We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Happy Days"”
Review of Red Lion Epworth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Lion Epworth
Ranked #10 of 24 Doncaster B&B and Inns
british
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“"Happy Days"”
Reviewed November 15, 2011


Had a fabulous evening away at the Red Lion, booked through Groupon so got a absolute bargain!!! Although on sampling this little gem would be more than willing to pay the rack rate!! Stayed Friday 11-11-11 bed breakfast and evening dinner, on arrival we were met with a warm welcome and a glass of wine, ample parking is available round the back of the hotel, the first thing that struck me about the hotel was that is smelt lovely! One thing I hate/dread of B&B accommodation is the awful stale smell that these type of old establishments can carry however no need to have worried here. Our twin room (room 6) was lovely, great size again lovely smell spotlessly clean could not ask for more.  We ate in the restaurant later that evening and I had the best fillet steak ever! Beautifully cooked and well presented , my friend had the ribs and again said they were fab! After our meal we spent a good few hours in the lovely bar with the friendly locals and had a great night! Breakfast the next morning was excellent well cooked quality food served in the lovely dining room. Overall we had a great time and will with out doubt be booking again after Christmas! All the staff especially the bar staff who stayed late to keep serving us deserve a big thank you!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank treckers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    47
    22
    16
    10
See reviews for
12
89
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
north ferriby
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

the room was a lttle "tired" but as we were on a groupon, was fair value. The food was fantastic and we will stay again.

Room Tip: maybe upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnegill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We went to the Red Lion @ Epworth as a Groupon deal, It was very good value for money (however there was a £10 charge each as we wanted to saty on a Sat night). My husband decided to upgrade our room from a standard to a luxuary, Which was situated just a couple of doors down from the Pub itself. The room was decorated lovely and clean and tidy, the shower was great!

The car park was more than adequate and the staff were very friendly.

As we was with the Groupon deal we ate in the Pubs restaruant which was brilliant, the food was lovely and plentiful as was the full english breakfast the next morning. We recommend the Sirloin Steak with homemade Chunky Chips!!

All in all we had a very pleasent stay at the Red Lion and would more than likely return for another night away!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LL26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2011

We travelled as a family of two to attend a nearby event and booked a room at the Red Lion, Epworth. A number of other attendees were staying there. The car park is impressive and the staff friendly. There it ends. Our room was small, cramped and dirty. It looked as though the windows had not been cleaned since the premises were built. The wallpaper was shabby; the furniture scratched and worn. The waste bin lid flew off when the pedal was operated and the en-suite shower was disgusting. The toilet leaked onto the bathroom floor and it was necessary to constantly mop it up. On returning to the hotel at 10.30 pm we found our room was above an outside smoking area and noise from that and the disco went on until midnight. In the morning we found breakfast to be overdone and had the impression that everything had been cooked in a deep fat fryer. We will not return and advise others to look elsewhere should they wish to stay in the area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PointersGuestHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

The pub looks very welcoming and seems to be a centre-point for the town folk during the evening. Some of the rooms are advertised as being luxuriously decorated and do indeed look nice in the pictures. Reality is quite different. Upon arrival, we are taken to room no. 7, which even with the curtains open was dark and drab. The walls were badly scratched and very badly marked (a sort of brown, yellow tinge) and water marks around the ceiling where there had obviously been leaks - it reminded me of university accommodation, which by all accounts was better. 7. The room also smelt musty. I asked reception if we could move. The waitress went to ask the landlady which was the best room. The landlady didnt even bother to come and see me herself. The waitress then gave me keys to room 15 - it looked much better. The only issue being that it had suitcases in it - it was already occupied by guests!!! I went back down to reception. They then gave me keys for room 12. This room was small but adequate and much brighter. On closer inspection, the toilet had not been flushed from the previous guests. The bed sheets were marked and the light didnt work. One of the beds was also really creaky so every time you moved you woke yourself up.

All in all, I was really disappointed with this place. There seemed an air of arrogance amongst the staff who paraded around in their tracksuits on the Sunday morning to serve breakfast. What I would suggest is that they spend some of the £65 per room per night fee on decorating the place. There is so much potential, but their care free attitude has left it in need of TLC. It might also be helpful to display room prices as I have a suspicion that they make it up as they go along. They are advertised as being "from £39 per night" but there are no other prices mentioned. I dread to think of the quality of these rooms.....

There is another B&B which I think is owned by the church/community centre just up the road - I would try there if you're looking for somewhere to stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KNetLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Epworth is an attractive small market town in Lincolnshire, most famous for being the birthplace of John Wesley, founder of the Methodist movement.

The Red Lion Inn is a popular pub in the centre of the town and is within easy walking distance of the sites associated with the Wesleys, and John Wesley often stayed in the Inn when he returned to Epworth in later life.

There are 15 en-suite letting rooms, including two luxury suites. We had booked and paid in advance for one single and one double room for two nights via the hotel’s own web site. On arrivial we found that our booking has been mismanaged. They had only recorded the second night of our booking and had allocated us two twin rooms. Luckily the hotel was quiet and they did have rooms available for us for our first night. The rooms themselves were clean and well-presented, though we did have some issues with faulty and missing kettles and bedside lamps, which were cheerfully rectified. The bathrooms were not beyond criticism – not well fitted, with some poorly filled gaps around the bath and rather off-putting water staining.

The pub was very busy and open to 2:00 am on the Friday and Saturday nights of our stay. As, along with most of the rooms, we overlooked the inn’s inner courtyard which is now employed as a smoking area there was a fair amount of noise, particularly during the Friday night disco.

We took dinner in the busy dining room. The food was good but not exceptional, and we thought that some of the dishes, particularly the grills, were overpriced. The Full English breakfasts were well up to standard.

There is plenty of free parking to the rear of the hotel, something that is not always available in older town centre establishments.

Finally mention should be made of the staff. Without doubt they are the best asset of the establishment. Friendly and helpful they worked hard to make our stay a pleasant one.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WhaleyTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doncaster hotels
12.9 mi away
Mercure Doncaster Centre Danum Hotel
12.9 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#7 of 19 in Doncaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
12.9 mi away
Premier Inn Doncaster Central (High Fishergate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#10 of 19 in Doncaster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
9.7 mi away
Best Western Premier Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel
12.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Doncaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Epworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Epworth

Property: Red Lion Epworth
Address: 2 Market Place, Doncaster DN9 1EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Doncaster
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Doncaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Lion Epworth 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Red Lion Epworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel Doncaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing