We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regular visitor”
Review of Oriental Palace

Oriental Palace
Ranked #77 of 530 Restaurants in Doncaster
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Oriental Palace is a Chinese restaurant in Doncaster, serving Chinese food. Traditional and modern Chinese meals. Discount set menus and group bookings available at Oriental Palace Chinese restaurant.
South Elmsall, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Regular visitor”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Following on from my first review 6 months ago ive been a regular. Still my favourite restaurant by far. The crispy lamb and spare ribs are my favourite all time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cheekygityorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    32
    8
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Yorkshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Consistent standard”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Some months since our previous visit, we went with friends on a busy Saturday evening - our table was booked for 8:30. We were greeted by the manager holding the door open for us as we crossed the car park, and asked to wait in the intimate little bar area. We were shown to our table by the manager who carried our drinks, and our order was swiftly taken. We had asked for the set menu B for the four of us. The starter of ribs, pakoras, sate chicken and spring rolls, with a spicy dip, was delicious. The bowl of lemon water for washing fingers was welcome! This was followed by a very generous portion of crispy duck, pancakes and hoisin sauce was lovely; so much duck that we had to leave some! The main course of several dishes: spicy beef (sizzling on the metal dish), king prawns, crispy chicken served in a potato basket, and mixed veg, with special egg fried rice, was really tasty - it was a shame to leave some, but there was too much for normal appetites! Sadly, the dessert menu was the standard, laminated, ice cream selection that you can find in most Indian and Chinese restaurants.

The food I was very good, the service attentive despite it being busy, and the price very reasonable. We will certainly return.

http://www.orientalpalace.net/

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Reminds me of brilliant Chinese restaurants that were around years ago but not any more”
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic food superb flavours with a very fresh taste.
Peking ribs were fantastic, the squid was very tender.
Sizzling beef and sweet & sour chicken were lovely, chow mien was the best ever.
Booked a table at 10pm due to train time stopped open for us even though most people had gone, Brilliant smiling service even though at the end we were the last ones in, will defo return, thanks again

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We were staying over in Doncaster on the 5th April, we had no idea where to go for a nice meal. After looking around on the internet we chose to go to Oriental Palace. We were not dissapointed one little bit. The service was excellant the food was spot on and the place had a lovely friendly feel to it. Highly recommended...we will definately be returning again whenever we are over there next time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kazmally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“POOR QUALITY FOOD”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Booked a table for four today at 20.00 HRS,as heard good feedback and it was local to us.
We ordered the combination starter for four priced at £6.00 per head, it came and was of average quality,but we thought the main meal would be good.Ordered Two special Chowmein dishes,one sizzling beef cantonise style and one sizzing king prawn curry.Chowmein dishes no flavour at all,King prawn dish more like a bowl of soup than a curry and beef dish average.They also forgot to bring the king prawn dish and so the side dishes were cold when we reminded the staff that they had not brought the dish.Manager came upto us and asked why we were leaving quickly and my husband told him that the meal was the worst meal that we had ever had.His reply was what do you expect of a curry ?.We paid the full price and left the resturant by 21.30HRS.£85.00 FOR THE WORST MEAL WE HAD EVER HAD.Will not go there again, there are plenty of takeaways that serve better food locally,which is such a shame as the resturant itself looks lovely and we would have been there weekly if had been okay.Sorry to have to write a bad review of a local business.To make matters worse we had to tell them several times that we wanted the bill,when we justed wanted to leave.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank LisaL187067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oriental Palace also viewed

Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Oriental Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing