We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Doncaster Racecourse and Exhibition Centre
Ranked #6 of 52 things to do in Doncaster
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The official TripAdvisor page for the big friendly racecourse in the North of England. 36 racedays throughout the year. Also a multi-use sports, conference and entertainment venue. Holding international music concerts one day, and large corporate conferences the next. We're also a popular wedding venue, too. Find out more on our website.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“racing”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

The day was long for me the journey was longer but we had refreshments.Touring british motorways is everyone cup of tea.The prices for coach and entering the race course was around £70 not bad i suppose.First impression Doncaster large and a massive fish and chip shop.Quite taken aback bu its size.The entrance to the race course very well planned out alot of security in and out of the course Bars Food Concert facilities toilets Betting Great day out would recommend it.James Blunt on the day was playing after the meeting great end to the day..

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank markinnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoncasterRaces, Marketing Assistant at Doncaster Racecourse and Exhibition Centre, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate it. I will pass on your compliments to the relevant people, hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    396
    251
    69
    31
    38
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great day out”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

This is the first time I have been to Doncaster Race Course but will not be the last. We came to the races and also saw James Blunt. Great day, great atmosphere and lovely course. As others have said don't think that you have to bet min of £5. The TOTE bookies offer min £1 bet and all the bookies are very close so there is no need to walk far. Will be finding a excuse to return.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pach1247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoncasterRaces, Marketing Assistant at Doncaster Racecourse and Exhibition Centre, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Thank you for the positive feedback and the time taken, we really appreciate it. Hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great day out”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

A fabulous day out with excellent facilities . The bar prices are a little high but the venue is of a high standard. The James Blunt concert afterwards was very good but spoiled a little by the punters who had over indulged at the bar and were displaying immature behaviour . Still a very good day out and one to be recommended just be careful how much you bet on the horses!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank double07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An okay experience!”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

We went on Saturday to the races and all in all was an okay day! Was surprised that we couldn't upgrades our tickets! Needed more options on the champagne menu. Maybe a bit more stricter on their dresscode too as I was surprised by some peoples choice of outfit!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank fatema a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunderland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“BEST DAY OUT”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

We were a party of 16 ages ranging from 30 to 80 year old.Got to say wego racing every year and this was our best weekend away yet.The reason we say this because of a great day out at the races and in particular the Mallard restaurant in the course.Superb food and great staff we were well impressed, it is worth paying that bit extra and to be looked after by lovely staff and eat great food is a treat.We try to go somewhere different each year but can see us coming back next year.Well done to Doncaster Racecourse and your great staff. Ile be back.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank ladsarmy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoncasterRaces, Marketing Assistant at Doncaster Racecourse and Exhibition Centre, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback and the time taken, we really appreciate it. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doncaster Racecourse and Exhibition Centre also viewed

Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Doncaster Racecourse and Exhibition Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing