We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Good Traditional Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bay Horse Inn

Bay Horse Inn
Ranked #30 of 511 Restaurants in Doncaster
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $13
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
158 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“A Good Traditional Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

We have so many chain pubs now, with frozen veg etc. It was so good to go to a traditional pub, with friendly and efficient service. Based in the village of Hatfield, this pub as car parking which is through a small alleyway around the back, but it's ok.

Our freinds have been here on several occasions, and thought it would be nice to meet there for a meal, there was eight of us.
very pleased we went, love'ly home made pub food, downfall was the specials board, but otherwise the menu is excellent.
I had the lamb steak and it was wonderfull, and if you want half mash and half roast potato's you can have it, no trouble.
The portion sizes were very generous, and the food came out hot.

If you are in the area please give this pub a try, I can more then highly recommend this establishiment.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank darrenelain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    27
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Real pub with real pub food. Lovley staff, reasonable prices reminds me if the traditional pubs when I was younger.

Helpful?
Thank Luke R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
422 reviews
253 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Consistency wins”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Since my last review we have had several visits to the Bay Horse and on every occasion we have received friendly service and lovely home cooked food. We have taken a number of family members and all have been keen to return. Service is second to none and the variety on the menu suits most tastes. Don't drive past if you are in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JandK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great home cooked food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

It's a great little pub the food is excellent always home-cooked always fresh and you won't leave you wanting more. Staff are always friendly. Have been going on and off for a number of years never yet been disappointed the pies are excellent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
422 reviews
253 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Nice pub food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Visited here for the first time in years and we weren't disappointed. Decent choice on the menu and specials board. Friendly and efficient service. We had the chicken & mushroom pie and the meat pie (minced beef and corned beef) both served with chips and veg although you can have mash/ roast if preferred. All the food was red hot and didn't wait too long for it to arrive. Only two small criticisms - the cabbage was very "al dente" and the plates the food was served on were cold. That said, with the offer of extra gravy, couldn't fault the rest of the meal. Proper pub food in a proper pub. Will definitely return. Still full now, hours after eating!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank JandK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bay Horse Inn also viewed

Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Bay Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing