We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired, and Lacking....Saved by Good Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Dudley (Kingswinford) Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Dudley
Certificate of Excellence
Cumbria
Level Contributor
111 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Tired, and Lacking....Saved by Good Staff”
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Premier Inn Dudley Kingswinford.

I seem to be having a run of bad luck with the Premier Inn. Can only assume this one is suffering some sort of austerity fallout.

Arrived in the car park, all seems OK. Then you start to look. The curtlage of the hotel is terrible. Rubbish all over the place, glass bottles, cans, plastic bottles, food wrappers, etc. Looks like a few bin liners have been emptied over the place. Easily sorted (staff member, bin liner, twice daily walk around), it's not hard, but it doesn't seem to be a priority.

Receptionist was very pleasant and very welcoming. Usually are at the Premier Inn, and she was very efficient. Room however was a bit of a let down though. As basic as it can get. Dowdy, uncared for, dusty, very very basic, poor bathroom in need of refurbishment. Just glad I wasn't here for more than a night. It was one of those 'oh well, it's only for a night' rooms. You know you should kick-off, but you cannot be bothered.

Always surprises me when I arrive at a chain hotel like this. With the buying power they have, this type of room shouldn't exist. Often stayed at the Premier Inn Trafford Centre West in Manchester, and the new Piccadilly Station Premier Inn in Manchester. They are a thousand times better than this one. The room I had could be transformed for less than £300, into something you would happily stay in.

Got to wonder how often the executives on he board get around to places like this. Imagine eh are at he front of the queue when bonuses are being handed out, but a little less forthcoming when the quality control is required. Can't help thinking they are letting their staff down.

I used the accompanying Beefeater Grill in the evening. It was fine for one night.

Wouldn't mind a job with the Premier Inn. Travelling the country staying in the hotels. This can't take much sorting out. Can it. ?

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank superDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Dudley (Kingswinford) Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    114
    45
    16
    10
See reviews for
119
109
19
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Now I'm a big fan of Premier Inn. You can generally stay anywhere in the UK and reliably get a comfortable bed, nice sheets and pillows, a good strong shower and a fabulous cooked breakfast in the morning.

My stay here on business this week was a few marks short of the usually high standard:

- annoying 'click' on the thermostat every 20 mins as the heater went on and off, kept me awake all night
- service in the Beefeater was particularly slow, even though there were only a handful of lone business travellers dining
- the walls and ceiling are very thin and so neighbouring rooms could be heard getting up all too clearly from 6:00 am
- the paid-for wifi (annoying to have to pay a measley £3 a day anyway) only allows 2 devices. So, after using my iPhone and iPad the night before, I set up to use my work laptop the next morning, only to find it wouldn't connect. For sure, they allow 30 mins free usage but for £3 why not just allow unrestricted use, how much extra does this cost the hotel? Should be free anyway, its 2014, not the 1980s you cheapskates!

There is a goodnight guarantee but when the bill is paid for by my company, what's the point in complaining? I'll just choose another place to stay in future.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank rtwexplorer2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Spent two nights at this hotel - the second time we have stayed there. The staff are all very welcoming and our room was well maintained,very clean and had everything we needed. The meals, breakfast and dinner, are very acceptable for a chain hotel. The chain has to be complimented on running hotels which cater well for both business and leisure guests and children. Other chains we have used are so impersonal, cold and basic. One minor gripe - it was impossible to vary the water temperature in the shower!.

Room Tip: make sure the shower works!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldruinlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

We were in Kingswinford to visit friends who lived nearby. We arrived mid afternoon and check in was quickly dealt with by a polite receptionist. Our room was clean and warm. Tea and coffee making facilities were welcome and the shower had lashings of hot water. Even the towels were fluffy and large. It was our first visit to a Premier Inn, we will visit again - if the price is right!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed for one night to go to an auction in Stourbridge. The Premier Inn was easy to find and there was lots of parking space. We got a friendly welcome - in fact all the staff were very friendly and eager to please. The rooms were not luxurious but they were functional, comfortable and clean. We had a good night's sleep followed by a good breakfast in the adjoining Beefeater. It was very, very good value.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southendbootboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Myself and a friend stayed here as we were going shopping to merry hill complex for the day, location was great few minutes drive from the complex, Premier inn staff were attentive and friendly the rooms were dated and could do with a refurb but totally habitable and they were clean. We ate in the adjacent beefeater in the evening and for breakfast have to say food was lovely and the service was excellent .All in all a very good experience, and would stay again . .

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deborah4607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Provides all the essential needs at a good quality, and for a very reasonable price. Nothing more to add, other than the staff are friendly and helpful, and that parking is plentiful and free. Oh yes and unlike American budget hotels, tea/coffee supplies are provided as well as the electric kettle!




  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dudley
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Dudley Town Centre Hotel
1.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley
3.6 mi away
Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Himley House Good Night Inn Hotel
3.6 mi away
The Quality Hotel Dudley
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Stourbridge Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Dudley (Kingswinford) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Dudley (Kingswinford) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Dudley (Kingswinford) Hotel
Address: Dudley Road | Kingswinford, Dudley DY6 8WT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Dudley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Dudley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Dudley (Kingswinford) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than 30 minutes' drive from West Midlands Safari Park and Dudley Zoological Gardens ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Dudley (Kingswinford) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Dudley (Kingswinford) Hotel Dudley
Premier Inn Dudley (Kingswinford) Hotel United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing