We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely pleasant hotel”
Review of The Regent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Regent Hotel
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Doncaster
Certificate of Excellence
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Lovely pleasant hotel”
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

The whole hotel has a nice warm appearance, the room was of high standard, great night sleep, room clean, will stay here next time. Only one issue was that the kettle didn't work unless held hand on switch and there was no tv remote, a previous guest probably acquired this but it is my belief that the hotel staff/cleaner should check these things regularly. I didn't report these as I'm quite stubborn when it comes to basics.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Gorsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    78
    54
    19
    15
See reviews for
65
89
13
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We had our Christmas party at the Regents ICE party, what a marvellous time we had. The Ice party was great and really got us into the party spirit, room was like a winter wonderland.

The excellent carvery made a welcome change to the usual Christmas Fayre on offer at most places. The helpful ICE party staff could not do enough for us, with magicians, roulette and a disco it was none stop fun. Well done Regent for providing something a bit a bit different at Christmas.

Sharon & work friends

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Had Christmas Lunch with eight friend. The service was outstanding provided by friendly Staff, nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent and enjoyed by everyone. Would highly recommend this Hotel and we will definitely return.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Eltasho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

i went here for christmas dinner december 14th The food and service is excellent best meal ive had for a while i had roasted vegetable soup vegetable wellington with a rich tasty tomato sauce and christmas pudding and custard sauce think it was rum sauce but couldnt taste any
The music at the disco fine if you enjoy the usual chart music and a few overplayed 70s 80s but not my style
not much of a friendly group everyone didnt mingle but it was something a bit different for me
Drinks are typical hotel prices

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorr52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I stayed here for one night. Room was spacious, was impressed and cosy atmosphere. One of the beds, it being a twin room was extremely uncomfortable. The other was better. There were a few damages in the bathroom that i noticed but didn't really affect my stay.

Made a reservation for dinner, food was great! Cooked to how i asked for and was impressed with the portion size. However, when we later asked for dessert, the night receptionist said that the chef has gone home?! Apparently the waiter was meant to ask us prior if we wanted dessert which he hadn't as he also left during service! Considering the hours of the restaurant is only open from 6 to 9pm, not only is extremely early but that the chef and waitor couldn't even wait to end of service is pathetic!

Breakfast was good, thought only one bacon...

I probably would stay here again if i were in Doncaster but would request not to stay in Room 12 and hope that the waitor/chef doesn't leave during service!

Room Tip: do not book room 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

The Regent is a lovely, friendly hotel and is ideally situated for shopping, going out etc in Doncaster. The room I stayed in was clean, the bed extremely comfortable and staff friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay there again and recommend it to anyone visiting Doncaster

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 409Marym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Staying away during the week on business, this hotel is my home from home. Landed on my feet with a room that is more like an apartment. I'm here to stay. Lot's of room, plenty of hot water and the staff are always on hand for anything.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyVai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doncaster hotels
0.4 mi away
The Earl of Doncaster
The Earl of Doncaster
#6 of 19 in Doncaster
561 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Doncaster Centre Danum Hotel
5.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand St Leger Hotel
Grand St Leger Hotel
#17 of 19 in Doncaster
224 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#7 of 19 in Doncaster
173 reviews
1.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Doncaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regent Hotel

Property: The Regent Hotel
Address: Regent Square, Doncaster DN1 2DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Doncaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Doncaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Regent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Historic Centre of Doncaster, overlooking charming tree-lined Regent Square is the Boutique-style Regent Hotel. Offering a mix of 18th Century architecture and stylish modern features and just minutes from train station the hotel is suited for guests visiting Doncaster for both business and leisure. The fifty-two en-suite bedrooms, bars/lounges and conference facilities are designed in a contemporary chic with bold and vibrant colours, ensuring that every visit is equally pleasurable and memorable. Free car parking is available at the hotel on request (not easy to find in the town centre) and is ideally located for guests wanting to take in the sights and sounds of Doncaster, whether that is exploring the towns picturesque Victorian streets, taking a look around the shopping district, just minutes from the hotel, or taking advantage of the towns vibrant night life. Previous guests include The Beatles and The Kaiser Chiefs – an endorsement to the hotel’s reputation for excellent customer service and commitment to quality.Each of the fifty-two en-suite bedrooms has everything you would expect from a stylish boutique-style hotel. Modern facilities, such as Flat screen televisions and free wireless internet perfectly suit the guest who desires both comfort and in room entertainment. In the morning there is something for everyone, why not indulge yourself with an authentic Full Yorkshire Breakfast (ingredients sourced locally) or take the lighter option with a range of continental options for you to choose from.Since variety is the spice of life, the Regent takes great care to cater for all tastes. From delicate afternoon teas to full a la carte, the brigade of chefs have designed a range of creative menus to satisfy everybody's palate. Guests can choose to eat in one of the elegant lounge bars or opt for more classical dining in the Regent Restaurant.The Regent Hotel has a long standing history as the place to be for a celebration. Whether you’re celebrating a Birthday or just wanting a relaxing drink, the range of bars and function rooms styled in the unique mix of 18th century architecture and elegant modern facilities allow the hotel to provide the best suited environment for each guest. Every aspect of an event is covered, ensuring that celebrations exceed guest’s expectations.The Regent Hotel was established in 1935, located next to the vibrant heart of Doncaster’s Historic Town centre, a popular place for business, culture and nightlife. The Hotel is closely situated to the Frenchgate Centre, Doncaster's famous market, Lakeside Shopping Village and is only a 10 minute walk from the new Doncaster Racecourse, Doncaster Dome and Keepmoat Stadium. The Hotel is a 15 minute drive from Robin Hood Airport, 5 minutes from the motorway links and a 5 minute walk to the bus/rail stations in the town centre and with free parking (on request) you can take in the everything Doncaster has to offer virtually hassle free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Hotel Doncaster
Regent Doncaster
Doncaster Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing