We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Doncaster
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Doncaster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2013

First of all the good points,the hotel is very clean and the rooms likewise and the bedding etc could not be faulted.We ate 2 evening meals and although it was typical fare both meals were perfectly adequate for what we had paid.The bad points are that there is no wifi in the rooms but the main gripe was the very poor breakfast,limited amounts of bread to make toast and no bacon at all just sausages beans and scrambled egg, yes there was cereals etc but on the whole it was poor both days.The staff we could not fault and but for the poor breakfast would have given it at least 4 stars.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smithers271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise1970, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Hi and thank you for taking your time to leave feedback, we really are lucky with the staff we have here and they love to hear that they have been praised or mentioned in a review.
We are happy that you enjoyed the evening meals and are sorry to hear you did not enjoy the breakfast. We aim to improve on standards at all times so hopefully next time you stay you will see an improvement.
Thank you again for the positive mentions for staff.

kind regards

Denise Jennings
Acting General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Doncaster
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 419 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed here for a work visit to the UK recently and found this hotel to be basic at best. The room was extremely basic with little or no phone coverage, there was one plug located over by the door and the breakfast selection was terrible! There was no wifi access in the room also. I would advise avoiding this place if staying in Doncaster.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Killerqueen24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise1970, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Hello, thank you for leaving feedback on our hotel, we are sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay.
Unfortunately we have no control over the mobile coverage in the hotel and some networks are really good and others poor, it is due to the structure of the building and location of the nearest tower.
Just to let you know there are another 2 plug sockets on the desk in the room if you decide to give us another chance. We are also looking into wifi for the rooms. We do take on board all suggestions and comments and thank you for your time in leaving them.

kind regards

Denise Jennings
Acting General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The hotel was very busy but the staff went out of their way to look after us. As usual the room was spotless and breakfast was excellent. I have stayed in a number of rooms and they have all been in good position

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise1970, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Hi and thank you. I see you have stayed with us a few times so I am pleased to read that we are upholding our standards and you are happy to stay with us when visiting Doncaster.
It is always good to read the staff are helpful and they love the feedback I give from these reviews.
We look forward to your next visit and thank you again for taking your time to leave this great review.

kind regards

Denise Jennings
Acting General Manegar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I've always thought that the 3 big budget chain hotels were very much of a muchness, having stayed in a lot of them up and down the country. So we picked this one just because it was close to the racecourse (where we were going) and that it had a pub/restaurant next door.
Well this place has really opened my eyes to Holiday Inn and if this is the standard of their places in the rest of the country, then I'll look for Holiday Inn first from now on. I read in a review below that the place is 'looking dated' Did we stay in a different place then? This place is lovely! Very bright and clean, I couldn't see any part of the hotel that looked dated. Our room (146) was very clean, and very nicely decorated. It was a bit cold when we got in and it took me a while to suss out the heating controls but soon had it sorted. We didn't hear any noise from other guests in the night despite us spotting a bus load of race goers and a stag party staying there. This may have had something to do with our room being right on the end of the corridoor but I like to think it was the other guests behaving :-)
The staff were friendly and efficient. The breakfast very good, sausages, eggs, beans, toast, cereal, fruit, coffee, tea etc. help yourself to as much as you like. Complimentary newspapers too.
Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again when we are next in Doncaster. I've stayed in places a lot worse having paid twice as much. Free car park on site and a pub restaurant next door with real ales just add to the appeal of this place. Check in and check out were very efficient, took literaly a few seconds, no fuss, dead easy.
Obviously a very well run hotel. The management and staff deserve real praise, certainly see you in the future, thanks.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curryisforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise1970, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Well what can I say..... Thank you so much for the time you have taken to leave such a fantastic review. There is not a lot I can say apart from we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next stay.

Thank you once again.

kind regards

Denise Jennings
Acting General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

have stayed here several times and have always like dit the staff are always great and evening food is a bonus the breakfast egg was also above usual holiday inn exress standard however the room i was in was showing some signs of age and wa sspotless it wa salso rather cold however this remains a very good express

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CleethorpesGtfcfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise1970, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Hello, and thank you for taking your time to leave a great review of our Hotel, we really appreciate the good comments made about the staff as I always love to pass these comments on and make the staff feel appreciated.

Thanks again.

Kind regards

Denise Jennings
Acting General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Have stayed here a number of times normally friendly staff rooms are decent clean but can be cold and tv a bit dated.Good breakfast included good service and decent quality food. Best value for money hotel we have stayed at on A1 btwn newcastle and cambridge.

Room Tip: the rooms we have used are not noise affected but could be if a stag/hen w/ends are in.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roadrunner9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise1970, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Hello
Thank you for leaving great feedback about our Hotel, it's good to know that you visit often and find us easily accessible from the A1.
Hopefully on one of your future visits you will see that the tv's have been replaced as this is something we are looking into at the moment and should happen before the end of the year if things go to plan.

kind regards

Denise Jennings
Acting General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Couldn't really fault this hotel, stayed for a day at the races. It was clean, warm and the staff were efficient and friendly. We got a special half board deal and the food was average but hot and the service to the table was swift. The breakfast the following day was buffet style, full english and really good. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dee b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise1970, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Hi and thank you for taking your time to leave a great review of our Hotel, we always like to read when someone has enjoyed their stay and we appreciate the comment regarding the staff and facilities.
Thank you once again and we hope to see you again when you visit Doncaster.
Kind regards

Denise Jennings
Acting General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doncaster hotels
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Doncaster A1(M), Jct. 36
4.0 mi away
Best Western Premier Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Doncaster Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Doncaster
4.5 mi away
Ramada Encore Doncaster Airport
1.7 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#12 of 19 in Doncaster
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Doncaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Doncaster

Address: Firstpoint Balby Carr Bank | Bullrush Grove, Balby, Doncaster DN4 8SJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Doncaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Doncaster
#7 Business Hotel in Doncaster
#7 Romantic Hotel in Doncaster
Price Range: $58 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Doncaster 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Express by Holiday Inn Doncaster has been created for value and comfort. The hotel is Fully Air Conditioned ,every room is equipped with all the facilities you need for a relaxing and comfortable stay, an invigorating power shower, satellite TV, in-room movies, broadband access, High Speed Internet Access and tea/coffee making facilities. Guests can enjoy our complimentary continental buffet breakfast and relax in the Great Room lounge and bar area. FREE WIFI in lounge and bar. Located in First Point Business Park, just a two minute drive from the M18, this hotel is the perfect choice for leisure and business. In house are 2 fully equipped meeting rooms. The Dome Leisure Centre. and the Keepmoat Stadium home of Doncaster Rovers Football Team are both less than 5 minutes drive away. The Doncaster Racecourse and Exhibition Centre home of the famous St. Leger Race is local. Doncaster is also home to Doncaster Knights Rugby Club at Castle Park.The hotel is situated close to Robin Hood Airport and the location of the hotel offers excellent transport links to the M18 and A1(M) for nearby cities such as Sheffield, Leeds and Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Doncaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Doncaster Hotel Doncaster
Holiday Inn Doncaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing