We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Venue for Hen Do...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Premier Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Doncaster
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Venue for Hen Do...”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Ref : Pick and Mix PJ Party 8th March 2014

Firstly .... WOW!!

I would like to say a huge thank you to you and everyone that made my sisters Hen Do a success this weekend.

Upon arriving we were made to feel nothing but welcome and the atmosphere was so relaxed. We received a fast check in and were shown to our rooms within minutes. I had previously dropped all the decorations, party bags and cupcakes off the night before and how your team decorated the venue room was brilliant - exactly what I had hoped for.

Rachel enjoyed every moment and the chocolate making class with Andrew and Stephen was incredible you couldn't have picked two better people to deal with our group of chocoholics.....I have never eaten so much melted chocolate in one go ever and we all had a fabulous time. Both gents were extremely helpful and were a pleasure to be taught by - you could see their flare for the jobs they do. We are still working our way through the boxes and boxes of chocolates as I write.

The buffet that was supplied was beautiful and I would like to thank the kitchen team as I was not aware on booking that there was a vegetarian in our party (should of done my homework better) and they soon rustled up some vegetarian options within 10 mins of the buffet being delivered without any issues.

My sister is a very quiet and no fuss person and the balance that we got from your venue hit the nail on the head. She was blown away with the suite she got to stay in and the relaxed atmosphere that came with it to allow her to enjoy her family and friends around her. Please note that all the other bedrooms for the rest of the party were also no disappointment - our shower in room 135 was mega!!

It was a lovely touch in the morning when being shown to a private breakfast room just for us - the food was delicious.

We would definitely be using your hotel again and will be giving you a great appraisal to anyone who will listen.

Thank you again!!

Sarah-Jayne - the now de-stressed chief bridesmaid :) xxx

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic - you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinkerlula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPH1938, General Manager at Best Western Premier Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Tinkerlula

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the hotel.

I was delighted to read that you had such a memorable visit and that you enjoyed the chocolate making experience.

I shall ensure that your fantastic feedback is relayed to all members of the team here at the hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you all back to the hotel in the near future.


Kind Regards

Richard Tyas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    668
    243
    69
    33
    21
See reviews for
190
419
25
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

This is my hotel of choice now when I am around Doncaster. I have stayed in 4 rooms and they have all been tastefully furnished with comfortable beds, sometimes four posters and plenty of space. The rooms have all been equipped with sofas and a desk which is great for working and entertaining or just chilling.

I have had the breakfasts and this is usually pretty good if you have an inclusive rate. There is usually some kind of corporate event going on, but that hasn't disturbed my stays.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPH1938, General Manager at Best Western Premier Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear thoggie

Thank you for taking the time to post your review with regards to your recent visit to the hotel.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the rooms and the food, your feedback is invaluable to us in order to improve our product.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when next staying in the area.

Kind Regards

Richard Tyas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I have just had a lovely facial (with danielle) and my Mum had laura, from the moment we arrived in the salon were made very welcome. The facial was heaven and we both cant wait to go again.
They had pure mineral goodies for sale and OPI nail varnishes, and ESPA skincare on offer there was no hard sell of these like in offer big salons ive been to. i did buy a mini OPI varnish and also had an eyebrow wax.
The hotel is spotless and John on Restaurant repeception was very attentive we started with a glass of Procecco(really nice) then followed the Sandwiches and cakes and with a choice of Tea or Coffee. thank you Mount pleasant this was our First Visit and wont be our last!! Rachel & Carol(from doncaster & Sheffield)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachelyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPH1938, General Manager at Best Western Premier Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear rachelyorks

Thank you for taking the time to post the feedback with regards to your recent experience here at the hotel.

I was so pleased to read that you had such a relaxing time and enjoyed the treatment from Danielle.

Thank you for all your kind comments and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Richard Tyas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This is the first time I have ever written a review so here goes.

I work away most weekends and as I had got the weekend off I decided to take my wife away for a Saturday night at the last minute for a romantic break.

Looking on the website I decided to book the sanctuary room 271, the best room in the hotel and was very lucky that there was a cancellation and the room was available at £209 for the night. Ideal as the hotel is only 45 minutes from us.

We arrived around 2pm and expected the room to be available from 3pm. On arrival we were greeted by a very friendly and professional front of house. We were informed that our room was available immediately and that if we would like to make our way to the room the duty manager would meet us there to show us how the spa facilities worked.

Within a minute of getting to the room he duly arrived to explain how the sauna, jacuzzi and the mood lighting worked.

We decided to go for a spot of lunch in the captain’s bar. The staff were very friendly and the pint of beer I had was excellent, black sheep if you want to know.

The bar staff were very friendly and asked us if we wanted to sit in the garden room as there were tables available. Within a couple of minutes we were served and ordered fish and chips. The staff were excellent and very attentive. The food was excellent. My only gripe was the price of the wine. A large glass of wine was £8.90 though the beer was well priced at £3.80 or so a pint.

We had been informed when we checked in that there were only 2 tables available that night in the restaurant as it was a valentines special night ( we stayed on the 15th of Feb) and that there was only a special 4 course menu available. We asked if room service was available and were told that it would be no problem.

We went back to the room to try out the spa area.

What can I say, if I had an on suite at home big enough I would design it like this. But be prepared though it takes a good 45-60 mins to fill the 2 person jacuzzi bath. The sauna was excellent. The spa area has mood lighting and a sound system with a docking system for iPod/iPhone. My only complaint about this is that it only has the docking for the old iPod and iPhone with the wide adapter not the new (well 2 years old) iPhone 5. A bit disappointing as I had loaded my iPhone with a load of Barry White to set the mood!!!!!

After trying out the spa we decided to head down to the bar to have a few drinks before heading back to the room for ordering room service.

We decided to try out the cocktail menu. Very pleasantly surprised with the prices ranging from around £3.25 to £6 compared to £8.90 for a large glass of wine.

We rather indulged in these. The lady and gents behind the bar were excellent. At one stage we ordered a couple of margaritas and after a very large sip realised that they had put sugar around the rim and not salt. I informed the lady behind the bar about the mistake who promptly told us to finish of the Sweet margaritas and brought 2 fresh salty ones free of charge.

The next morning we headed for breakfast. Not the best I’ve ever had but certainly not the worse. Again the staff were excellent. Just prefer my sausage and bacon a little less well done than the chef does.


Just a couple of points for the management if they read these reviews.

1. The sound system docking station in the spa room needs updating or supply an adapter( they are about £25 from the apple store) as rather disappointing that Mr Barry White could not be played via an iPhone 5
2. It would nice if not essential that a hair dryer is supplied in the rooms. Not one in ours
3. The mini bar was somewhat disappointing being limited to a couple of bottles of complimentary water. Sure you can order stuff from the bar to the room but do you really need to charge £2.95 every time. It sure does put you off tipping the staff.


Sorry for the ramble but all in all an excellent stay and I would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bingtag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPH1938, General Manager at Best Western Premier Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Bingtag

Thank you taking the time to write such a thorough feedback with regards to your recent stay, the feedback is invaluable to us so as we can ensure that product remains good, we shall certainly use the constructive points of your review to further enhance our product.

I was so pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Richard Tyas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We got a very lovely treat to stop in the Mount Pleasant as a birthday gift, and we would happily accept this gift every year!! We got upgraded to a spa suite and it was a fantastic treat. Private sauna, 5ft round copper bath (takes ages to fill but worth the wait)......the high quality toiletries are really lovely. The huge four poster bed was divine, good mattress, great selection of pillows - good nights rest, The huge room also had a large, comfy corner sofa, flat screen TV, desk, lamps, fridge, safe, iron, hairdryer, etc. Complementary soft drinks, tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits in the room too. We booked D, B&B, and both meals were very good, attentive staff without being intrusive. We cant wait to go back and I intend to try out the spa very soon too!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doncasterfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPH1938, General Manager at Best Western Premier Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear doncasterfamily

Thank you for taking the time to post a review with regards to your recent stay at the hotel.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and that you were able to take advantage of an upgrade to one our Spa Suites. I shall ensure that all your feedback is passed through to the staff here at the hotel.

I do hope that we will see you again soon to use one of our other unique Spa Suites, and I look forward to personally welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards

Richard Tyas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire lass
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We nearly always go away for Valentines day, and had looked to go further away to such as a Warners Hotel but the prices were crazy, so we decided to try this hotel. I have often been for meals as it is not far from where we live, and we have also been to a couple of weddings here but never stayed over night.
Booking in was very fast and efficient, and no mention was made of the flowers and chocolates which my husband had had delivered to the hotel-even though he had been told they would keep them at Reception.They were actually in the room. We had been given a free upgrade to a lovely large room, with settee, chair at the desk and a lovely comfy bed. On the bed was a 'pillow menu'! There was a hard and soft pillow each and we could request feather or other pillows if we wanted to.There was a clock/radio/ipod port which was very 'state of the art'! The bathroom was beautiful and had a permanent 'quiet' light which was plenty if you needed to visit it in the night. There were all the bath/shower gels etc you could want and also face flannels. Lovely towels etc.
The meal was lovely, with choice of 4 starters, raspberry sorbet, 4 mains and then a selection for each couple of mini arctic roll, chocolate sponge, passion fruit cream dessert, and mini cheese cake. These were scrumptious.
In the morning you could have almost anything you wanted. We both ordered porridge but my husband was horrified to find it was sweet which he really doesn't like. I like it sweet so it didn't worry me. However his was soon changed, with no feeling that we were being awkward. The full English breakfast was lovely and the smoked haddock likewise.
All in all, I think we will be returning next year!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPH1938, General Manager at Best Western Premier Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear mowley

Thank you for taking the time to write your review with regards to your recent stay at the hotel.

I was so pleased to read that you choose us as your destination for Valentines day and that we lived up to and surpassed that expectation.(other than Sweet Porridge my apologies for this)

I shall certainly pass all your feedback to all members of the team here at the hotel and thank you for such valuable feedback.

I look forward to personally welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Richard Tyas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doncaster
4.8 mi away
The Earl of Doncaster
The Earl of Doncaster
#6 of 19 in Doncaster
575 reviews
18.4 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#3 of 53 in Sheffield
1,005 reviews
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Doncaster A1(M), Jct. 36
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ramada Encore Doncaster Airport
4.5 mi away
Grand St Leger Hotel
Grand St Leger Hotel
#16 of 19 in Doncaster
232 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#11 of 19 in Doncaster
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel

Property: Best Western Premier Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel
Address: Great North Road | A638, Doncaster DN11 0HW, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PREMIER Mount Pleasant Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Doncaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Doncaster
#1 Green Hotel in Doncaster
#1 Romantic Hotel in Doncaster
#4 Family Hotel in Doncaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Premier Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Mount Pleasant Hotel is Doncaster's only AA rated four-star hotel. Situated between the historic market towns of Doncaster & Bawtry on the Great North Road, we are just 1 mile from Doncaster Sheffield International Airport. Ideally located close to main transport links, the hotel is the perfect venue for those wishing to stay in and around Doncaster. Four-star country house hotel set in 100 acres of wooded parkland. 56 luxury en suite bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Premier Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Doncaster
Doncaster Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing