We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant service”
Review of The Fellows

The Fellows
Ranked #6 of 160 Restaurants in Dudley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant service”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Sat downstairs food area on the 1st june.. food was brilliant and service from the waitress was very friendly.would recommend

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank bernan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    60
    15
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Puzzling”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The menu looked good when booking (online)
The building and decor looked nice upon arrival.
The girl who served us was very friendly and knowledgable.
But the food....it wasn't great. It was edible - but amateurish at best. Take the steak. A nice piece of meat, but it looked and tasted if it had been microwaved/boiled prior to the grill. It had not been seasoned either. To be blunt - my 10 year old could have produced a better steak from that meat. Med Veg is usually a vibrant array of colours and flavours. Not here. Just soggy grey mush.

The other 3 meals were described as:

Sirloin. Well done. "Nice".
Lasagne. "Very good"
Taggots. (The T should be an F but Tripadvisor accuses me of using profanity) "Bland but ok".

We visited 5:30 on a Saturday. I can only assume we got the kitchen B team as this place could be a cracker!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Apalling service”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We've been to the Fellows on quite a few occasions and it's always been good but not today. We were told there might be a slight delay, even though half the tables were empty but waiting over 45 minutes was unacceptable. In the end after nearly an hour we said enough is enough and we left. Apalling! Even the manager admitted "we've messed up" but sorry isn't good enough they seriously need to rethink their customer service. I would not recommend this establishment.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DebsWestMids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
389 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Lovely Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Haven't been to The Fellows for quite a while, purely as we've not been in the area to do so. I'm glad we picked it for lunch today. The staff are friendly, the food was lovely and portion sizes were really good value for money. The steaks are particularly good, and the choice of Holdens' ales is good - I recommend the Golden Glow.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank dramill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not what we expected.”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

After reading reports on this site we decided to give the Felows a try, we arrived at 7pm last night to find the place almost empty except for two drinkers at the bar and a couple sitting down, first impression not good.
The waitress who was very bubbly and polite showed us to a table in a cold and empty restaurant, she quickly fetched the drinks we ordered and left us to peruse the menu. We ordered two starters which for the cost were very poor value it seems they could have come from a Iceland shop, the barbacue chicken wings were cremated. We ordered the mains and two of us had steaks and the ladies ordered chicken parmagiana, the steaks were good but there are far better eateries srving bigger and better steaks for the price these were.
The chicken dishes were very dissapointing just a batterd peice of flat chicken with a tomato sauce tipped over which made the dish look not very appetising both ladies left more than the ate.
I have given this a average mark because the service was good but there was nothing else to make us return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fellows also viewed

Dudley, West Midlands
Dudley, West Midlands
 
Dudley, West Midlands
 

Been to The Fellows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing