We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value night out”

Doncaster Greyhound Racing
Ranked #21 of 49 things to do in Doncaster
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
427 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Great value night out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

A guaranteed good night out. We have done birthdays in a private box, carvery night and just basic admission and have never been disappointed. Dog racing is fast and furious never a dull moment and so entertaining. Food has been decent when we've had it. Can't comment on the disco - something to avoid in my book but plenty seem to stay on to enjoy it. Sign up on the web site for some decent deals and go enjoy yourself!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank JandK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    37
    10
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A night at the dogs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

The food is really good. I think it's best to go with a few people and share the betting costs. You might just cover your costs for the evening, but it's a good laugh and not too expensive

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great night out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Fantastic night for a change good food cheep beer in a great small town of stainforth where is also has the best carpet shop in Yorkshire stainforth carpet centre

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
569 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
“Had better experiences”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We bought this on a Groupon voucher so thought they would be wanting to promote the stadium but no ... we were brought out our starter, no choice for us other than soup as "Thats what we ordered" (Not specified on the Voucher) and then a carvery, the food had just been brought out so thought it would be nice and fresh. The meat was all dried around the edges and the beef was dry throughout, although the other meats weren't quite so bad. There was a decent variety of veggies and we must say the cauliflower cheese was lovely.

We have been to similar events at Nottingham race track and expected a night like their restaurant which is all waitress service and tote betting at the table but were quite disappointed with the experience here as we had to go and queue up each time we wanted to place a bet.

We can't fault the staff, they were friendly enough.

Not an event we will try again here, probably great for someone who has never done this sort of thing before.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony_and_Kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Groupon Offer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Never been to a dog night before and we had a groupon offer for a group of us and it worked out at only 6.50 each and that included a 2 course meal which was vegetable soup (lovely) and a carvery (fabulous!!) such great value for money, really can't fault the night. Atmosphere was great, people and staff were friendly. Would definatly go again and recommend!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank janeinlincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doncaster Greyhound Racing also viewed

 
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Doncaster Greyhound Racing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing