We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Doncaster Lakeside
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Doncaster
Certificate of Excellence
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Beautiful view!”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

What an unexpected find, newly refurbished lovely room with fantastic views over a lake. Great value for money and a feeling of luxury for a budget price.
The location was perfect for travelling with places to eat within walking distance . Over and above what I would usually expect from travel lodge.



  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    100
    37
    15
    11
See reviews for
113
110
24
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North East Lincolnshire, Uk
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Whilst the hotel had a beautiful outlook over the lake, the rooms were very hot and stuffy which made it difficult to sleep. The bathroom lacked any ventilation whatsoever and there was absolutely no storage for clothes etc, other than the few hangers provided for those which could be hung up. Beds were not made at all each day by staff and the rubbish not always taken. It was also very noisy at night inside the hotel with doors banging and children running about until all hours.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Diane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Although the hotel is in a great location, close to robin Hood airport, lakeside shopping centre, race course etc, it seems travelodge are making extreme cut backs to say the least!! The hotel is only 2 years old but hasn't moved with the times at all. I have stayed in travelodge's since I was a child when visiting family etc and the rooms then were so much better compared to now. The bathroom is tiny and cramped and no longer have extractor fans. They are extremely stifling when having a bath or shower, to the point you come out more sweaty than when you went in. We had a room over looking the lake, which was beautiful, but with no A/C, the room was unbareable to be in. The storage space has been dramatically reduced with a tiny desk in the corner and a tiny rail and shelf in the other for clothes. There are no longer any
drawers in the rooms to put anything and they have even got rid of bedside tables. These rooms are ok for people going out on the town and needing somewhere to crash but for families they are pointless and I definitely won't be using them in the future!! Also the banging of doors and shouting can go on into the early hours so if you choose to stay here, be prepared for lack of sleep!!

Overall view: clean hotel, good location, lots of parking but lacks storage space and air con in rooms, wouldn't recommend for families or anyone staying more than one
night

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spotttdotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Good location, our room overlooked a big lake which was nice. Downside was there was nowhere to eat attached to it. Also single beds are very uncomfortable, even for children. Got a great price for 2 rooms, which was why we chose it. Would recommend

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank carriessh0es
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Location, spot on. Close enough to Lakeside shopping centre/Doncaster dome retail park, so plenty of food outlets, cinema etc close by.

Lots of parking available, receptionist pleasant, room faced the lake at the back of the hotel so views were lovley - but we were third floor up and the window lock was broken - completely unsafe as the whole window opens inwads, it's a good job my 4 year old isn't one for Superman impressions!! The room was clean and bed was comfy.

9pm the noise started, people obviously getting ready to go out with music blaring, which carried on for a few hours. Come midnight it was like a fun house, slamming doors, screaming, shouting, laughing, arguing, more banging. I would say it quietened down around 4am.

Honestly, I have never known a hotel to have such a lack of soundproofing, if your aim is solely to have a bed to crash in after you've been out and "got messy" go for it. If you actually want a reasonable nights sleep / have little ones with you. Do not even contemplate booking here.

Do yourself a favour and spend the extra £20 or so, and book the premier inn down the road.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank stan240390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

The room had very little storage just 5 coathangers on a rail with small shelf above. One other small desk surface with hardly any room to put anything, had to keep most of our belongings on the floor. The room was unbearably hot and stuffy (no form of cooling or air con. Limited number of fans available which had all gone) Due to location of minimal plug sockets, fan would not have been much use. We hardly slept as a result. There were no bedside shelves, nowhere to place a morning drink. no extractor fan in bathroom, almost suffocated when getting a shower.The room may have been suitable for someone for one night with little or nothing with them at a cooler time of the year, but we were a family of 3 there for two nights on hot June nights. We were exhausted when we left, not good when one has to face a 6 hour drive home. Will definitely avoid Travelodge in the future

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Had to book quick as just became grandparent earlier than expected, Looked brill to start with all new and lean good security and disabled parking right next to hotel, However one of the disabled bays is for " the staff car " which they have special ok from the company to have it on video, HIS own car I think.
The rooms are lovely and big but there is NO A/C and even with the heating off it is well too hot when we spoke to reception in the morning she was clueless about anything and the fact that the TV had about 4 channels that worked not the 17 as advertised and according to her it was the bad signal that caused the out of sink like watching a old samurai film,
When we got back that night we asked again about A/C and were given a fan it did help and they said that the TV may have been a upgrade they were doing ,..

Only booked due to last minute and Pr****er Inn was full...

Room Tip: rooms with a lake view are nice but windows can't be opened due to spiders
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doncaster hotels
5.2 mi away
Travelodge Doncaster Hotel
Travelodge Doncaster Hotel
#10 of 19 in Doncaster
101 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Doncaster
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Doncaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Earl of Doncaster
The Earl of Doncaster
#6 of 19 in Doncaster
575 reviews
7.6 mi away
Travelodge Doncaster M18/M180 Hotel
4.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Doncaster Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Doncaster Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Doncaster Lakeside

Property: Travelodge Doncaster Lakeside
Address: Lakeside Boulevard, Doncaster DN4 5PL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Doncaster
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Doncaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Doncaster Lakeside 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Doncaster Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing