We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday lunch”
Review of The Regent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Regent Hotel
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Doncaster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We enjoyed a very nice Sunday lunch in the restaurant, 2 courses for £13, we both had starter and main and were so full couldn't make room for a dessert. The main meal comes with the meat already on the plate and the roast potatoes, mash potatoes and selection of vegetables in separate dishes. Food was nicely presented and served hot.
Its only a small restaurant so on the downside can fail to provide any atmosphere but if you want a good Sunday lunch in quiet, tranquil surroundings I would recommend trying the Regent.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank breakawayyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuartmark10, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thankyou for your review we do try hard to make Sunday lunch work. Marik the chef uses only local source products from the local fish markets to our local butcher which we strongly believe in . I know it's. only a small restuarant which we have two sitting over a period of five hours we want people to enjoy the exprience of bring seated at a cloth table were a waiter will look after you with no hassle of a carvery again thankyou for your review .stuart general manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (377)
There are newer reviews for The Regent Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 377 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here for a school reunion in April 2013 and what a great location, staff and food. Everywhere has its own problems at present in terms of staying afloat and the management and staff at the Regent Hotel were certainly doing their bit to differentiate themselves from the pack. The rooms were very good, nice bathroomand a good location from which to see the rest of Doncaster and handy for the Racecourse. The food was fantastic although my only two criticisms would be that portions were far too generous and that the breakfast coffee could be more like the one that they serve normally. A place I would stay at again with no problem.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Notdunroaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Attended a friend's wedding here recently- the first time I've been inside despite living locally all my life. I have to say, it's fantastic reputation around Doncaster is somewhat exaggerated.

The decor is tired, the toilets were grim (the lights were out at one point and i had to use the loo in total blackness??) and the wedding function room was claustrophobic, with very low ceilings and informal seating arrangements- at every wedding I've ever been to, the tables are all set out in the room so you can see the other guests and where they are all sitting. Here, the way the wall partitions are placed means that you can't see all the other guests which just seemed a bit restaurant-like, rather than a friendly gathering.

Not sure that the car-park is a decent enough size to cater for big events like this- I had to park in a metered side street (luckily free parking due to it being Sunday). Seems unusual to stay at a hotel and be charged for parking but this could have been the case had I have stayed here on a weekday/ Saturday!

However, the food- a hot buffet served to you by the staff, was delicious and so was the wine. The bar staff were lovely too.

All in all, the hotel is in a perfect location, especially for the Races and nightlife, friendly staff and evidently nice food. It just didn't do it for me- I wouldn't return by choice.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Girly_Girl_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuartmark10, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thankyou for your review we had great weekend with the races and your wedding on Sunday it was a shame that you thought the room made you feel claustrophobic . The room was big enough we have to do the layout plan which the bride wants but thankyou for the nice comments on the food and wine also the staff thankyou dtuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights. It is quite old now, and getting shabby, but its a great location for town - central but not too noisy.
It has a free car park at the back, which is small but saved me a lot of hassle.
The room was fine, bathroom tiny but adequate. Good shower. Perfectly clean.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the main road, South Parade, are quite noisy with traffic, although they have put...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elenasb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We have stayed at the Regent previously and enyoyed our stay there. We decided this time to upgrade to an executive room on the first floor. The room was very spacious but after unpacking I noticed there were several stains on the sofa in the room; the carpet was badly in need of a shampoo (more stains) and the tiled bathroom floor needed a good scrub as was very discoloured around the areas it had been mopped. Also the walls had splashes from the sink which weren't cleaned. We didn't walk on the floors barefoot but wore socks. Is a shame as the hotel is very friendly, food excellent. Just the in- house needs sorting.
Also parking is limited.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My genuine enjoyment of this hotel was tempered by a number of key points.

The hotel is a number (about 4) of houses joined together in a nice part of Donny (yes there is a nice part!) with varying degrees of success. It has been family run for the past 75 years and it shows in a number of ways.

The staff were great - very friendly and helpful and the food was excellent - fresh ingredients cooked to order. I only ate in the bar so can't comment on the restaurant which was fair amount more expensive.

My enjoyment was offset by a number of things:

The hotel is an old style hotel trying to be modern and it doesn't work. There were long corridors with typical BnB type doors and a very old collection of modern art covering the walls - some good, some bad and some ugly.

My room was very big expecially the bed which I loved and the free WiFi was wonderful. The problems started with a telephone that didn't work (it wasn't plugged in) some lights didn't work and, despite requesting they were fixed twice, nothing happened. There was also a very old and large patch of damp on the wall which noone had repaired.

With more attention to detail on issue in rooms and a propoer consolidated theme this could be a great hotel. At the moment it just falls short due to the shortcomings I outlined

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor overlooking the square
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nsojer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuartmark10, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear sir your review means a great deal to us even though we have some great reviews its good to get ones not so great it means we can put some effort in to making it right it a shame that you dident have a fantastic stay we will sort out the problems you had and I hope you will come back and have a stay you deserve thankyou stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Had a flood last year and ended up staying the hotel for 6 months, all the staff and management have been fantastic, food excellent especially Sunday Dinners, wont say how much weight we put on, rooms well presented and clean.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amallory76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuartmark10, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thankyou for your review Andrew it was a pleasure to look after you and Ann we were glad u stayed for a while it gave us a chance to prove the hotel is home from home look forward to see u both later Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doncaster hotels
0.4 mi away
The Earl of Doncaster
The Earl of Doncaster
#5 of 19 in Doncaster
607 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Doncaster Centre Danum Hotel
5.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand St Leger Hotel
Grand St Leger Hotel
#17 of 19 in Doncaster
237 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Doncaster
0.2 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#7 of 19 in Doncaster
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regent Hotel

Address: Regent Square, Doncaster DN1 2DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Doncaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Doncaster
Price Range: $77 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Regent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Historic Centre of Doncaster, overlooking charming tree-lined Regent Square is the Boutique-style Regent Hotel. Offering a mix of 18th Century architecture and stylish modern features and just minutes from train station the hotel is suited for guests visiting Doncaster for both business and leisure. The fifty-two en-suite bedrooms, bars/lounges and conference facilities are designed in a contemporary chic with bold and vibrant colours, ensuring that every visit is equally pleasurable and memorable. Free car parking is available at the hotel on request (not easy to find in the town centre) and is ideally located for guests wanting to take in the sights and sounds of Doncaster, whether that is exploring the towns picturesque Victorian streets, taking a look around the shopping district, just minutes from the hotel, or taking advantage of the towns vibrant night life. Previous guests include The Beatles and The Kaiser Chiefs – an endorsement to the hotel’s reputation for excellent customer service and commitment to quality.Each of the fifty-two en-suite bedrooms has everything you would expect from a stylish boutique-style hotel. Modern facilities, such as Flat screen televisions and free wireless internet perfectly suit the guest who desires both comfort and in room entertainment. In the morning there is something for everyone, why not indulge yourself with an authentic Full Yorkshire Breakfast (ingredients sourced locally) or take the lighter option with a range of continental options for you to choose from.Since variety is the spice of life, the Regent takes great care to cater for all tastes. From delicate afternoon teas to full a la carte, the brigade of chefs have designed a range of creative menus to satisfy everybody's palate. Guests can choose to eat in one of the elegant lounge bars or opt for more classical dining in the Regent Restaurant.The Regent Hotel has a long standing history as the place to be for a celebration. Whether you’re celebrating a Birthday or just wanting a relaxing drink, the range of bars and function rooms styled in the unique mix of 18th century architecture and elegant modern facilities allow the hotel to provide the best suited environment for each guest. Every aspect of an event is covered, ensuring that celebrations exceed guest’s expectations.The Regent Hotel was established in 1935, located next to the vibrant heart of Doncaster’s Historic Town centre, a popular place for business, culture and nightlife. The Hotel is closely situated to the Frenchgate Centre, Doncaster's famous market, Lakeside Shopping Village and is only a 10 minute walk from the new Doncaster Racecourse, Doncaster Dome and Keepmoat Stadium. The Hotel is a 15 minute drive from Robin Hood Airport, 5 minutes from the motorway links and a 5 minute walk to the bus/rail stations in the town centre and with free parking (on request) you can take in the everything Doncaster has to offer virtually hassle free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Hotel Doncaster
Regent Doncaster
Doncaster Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing