We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not just for twitchers!”

Potteric Carr Nature Reserve
Ranked #10 of 52 things to do in Doncaster
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nature paths suitable for wheelchairs and pushchairs will wind you around a stunning, safe wetland habitat littered with pockets of woodland and wildflower meadows, and a cracking cafe is a great place for you recharge with friends. Hides allow you and your family to get up close and personal with birds such as woodpeckers and kingfishers and during your wander you may also encounter mammals such as roe deer and hedgehogs. The meadows during summer are full of butterflies on the wing in comparison to a snow laden winter where you may be lucky enough to spot our overwintering bitterns - this globally threatened species a real highlight to see for any wildlife watcher.Please note that we close over the Christmas period, check our website for details. We will be open every other day of the year (weather permitting) please see are website for further details. Unfortunately dogs, horses, bike, scooters etc are unfortunately not permitted on site.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not just for twitchers!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

I am aware that Potteric Carr is well known and loved by the bird spotting community but in my experience its much more than that. It's a very lovely family friendly afternoon out. It's nice and flat so pushchair friendly. There are lots of viewing huts with good information about the wildlife. On the day we went there were some twitchers happy to show the children what they were looking at. To top it off half way round is a nice little cafe and resource centre. If you live in Doncaster or surrounding area and haven't been yet you should.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottdu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    48
    13
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely walks, quite expensive”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Lovely place for some nice walks with children or just adults, with hides to see the wildlife and different areas to experience. It is quite expensive though, and DMBC need a kick up the backside to sort out all the rubbish being thown down the embankment from the M18 link road, which is disgraceful.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank ClaireSEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scarborough
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Quite oasis between a moterway and railway line. Good hides and plenty of room in them. Not a lot for teenagers unless they like birds, great for under 7's with easy paths for pushchairs.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kelly98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely wetland wilderness with a warm welcome to visitors.”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Potteric Carr would seem to be in an unprepossessing location between railway lines and the motorway. But it's a little piece of heaven! There's a modern, friendly, well-equipped visitor centre and an excellent, unpretentious and reasonably-priced cafe in the middle (just where you need it!) The walks are pushchair and wheelchair-friendly - flat and well-maintained. We walked for five and a half miles but it was very easy walking and a joy to see different birds from the many hides. We saw many different kinds from common garden birds to lapwings and redshanks. The pictures of what might be seen from each hide were very helpful. Today was a very wintry day but we still had a lovely time and we'll be back soon!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DaphneFranks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A brilliant nature reserve.”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Either take sandwiches and flask, or have food at the cafe here, bacon sandwiches are very good. You will need sustenance as this is a very large reserve which could take you all day if you take every route. All types of birds, waterfowl, birds of prey, and small birds. Plenty to see both flora and fauna.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank drighlynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Potteric Carr Nature Reserve also viewed

Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Potteric Carr Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing