We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Doncaster
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Doncaster
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellant value”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

My wife and I have stayed in theis hotel on several occasions when visting family in Doncaster. The hotel is in a good location with plenty of parking. The staff are always friendly and helpfull, and the complimentary buffet breakfast hits the spot to get you started in the morning.Rooms are always spotless. My wife books in advance and always finds good deals on the net. All in all great value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daftpaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise1970, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
It is always good to read these reviews and I welcome the chance to compliment the staff so thank you for taking your time to complete this review and giving me the chance to pass on such great feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit.

Kind regards

Denise Jennings
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    144
    71
    11
    10
See reviews for
72
143
30
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

No iron, no ironing board, no trouser press, no safe, no bath, no haute cuisine food, no army of staff tending to one's every need. No fancy location with stunning views, no character marbled or oak beamed reception. What you do get is a modern well-designed room, spotlessly clean, comfortable bed, good shower with hot water, simple touches, convenient location. It isn't pretending to be anything it isn't so you know what you're gonna get and are not disappointed. You don't come here for a pamper or treat, you come here for a hassle free bed for the night, and it's a job they do very well indeed. It is on a business park, next door to a Morrisons petrol station with small supermarket shop attached. So fill up with cheap fuel when visiting and if you've forgotten owt, like toothpaste, it's a short walk, although the hotel also offers complimentary toiletries you've forgotten to pack. The business park turns into a truck stop overnight but this is my third or fourth visit and that's never been a problem, no noise I've noticed.

Across the car park is a pub that serves chain pub type main meals that are OK but won't worry Gordon Ramsey. So you have a choice given the hotel menu is expensive, limited, and not the best quality - all of the mains my colleagues and I tried tasted frozen not fresh. Good coffee from behind the bar though. There's a few other eating options a short drive away including a good Pizza Hut and a Beefeater, and a great Toby Carvery.

Just one word of warning. As of 2012 this is one of only a handful of hotels left that has smoking rooms. Which is great for smokers like me. But even I am not keen on the smell of these rooms. Easily sorted with a few squirts of air freshener - bring a can with you. If you are fervently anti smoking you may notice the tobacco smells in the corridor on the 2nd floor so make sure you get a room on another floor or stay somewhere else if it really bothers you.

Free Internet in the bar area only and expensive if you want to connect in your room, not that my iPad detected a wireless signal in the room anyway. Not really good enough in this day and age. Couldn't detect a 3G signal either so that option was also out. For this mid-range price, free fast Internet is a core basic not a luxury or optional extra.

Honest. Unpretentious. Clean. Recommended. Just eat somewhere else and don't plan on surfing the web or checking your email in your room.

Room Tip: Smoking rooms available. Great for some like me, avoid the whole floor if your nose is sensitive to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise1970, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Hi and thank you for your honest feedback, we really appreciate it when people take their time to leave such great reviews.

We do like you say have free wifi in the lounge/bar area and we are looking into extending this but unfortunately the structure of the building is the problem! This is why you have no signal on your 3G and some people struggle with reception on their mobiles. Short of a complete rebuild we are looking at ways of improving this, so watch this space!

Thank you once again.

Kind regards

Denise Jennings
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

On the 'park', yes, but not as we know it! Actually has a view of green bushes and lawns, seen from breakfast area. Also has outside patio, must be great in summer sun. Bar has 'happy hour' between 5-8pm.Unsure if that's 7days a week. Great, as Stella is very expensive. Service? Staff young and helpful. Breakfast poor, egg tasted like it came out of a box, no bacon but sausages ok. Only there one night but didn't appear to be many dining, nor did the staff appear to 'sell' an evening meal. Bedroom adequate with plenty of space. Beds comfortable. Big plus is buses to Don caster town cent re stop right outside hotel and run every half hour. Our senior citizens bus pass meant we could leave car behind and within 15 mins
were in town centre. Amazed by the historic, and large outdoor market area, plus new indoor shopping centre.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 151Mike151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise1970, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Hello, thank you for taking your time to leave feedback on our property, as mentioned the patio does look superb in the summer we add hanging baskets and flower pots and it does look quite amazing. We hope you will come back to see it in all it's glory.
We are expanding the menu at the moment so look out for a new menu next time you stay.

Kind regards

Denise Jennings
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for races for two nights, really nice staff, lovely clean hotel and good breakfast. plenty of free parking and a good pub across from hotel which serves good food and huge desserts, very reasonable prices too. Will return to this hotel when back at races but would avoid city centre as very rowdy on race days.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank killiebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise1970, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Hi and thank you for taking your time to leave great feedback, we are really glad you enjoyed your time in Doncaster Holiday Inn Express and look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit.

Kind regards

Denise Jennings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stopped over in the Holiday Inn Express while visiting family.

The check in was excellent, greeted with a smile and everything was ready. We normally stay in the other Holiday Inn but as it was full we thought we would try the Express.

The room was clean and warm, excellent for our children.

The location was handy, just off the M18 and the pub across the road did a great Sunday lunch!

The bar was quiet, but had comfy seats and a nice atmosphere.

In all - for an overnight stay or a business trip, its well worth a visit.

Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise1970, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
No THANK YOU for taking your time to leave such great feedback. We always appreciate any time taken by our guests to complete the feedback forms, so this is a lovely review that I will be happy to share with my colleagues.

Thank you for giving the Express a try and hopefully after your positive experience we look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel on your next visit to DOncaster.

Kind regards

Denise Jennings
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Hotel easily found from the M18, however lots of road works taking place in the area, didn't realise Donny was such a large town. Check-in was swift and efficient and friendly, and the room on the 2nd floor was extremely clean and had everything needed for a short stay. I like the Express brand, they are modern, fresh and well located. Breakfast was busy, we did go down at peak time so expected it to be, however the food/cutlery/crockery etc was soon replenished/replaced, so no probs there. Had the same member of staff check us out as had checked us in, and he was very pleasant and wished us a safe journey. All in all we would be happy to return and recommend this hotel, (not sure my husband would agree with the return bit, as after we had left the hotel we went to the Lakeside Shopping Centre...........need I say more!!)

Room Tip: try and book room with sofa bed as gives you that extra room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bazjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise1970, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you so much for taking your time to leave such a lovely review, I will be pleased to pass on the coments to the member of staff who checked you in and out, it is always good to pass positive comments on.

You are right it was a busy weekend breakfast, thank you for your patience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel, maybe Christmas shopping?? ;)

Kind regards

Denise Jennings
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambs
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Spent one night here on an overnight stop over needed staff too direct us there due to road closures on the local motorways.
On arrival just before midnight we received a warm welcome and found the hotel and room clean and comfortable.
Apart from the guests who decided to try and wake everyone up in the early hours our stay was problem free.
Nice basic room great shower and good if not limited choice at breakfast we will continue too make Holiday Inn Express our first choice budget hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveNKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise1970, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for spending your time leaving excellent feedback on our hotel, we appreciate all feedback and will take note of the noisy conditions you mentioned. We do floor walks through the night and try to be vigilent as people come back into the hotel.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel on future visits to Doncaster.

Kind regards

Denise Jennings
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doncaster hotels
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Doncaster A1(M), Jct. 36
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Doncaster Lakeside
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Doncaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Ramada Encore Doncaster Airport
4.0 mi away
Best Western Premier Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Earl of Doncaster
The Earl of Doncaster
#6 of 19 in Doncaster
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Doncaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Doncaster

Property: Holiday Inn Express Doncaster
Address: Firstpoint Balby Carr Bank | Bullrush Grove, Balby, Doncaster DN4 8SJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Doncaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Doncaster
#7 Romantic Hotel in Doncaster
#7 Business Hotel in Doncaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Doncaster 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Express by Holiday Inn Doncaster has been created for value and comfort. The hotel is Fully Air Conditioned ,every room is equipped with all the facilities you need for a relaxing and comfortable stay, an invigorating power shower, satellite TV, in-room movies, broadband access, High Speed Internet Access and tea/coffee making facilities. Guests can enjoy our complimentary continental buffet breakfast and relax in the Great Room lounge and bar area. FREE WIFI in lounge and bar. Located in First Point Business Park, just a two minute drive from the M18, this hotel is the perfect choice for leisure and business. In house are 2 fully equipped meeting rooms. The Dome Leisure Centre. and the Keepmoat Stadium home of Doncaster Rovers Football Team are both less than 5 minutes drive away. The Doncaster Racecourse and Exhibition Centre home of the famous St. Leger Race is local. Doncaster is also home to Doncaster Knights Rugby Club at Castle Park.The hotel is situated close to Robin Hood Airport and the location of the hotel offers excellent transport links to the M18 and A1(M) for nearby cities such as Sheffield, Leeds and Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Doncaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Doncaster Hotel Doncaster
Holiday Inn Doncaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing