We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Doncaster
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Doncaster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2013

17/5/13 - the staff are very very helpful and welcoming. The room was spotlessly clean and comfortable. Just opposite the hotel there is a pub that serves a tastey carvery and menu options. The hotel breakfast options included cooked and continental options. We would definitely use this hotel again.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise1970, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Hello
Thank you for your lovely response to staying in our hotel, we really appreciate the comments about the staff and hotel. I will pass these on to the relevant departments as they like to hear the reviews.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Doncaster and thank you again for taking your time to leave such fantastic feedback.

Kind regards
Denise Jennings
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Doncaster
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 420 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

8 of us meeting for a family weekend. Big rooms great to have a drink in together. Lakeside a short walk away for a wander around & the wonderful pub just a short stroll away.
Only minor negative is that the bathrooms are so small, kept dropping things on the floor as there is such a lack of space to put anything. Staff were very helpful & friendly

Room Tip: We had 245 with views over countryside
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GaryandCarol52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise1970, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Hi GaryandCarol52

Thank you for leaving such great feedback on our Hotel, we appreciate you taking your time to do this.
The bathrooms are compact and have a unique design with the "double use door" but does lack storage space for products. Sorry if this inconvenienced you in any way. Our accessible rooms have a wet room rather than the shower cubicle which are a lot bigger, maybe on your next visit you could try out one of those rooms.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Doncaster on your next visit.
Kind regards

Denise Jennings
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We hired a car from Manchester and were able to travel easily to Doncaster. Once in Doncaster we did find the hotel difficult to locate as our map was not detailed enough. Two phone calls to staff at hotel and we were able to find our way safely. Hotel staff were excellent: helpful and friendly. Breakfast was simple but enough choice to satisfy an appetite. This place suited our needs as we were meeting with a friend who lived in the area rather than sightseeing. Very convenient for us although we could have easily used the train from Manchester rather than the hire car. The drive back to Manchester took over three hours!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Nerina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise1970, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Hello Nerina C

We really appreciate you taking your time to leave a great review of our Hotel, we are only sorry the drive back to Manchester took you 3 hours :(
I will be sure to pass your comments onto the staff as I am glad they were able to help you with directions.
We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Kind regards
Denise Jennings
Acting General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed here recently as it was close to where we were working. Check in was fine. Room ok. Tv was rubbish. Poor choice of channels and the remote didn't work. No Internet in rooms only available in reception. Dropped remote under bed and my disbelief found an insect monitor under my bed ! Did not feel comfortable in my bed for the rest of the night and doesn't say much for the cleanliness of the place. Breakfast was poor with little choice and the hot food being Luke warm at best. On leaving we were greeted by a grumpy women who barely lifted her eyes to us and never smiled or was in any way civil. All this for £140 for a two night stay with my friend. The carvers place is cheap but poor , maybe it was just what I picked, and wasn't nice. My opinion avoid both !

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weesav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise1970, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Hi
Thank you for taking your time to leave a review of your stay. We appreciate you were working in the area and you did not have a problem with your check in or location of the hotel.
Internet is available in the rooms at a charge, and we have an option for a free 30 minutes use now, we have taken on board previous reviews and changed this.
The insect monitor is a preventative measure not because we have any, it is used to detect anything that may get into the rooms which is not wanted, they are checked regularly and again this is a prevention, we have nothing to hide and our Hotel is very clean.
The pub/carvery over the car park is nothing to do with the hotel so unfortunately I can't comment on there service or meals.
I can however make sure that your comments on my staff are dealt with and thank you for bringing this to my attention.
If you have any future problems, ie. the remote control not working, please report to reception who will be happy to replace it or even change your room if necessary.

Kind regards
Denise Jennings
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed here one night, and it was clean had a good shower, proper bed not a camp bed you might of got sometimes.
There were lots of restaurants in the business park beside it including a table table type pub
Subway, gregs and KFC. There was also a big aldi right next to it which is very handy!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank Rachael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise1970, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Hi, thank you for leaving this review but I believe you are referring to the Rotherham-North Holiday Inn Express as we do not have an Aldi next to us. It is however managed by the same company so we appreciate the comments you have left and I will be sure to pass them to the General Manager there.

Kind regards

Denise Jennings
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The hotel is very clean and the staff on reception were very helpful and friendly. In fact iWe could not fault it. However, when we turned up for breakfast we were very disappointed. The hot option consisted of scrambled eggs, beans and sausage. The toaster was slow in toasting the bread and everything seemed like a free for all and although it seemed well organised it felt very mismatch with guests all over the place. We liked the hotel and would recommend it but don't bother with the breakfast. To be honest we found the Premier Inn breakfast had a lot more choice and recommend that each time if they have room as they are often fully booked.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back away from the road as you do hear traffic noise in the morning
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharon_farmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise1970, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thank you for leaving feedback on our hotel, we are pleased to read that you like the hotel and the staff are friendly I will be sure to pass these comments onto them.
Breakfast can be busy especially on weekends but we do endeavour to improve things by using feedback such as your own to highlight any features that do not work properly.
Once again thank you for your time in completing this review and we look forward to your next stay in Doncaster.
Kind regards
Denise Jennings
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This was a typical Holiday Inn Express so no surprises as you know exactly what you are going to get.

The room was comfortable and reasonably sized, the breakfast good and the staff both friendly and helpful. It;s about a £5 taxi ride into town - and a pretty dismal town is Doncaster

On the plus side:
Price
Free Wifi in the lobby, bar and dining area
Free newspaper - the I
Sky Sports

On the negative side:
The location which is in the middle of a large industrial estate opposite a massive Amazon depot so views not great and it is used as a parking lot for artics (the road that is).
For some reason they only seemed to be able to provide me with smoking rooms

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nsojer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise1970, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Hello
Thank you for taking your time to leave feedback about our hotel.
Once the area has been fully developed and the road works completed we will be getting double yellow lines on the dual carriageway next to our hotel to stop the lorry's from parking there over night, we know this is a problem and are dealing it with it as best we can with the help of the other local businesses.
I don't understand why you are only offered smoking rooms, maybe this was all the hotel had left on the night but if you do stay again be sure to ring us and request non-smoking before your arrival and then we can guarantee a non-smoking room for you.
Thank you for the nice comments made about the actual hotel and staff I will be sure to pass these on and once again thanks for using your own time to complete this.
Kind regards
Denise Jennings
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doncaster hotels
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Doncaster A1(M), Jct. 36
4.0 mi away
Best Western Premier Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Doncaster Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Doncaster
4.5 mi away
Ramada Encore Doncaster Airport
1.5 mi away
The Earl of Doncaster
The Earl of Doncaster
#5 of 19 in Doncaster
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Doncaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Doncaster

Address: Firstpoint Balby Carr Bank | Bullrush Grove, Balby, Doncaster DN4 8SJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Doncaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Doncaster
#7 Romantic Hotel in Doncaster
#7 Business Hotel in Doncaster
Price Range: $59 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Doncaster 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Express by Holiday Inn Doncaster has been created for value and comfort. The hotel is Fully Air Conditioned ,every room is equipped with all the facilities you need for a relaxing and comfortable stay, an invigorating power shower, satellite TV, in-room movies, broadband access, High Speed Internet Access and tea/coffee making facilities. Guests can enjoy our complimentary continental buffet breakfast and relax in the Great Room lounge and bar area. FREE WIFI in lounge and bar. Located in First Point Business Park, just a two minute drive from the M18, this hotel is the perfect choice for leisure and business. In house are 2 fully equipped meeting rooms. The Dome Leisure Centre. and the Keepmoat Stadium home of Doncaster Rovers Football Team are both less than 5 minutes drive away. The Doncaster Racecourse and Exhibition Centre home of the famous St. Leger Race is local. Doncaster is also home to Doncaster Knights Rugby Club at Castle Park.The hotel is situated close to Robin Hood Airport and the location of the hotel offers excellent transport links to the M18 and A1(M) for nearby cities such as Sheffield, Leeds and Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Doncaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Doncaster Hotel Doncaster
Holiday Inn Doncaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing