches etc, for such a young enterprise they have a good selection of historical items, what makes it stand out is being guided by the ex-service personal who provide a wealth of knowledge and feel like they are enjoying passing it on . Steve our guide was just brilliant . The cafe was clean and welcoming. Good parking on site

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2019

What a great Museum this is.I took my Grandson and we both had a brilliant time.Steve our guide was most excellent and made our visit informed and funny.Located just off the A1 it was very easy to find and everyone was great.It has free parking and a NAAFI .We will be back thank you.

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank Jono194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2018 via mobile

what an amazing day,great guided tours and history everywhere you look. hands on tour get your hands on the weapons kids love it

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2018 via mobile

Second visit here with my disabled son.
Excellent, informative,educational for people of all ages.
Tour guides ex soldiers who make the visit very interesting and who bring home the debt owed to these men.

Cafe and free parking on site.
Well worth a trip out.

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank marknorris93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2018 via mobile

A big thank you to our tour guide Mick . He was Very informative he was very helpful nothing was too much trouble. Will definatly recommend this museum to others . Thank you to everyone who welcomed us today

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews