We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic Delicious Food in a friendly atmosphere”

Nur Indian Restaurant
Ranked #69 of 519 Restaurants in Doncaster
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: A stylish, contemporary Indian Restaurant serving authentic Indian & Bengali cuisine. Great service with friendly, yet attentive staff. Expertly cooked, tasty food from Abdul and his brigade of chefs. The menu offers a wide choice and the pricing represents extremely good value for money. Booking is recommended as space is limited and the Restaurant is busy on many evenings, especially weekends and on the two 'Feast Nights', Thursday & Sunday. Takeaway service includes Collection, which commands a 10% reduction, and a Delivery service to Edlington and many other local areas including Balby, Warmsworth, Conisbrough, Sprotbrough, Maltby and Wadworth.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Authentic Delicious Food in a friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We love this restaurant for the friendliness of the staff, the great service they give and the reasonable prices. Most of all though we love the authentic, freshly cooked food - it’s delish!!!

The restaurant area is not massive so it pays to book as it can get full very quickly. Sometimes we like to eat in the restaurant because of the light-hearted, charming service and sometimes we have the food delivered with their reliable & speedy delivery service. Everything is packed in special containers & bags to keep the food warm and we always enjoy it whether at home or in the restaurant.

I was in with a friend the other Tuesday evening when a kid threw a stone at the window (mentioned by another reviewer). I have to say the staff dealt with it without fuss and it certainly didn’t bother us. I would suggest that to title her review Ruined Visit teacherspet54 was being a little over-dramatic. In all the years I have frequented this friendly little establishment this was the first time I have experienced such an ‘incident’ and it was nothing to worry about at all and it could have happened anywhere.

On Thursdays and Sundays there is a special ‘Feast Offer’ when you get popadoms & pickles, a starter, a main course plus rice or naan for £9.95 - great value & the same great food. I think with Mothers Day fast approaching I had better get a table booked for that Sunday night feast before they all go!

So, if you haven’t tried Nur Indian Restaurant yet I can recommend it to you, with all honesty, as the epitome of a great Indian Restaurant. Try it and I know you will agree.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank B00tylici0us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    17
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely Valentine's Night.....”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Our visits to this gem of a restaurant have become more frequent simply because we love the food. Also the service is professional, but also friendly and relaxed and the staff always remember you and show an interest in how you are - unlike some of the blank faced automotons in other places in the area I could mention.

On Valentine's Night there was a special menu which we thoroughly enjoyed. There were two sittings that night, 6pm & 8pm and they were fully booked for both. The staff worked hard to make the restaurant ready for the second sitting even though some of them had rushed out to help people involved in a head-on collision on the road outside, there was only a short delay and they soon were soon able to serve their delicious food to a room full of diners.

It was a very enjoyable evening with the usual top class food topped off with a special Indian dessert and a rose for each lady. We are increasingly impressed with the dining experience at this great little place and equally so with their delivery service which is prompt, reliable .... and delicious! If you haven't already done so, try it, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chilledoutzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Ruined visit”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We visited this restaurant on a Tuesday evening as a change from our usual haunt and we were quite excited about it. We were the only customers in until 8.15 pm when we were joined by 2 others. The service and food were good, especially the giant family naan bread !! We took our own wine as it isnt licenced. About 20 minutes into the visit there was a loud crack on the window...the staff rushed outside to chase off some youths on bikes....this ruined the night as we were anticipating a repeat. We had parked our car outside the well lit shops as a precaution but this spoiled the evening for us.It is a shame this restaurant is where it is, we will not be visiting again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank teacherspet54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Indian food ever!”
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

I have been visiting Nur since it first opened quite a few years ago and haven't been anywhere else since. The quality of the food is amazing. Never had a bad meal. I visit at least once a fortnight without fail. (More like once a week if I'm honest). The staff are very friendly and make an effort to make sure you have a good experience. The restaurant only seats around 35 so booking in advance is advisable if eating in. Best times to eat are either a Thursday or Sunday when they have their feast night on. £9.95 for any starter, main course and side (rice or nan). Excellent value. You won't be disappointed. Also, as they don't have an alcohol license you take your own. Where else can you have a 3 course meal for less than £10! I've made myself hungry now, think Ill book for tonight.

Helpful?
2 Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Food, Superb Value”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Super little Indian Restaurant. Really good food and service. Children catered for and welcomed.
Nice, unfussy decor. Great value, well worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank russtheblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nur Indian Restaurant also viewed

Mexborough, South Yorkshire
 
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Nur Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing