We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value for money excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Doncaster
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Doncaster
Certificate of Excellence
cleethorpes
Level 6 Contributor
327 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“good value for money excellent staff”
Reviewed October 26, 2010

very good express with excellent helpful staff also offers evening meals which is a bonus tho i arrived too late room standard express but clean modern and excellent interactive tv overall a very positive experience

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CleethorpesGtfcfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTidswell, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, responded to this review, October 28, 2010
Many thanks for taking your time to leave this great feedback, I always have pleasure in informing the staff that they have been acknowledged for their service.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Denise Jennings
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    144
    71
    11
    10
See reviews for
72
143
30
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2010

The hotel is new and is well appointed, especially given the price (£56 B&B). Room quite large, well furnished and good en suite. Buffet breakfast typical of Holiday Inn Express hotels which are OK, but no more - scrambled eggs, as always, were VERY overcooked and virtually inedible. The only real downside was when it came to locating the hotel. It is on a newly constructed industrial estate (not marked on maps) and there were no direction signs - took 30 minutes to locate with the help of friendly locals.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davytUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTidswell, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, responded to this review, October 28, 2010
Thank you for leaving feedback about your stay with us in May.
From the feedback we receive from guests like yourself regarding our location we have had new signage done and changed the driving directions on our website to read more accurately.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our room facilities and look forward to welcoming you on any return visits.

Kind regards

Denise Jennings
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
893 reviews
497 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2010

We booked the dinner, bed and breakfast option which was pretty good value. Checkin was easy and room was a fairly good size with desk, chair and sofa. Room had airco which was nice and location was fairly quiet. Breakfast was adequate, would stay here again. Only complaint was that they charged for Internet access which is unusual for a Holiday Inn Express. Did not like that!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeeLuv2Travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCutt, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, responded to this review, September 11, 2010
We appreciate you leaving feedback on our hotel and thank you for the time you have taken to do so.
The Dinner rate you booked is new to the hotel and the feedback we receive is always good to find out how something new is working out.
The interent is free in the great room/lobby of the hotel but does not extend to the rooms where it is chargeable.
We are pleased to read though that you would return to the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Doncaster.

kind regards

Denise Jennings
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2010

My wife & I stayed at this hotel with our son and his family, after he had made an prepaid advance booking for 2 rooms @ £40 per room including breakfast.

We've stayed at quite a few Travelodges/ Premier Inns, but this was a superior experience. The place was modern and had been carefully planned and thought out, so we couldn't find anything to pick fault with. We were especially impressed with the shower room where the front door opened to become the toilet door and the shower was a modern thermostatically controlled unit. What's more it was supplied with a flannel- how often do you get one of those these days?

The room was a fairly standard layout for budget hotels, but was tastefully fitted out with everything we needed (including an ingenious kettle and tea making stand). The room was air-conditioned (with a very quiet fan) and the bed was one of the most comfortable we've slept in at a budget hotel (Lenny Henry, eat your heart out)!

On top of that, the room charge included a complimentary breakfast, which was a nice continental one supplemented by a buffet style egg, sausage and beans cooked food. It may not have been up to the standard of expensive hotels, but for what we paid, it was great.

All told, we'd happily go there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCutt, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, responded to this review, September 11, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great response about our Hotel.
All our rooms come with complimentary breakfast and all the mod cons you describe. We are really pleased you and your family enjoyed the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back again next time you are visiting the area.

kind regards

Denise Jennings
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Stayed here on the way home from visiting family and found the room exceeded expectations. Fixtures and fittings were nicer than they needed to be in an "express" hotel. Loads of free parking in what appears to be an industrial/retail estate with a restaurant across the road and a petrol station with 24 hour shop nearby. Good breakfast but limited seating area.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChambyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCutt, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, responded to this review, September 11, 2010
I am pleased to read that your stay with us exceeded expectations, we do pride ourselves on being modern and convenient.
We are also close to the Lakeside Retail Park and have easy access from the M18.
Thank you for taking your time to leave feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel next time you are making a long journey.

kind regards

Denise Jennings
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

Get what you pay for with a Holiday Inn. Clean rooms but nothing special, convenient for road network. Probably poor timing but very noisy with late arriving coach parties.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank munse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCutt, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, responded to this review, September 11, 2010
We are sorry to read that you had an inconvenience during your stay with us, we apologise for this.
We appreciate that you would still recommend us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

kind regards

Denise Jennings
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
Level 6 Contributor
342 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

Stayed here August 14th, to go to Doncaster Races, Hotel is very easy to find, near Junction 3 M18 and just in a industrial area past B & Q.
Receptionists very accommodating, allowing early check in.
Stag do in the lobby as we arrived, did not really worry me as a day drinking at the races usually has me sleeping through anything, though the women asked for us to be "far" away from them ! lol
Pros:
Rooms were clean and tidy, nice modern little bathrooms, plenty of tea/coffee, decent bar, good cooked breakfast in with the price (as much as you wanted as far as I could see), good continental options also, friendly staff, all for only £53.95 a night PER ROOM !
Plenty of parking spaces.
Cons:
No bacon with cooked breakfast, pillows were a bit flat, our bed sank in the middle (never been forced to sleep so close to the wife before), not enough tables in breakfast area when busy
All in all, good value for money for a nice clean hotel with friendly staff and I recommend it !
One tip: If you are going to the races, phone the hotel the day before, get the numbers of some local taxi firms and book your taxi's to the races, we did, my friend was late and missed ours, they were waiting 1hr 30mins for a taxi and missed the first race.
It costs about a fiver from the hotel to the racecourse in a taxi.

Also the pub opposite Woodview Farm I think, serves good food and decent priced lager, we went there after the races, think its a Brewers Fayre chain restaurant or something like that but the food tasted fresher and better cooked than our local ones.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dannyjcarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCutt, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, responded to this review, September 11, 2010
Thank you for taking your time to leave such positive feedback about our Hotel. We appreciate all comments and take on board any suggestions.
You are correct in thinking you can return to the breakfast area, and the portion sizes are of your own choice as its self service.
Good tip about the taxis too, thank you again.

kind regards

Denise Jennings
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doncaster hotels
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Doncaster A1(M), Jct. 36
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Doncaster Lakeside
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Doncaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Ramada Encore Doncaster Airport
4.0 mi away
Best Western Premier Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Earl of Doncaster
The Earl of Doncaster
#6 of 19 in Doncaster
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Doncaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Doncaster

Property: Holiday Inn Express Doncaster
Address: Firstpoint Balby Carr Bank | Bullrush Grove, Balby, Doncaster DN4 8SJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Doncaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Doncaster
#7 Romantic Hotel in Doncaster
#7 Business Hotel in Doncaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Doncaster 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Express by Holiday Inn Doncaster has been created for value and comfort. The hotel is Fully Air Conditioned ,every room is equipped with all the facilities you need for a relaxing and comfortable stay, an invigorating power shower, satellite TV, in-room movies, broadband access, High Speed Internet Access and tea/coffee making facilities. Guests can enjoy our complimentary continental buffet breakfast and relax in the Great Room lounge and bar area. FREE WIFI in lounge and bar. Located in First Point Business Park, just a two minute drive from the M18, this hotel is the perfect choice for leisure and business. In house are 2 fully equipped meeting rooms. The Dome Leisure Centre. and the Keepmoat Stadium home of Doncaster Rovers Football Team are both less than 5 minutes drive away. The Doncaster Racecourse and Exhibition Centre home of the famous St. Leger Race is local. Doncaster is also home to Doncaster Knights Rugby Club at Castle Park.The hotel is situated close to Robin Hood Airport and the location of the hotel offers excellent transport links to the M18 and A1(M) for nearby cities such as Sheffield, Leeds and Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Doncaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Doncaster Hotel Doncaster
Holiday Inn Doncaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing