We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Racing post day at doncaster”

Doncaster Racecourse and Exhibition Centre
Ranked #7 of 52 things to do in Doncaster
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The official TripAdvisor page for the big friendly racecourse in the North of England. 36 racedays throughout the year. Also a multi-use sports, conference and entertainment venue. Holding international music concerts one day, and large corporate conferences the next. We're also a popular wedding venue, too. Find out more on our website.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Travelled down from Newcastle on train, few drinks in town,shuttle bus to racecourse and up on third level in Lazarus stand to premier suite. Brilliant views,clean and spacious,good service.Toured the rest of the racecourse later in the afternoon and was equally impressed this has to be on par with Ascot as a racecourse,makes Newcastle look like a dog track.Cant wait to go back,great facilities,great staff great racecourse.

Thank zedess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoncasterRaces, Guest Relations Manager at Doncaster Racecourse and Exhibition Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time out to write a review.

Guests' views are important to us and we're thrilled you had such a great experience at the Racing Post Trophy meeting and will pass on your kind words to the whole team here.

We hope to welcome you back to many more racedays to come!

Kind regards,

Doncaster Racecourse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (853)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

623 - 627 of 853 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

Town Moor is my local race course and it's a wonderful place to visit. The highlight of the year is always the Leger Festival in September and the whole town is always part of the celebrations for a week. The whole course is easy to get round and provides many good facilities for all purses. I have used the Silks Restaurant for fine dining and the general Food Court for more everyday cuisine, and have always been well satisfied from both types of dining. Staff are always friendly and helpful round the course, including handing out free flip flops to ladies who have to abandon their stilletto shoes ! I have enjoyed the big meetings like the Leger and equally enjoyed the lesser known meetings through the year. Be it Flat racing or Steeplechase, Town Moor offers the best of viewing, betting, eating and lovely clean toilets !! ( we all appreciate them ) It's great to be able to get near the action, to see the horses parading and watch everything possible with ease. A first class day out !

Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoncasterRaces, Guest Relations Manager at Doncaster Racecourse and Exhibition Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time out to write a review.

Guests' views are important to us and we're thrilled you had such a great experience at the Leger Festival and will pass on your kind words to the whole team here.

We hope to welcome you back to many more racedays to come!

Kind regards,

Doncaster Racecourse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I went as an owner. This was the first time going to Doncaster racecourse as I am based in the south.
the first thing to point out the track and views are breath taking which is a shame this does not reflect on to the TV this might be due to the poor ATR picture quality.
gaining access was straight forward, my ticket already waiting no problem.i was told the way to the owners/ trainer suite in the county stand.
A voucher was given to use for either a hot or cold sandwich with a choice from the salad bar very tasty. There was tea and coffee supplied as well.
I have been to a few courses and this is by far the best in terms of being looked after.
the view from outside the suite was outstanding (see pics) as it was the biggest crowd of the season some people were trying to gain access from other parts but the security staff coped well.
the atmosphere was electric as it should be 30,000 people cheering on there horse they have backed.
the only downside,I took my car and it took around 40 mins both before and after racing from the main roundabouts to get to the car park, this is also to be expected due to the size of the crowd.
I would have no hesitation in returning if I lived nearer.a great day
thank you to all the staff for looking after me on the day.

2  Thank nashnashChelmsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoncasterRaces, Guest Relations Manager at Doncaster Racecourse and Exhibition Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time out to write a review.

Guests' views are important to us and we're thrilled you had such a great experience as an owner at the Leger Festival and will pass on your kind words to the whole team here. We also love your photos - great work!

We hope to welcome you back to many more racedays to come!

Kind regards,

Doncaster Racecourse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We recently went to Silks Resturant, at Doncaster Racecourse on Ladies Day at the St Ledger meeting.
The food, staff and service were excellent. Could not fault anything even busy as they were.
Thanks to Darren, Damien, Marie & crew for a very memorable day. thanks again.

Thank gail24Rotherham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoncasterRaces, Guest Relations Manager at Doncaster Racecourse and Exhibition Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time out to write a review.

Guests' views are important to us and we're thrilled you had such a great experience at the Leger Festival.

We hope to welcome you back to many more racedays to come!

Kind regards,

Doncaster Racecourse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Good racecourse, easy to get to from the hotel in which we were staying.
Efficient but polite security staff at the entrance.
Chose a private box this year - really good choice, it was fabulous and made the day. Looked after by Julie and Daniel, who couldn't do enough for us.
Fabulous food from beginning to end.
From the original booking until the receipt of tickets and passes we were looked after very well and kept informed at all times.
Thank you to everyone.

Thank MrsMoletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoncasterRaces, Guest Relations Manager at Doncaster Racecourse and Exhibition Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time out to write a review.

Guests' views are important to us and we're thrilled you had such a great experience at the Leger Festival and will pass on your kind words to the whole team here.

We hope to welcome you back to many more racedays to come!

Kind regards,

Doncaster Racecourse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doncaster Racecourse and Exhibition Centre also viewed

Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Doncaster Racecourse and Exhibition Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing