We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After races meal”
Review of Cafe Med - CLOSED

Cafe Med
Price range: $6 - $39
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Mediteranean restaurant with fully stocked bar.Bookings advisable on weekends.Private parties catered for.Now taking bookings for Valentines. Call for details.
Pontefract, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“After races meal”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I visited this restaurant before Doncaster Races for a pre races breakfast and I was so impressed by the standard of the food and service that I came back after the races for my dinner! Had an excellent time, the staff were all very polite, the atmosphere was great and most importantly the food was to die for! As a doncaster local I must say this is one of the best restaurants in the area. 5* for me!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    16
    5
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A nice place for lunch maybe, but not an intimate dinner”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We arrived to be told to find our table (they were busy) and Sat ourselves down.
The 50's rock n roll music set the wrong ambience completely, as did the brightly lit room. Candles on the table usually help when the room is gently dimmed.
We asked for a bottle of white wine which after being brought to the table were then asked if we'd like it in a cooler....

We ordered food which was served quite nicely and without any delay but it was spoiled slightly by the poor atmosphere.
We left quite quickly and rather disappointed for a wedding anniversary meal but in all fairness we would recommend the place for lunch, just not for an evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yorkypuddn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
1 review
“Lovely”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Greeted and made felt most welcome after a shift at work.. Late night and tired... Just needed to unwind. Was greeted with a delicious tasting plate and a fab glass of wine... Will return xx

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seonaidh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place to Eat”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Saturday Lunch was exceptional, lovely food, freindly atmosphere, great service. A must for any Foodie!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We went with friends and arrived early. We had a few drinks and sat down to eat the food was really good service was a bit slow but we didn't care. It has a good atmosphere and has great food. It is one of the best places to eat in Doncaster. Well worth a try.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff1874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Med also viewed

Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 
Rossington, Doncaster
Woodlands, Doncaster
 
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing