We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some attention”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Campanile Doncaster
Ranked #19 of 19 Hotels in Doncaster
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I booked the room last minute on the web - around 9pm. I arrived a the hotel about 10pm only to find a note on the reception door saying full! Any queries ring the manager so I did.... She turned up 10mins later and found my booking. Check in was quite easy but a drunken guest gate crashed my check in wanting another drink! My room was basic but the bed was amazingly comfortable. A good powerful shower and job done. Checked out no problem and plenty of parking. Would I stay again though? Not sure........

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 302 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed for one night in July. After booking in was told room was in another building, which meant going up a flight of stairs outside the building. The room was small, no air conditioning, was extremely hot. Felt it was rather shabby, needs updating and a lick of paint on the outside. Had dinner in the dining room, was very mediocre.

Room Tip: If you have problems with stairs, ask for a ground floor, but did look very shabby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytripper05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Although coming from the Doncaster area I now live in Somerset; once or twice a year I visit family and usually stay at the Campanile. Some 20 years ago when it opened my eldest son had a birthday party there so I have a bit of a soft spot for this establishment. What can I say... lovely comfortable mattress, new flat screen television, coffee and tea, basic washing facilities. The grounds are beautiful with lots of hanging baskets and trimmed grassed areas. Very peaceful although near a main road and within walking distance of a leisure centre and shopping area with cinema. Unfortunately the place looks a bit run down this year. Grubby paintwork, some bits of wood broken. Shabby stairs to the upper floor and unsightly dark marks on the bathroom ceiling with cobwebs and mould spots in a corner of the bedroom. Nothing a bit of care and attention can't solve. For £29 a night you can't go wrong. However, I discovered today that I had been charged twice for my 2 night stay, once by the Campanile and once by the booking agency! Whose fault is that I wonder.

Room Tip: I usually stay in a back room which is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This hotel is very close to the Racecourse (Walking distance) and The Dome (Walking distance),
however, my reason for choosing its location was its to proximity to Rose Hill Cemetery and Crematorium where I had a Family Funeral to attend.
Although it is ideally located to the main road for all routes to the A1 and M1 motorways it surroundings make it seem like a countryside location and is therefore very quiet.
It is good value for money, the room was very clean and it had everything I needed.
It is a Motel style Hote, l you can park your car directly outside your room and it has a restaurant and bar a very short walk (outside, so may be a problem in bad weather).
The bed was comfortable and I slept extremely well.

Room Tip: If you have problem with stairs , request a ground floor room, only on 2 floors anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 118John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

found the staff very helpful from the off. had difficulty booking on the internet( not the hotels fault i might add) so i rang them and they sorted it out in no time. when we got there the rooms were a good size with on suit and wardrobe space tv and wifi.
The rooms were very clean the beds were comfy and a very quiet area. would definately use this hotel again excellent value for money.

1  Thank valwells
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Hotel gave good value for money, basic but clean, with coffee and tea making facilities came with bicuits, even a nice touch of having sweets in the room, meals reasonably priced and tasty, staff very friendly and helpful, free wifi available. Very quiet at night even though it is quite close to a busy road.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank mickwells948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This hotel gave excellent value for money. Our room was absolutely spotless and had an added nice touch of some sweets left on the end of the bed. The bedroom accommodation is motel style and allows you to park your car right outside your door if you are on the ground floor. The member of staff who checked us in could not have been more helpful and he was so pleasant.
After a good night's sleep, we went over to the restaurant for breakfast. I opted for the continental while my husband had the cooked full English. Both were excellent and the Manageress who served us was so nice. If you are travelling through this area I would strongly recommend this hotel as a superb stopover.

Room Tip: If you choose a ground floor room you can park your car right outside the door to your room so it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EileenandIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doncaster hotels
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Doncaster Lakeside
0.6 mi away
Grand St Leger Hotel
Grand St Leger Hotel
#17 of 19 in Doncaster
241 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Doncaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Doncaster Hotel
Travelodge Doncaster Hotel
#11 of 19 in Doncaster
110 reviews
1.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Doncaster
6.9 mi away
Travelodge Doncaster M18/M180 Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Campanile Doncaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Campanile Doncaster

Address: Doncaster Leisure Park Bawtry Road, Doncaster DN4 7PD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Doncaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 19 Hotels in Doncaster
Price Range: $40 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Campanile Doncaster 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Doncaster is a budget hotel situated next Door to Doncaster Dome and 5 minutes walk from Doncaster Racecourse. Located 4km from Doncaster train and bus station, 4 km from Junction 3 M18 and 9km from Doncaster Robin Hood Airport we are a perfect central hub to so many destinations. The hotel has 49 ensuite bedrooms with tea and coffee making facilities, flatscreen televisions,free parking and WIFI. The hotel has a bar, restaurant and conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Campanile Doncaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Doncaster Hotel Doncaster
Campanile Hotel Doncaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing