We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (473)
Filter reviews
473 results
Traveler rating
262
97
64
26
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
262
97
64
26
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews yorkshire breakfast town centre birthday party function room sunday lunch car park fantastic night friendly hotel next morning nothing too much trouble full english breakfast lasagna course meal beautiful room breakfast was excellent food was lovely one night stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 473 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2019

Hotel looks nice upon arrival but it quickly went downhill. One member of bar staff was so rude I had to complain to the manager. Our room was way too hot, which would have been fine if the room had not also had no sound proofing. The hotel was so noisy from a party that when we went to bed, our room was basically like an extension of the party. It was like trying to go to sleep in a nightclub. Between that and being able to hear every footstep above and in the corridor, we got next to no sleep. The bathroom wasn’t clean, there was hair above the shower which we didn’t realise until the morning we checked out as we were only there for 1 night and hadn’t used the shower the night before. The plumbing of the toilet was also poor, with difficultly flushing it.
One saving grace was that the chef on for breakfast was lovely and offered to cook something if we didn’t like what was on the buffet. However, I hope I never have to stay here again.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
3  Thank Ashleigh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2019 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night, ideal location for the races, only a 15 minute walk. The room wasn't huge, but just the job for an over night stay. Staff were all pleasant and there was plenty of choice for breakfast. Will definitely stay again.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank SianT74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management001, Front Office Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review, it's always a pleasure to read! We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2019 via mobile

What a fabulous night out! ...Hooting Owl gin tasting (6 delicious gins & absolutely no hangover ) plus a magnificent 24oz steak for 2 on a sharing platter with all the trimmings- totally yummy - and then - downstairs to dance to the Steve Love band -brilliant amazing night was had by all our party of 8 ‼️ The staff were amazing- nothing too much trouble and as a bonus there’s a new outdoor lawn area at the front of the hotel which is really lovely - can definitely recommend this venue.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Belgravect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management001, Front Office Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2019

Wow! What a fantastic review, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such lovely words! We really appreciate it! We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2019 via mobile

We stayed 1 night after the races. 3 people two rooms. The rooms were ok but we were disappointed for the money we paid. 1 hand towel, 1 biscuit 1 bottle of water for 2 people executive room but most concerning was the maintenance and cleaning.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank Vicki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management001, Front Office Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2019

Thank you for bringing to this to our attention. We have made all departments aware of your concerns.

As a family run hotel we take on board all comments from our guests & had we been made aware of this earlier we could have explored other options so that you would have enjoyed your stay here with us.

Next time you're in Doncaster we would appreciate the opportunity to show you how we have improved.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2019

This is the second time I have stopped The Regent and I am most certain that it won’t be the last!

We checked in very quickly and despite the car park being full, we were issued a parking permit for outside as we managed to find a space.

We ate in the restaurant before we went to the races and I had the most amazing belly pork I have ever tasted! I would happily travel back there just to eat that as a meal again.

A very comfortable nights stay with nice Crisp linen on the bed after which, we ventured downstairs for another plate full of lovely food as we had booked bed & breakfast.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Ruthnls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management001, Front Office Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2019

Thank you so much for such a fantastic review! It's always a pleasure to read such kind words. I will definitely pass on your compliments to our chef! We are so very happy that you enjoyed your stay & hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews