We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One over night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Dudley
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed hear 31/08/2013 . The room was big enough for a family of four the bedroom was clean but the bathroom was abit dirty with paint peeling off the ceiling . The pool was also clean and tidy considering the amount of people there . There was a wedding on when we stayed and the place was still quiet , man on the desk was very helpful

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jogav H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dleeh456, Front Office Manager at Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

We really appreciate the feedback, it will mean a lot to Karl on the desk.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Katherine Jeffries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,957)
There are newer reviews for Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,588 - 1,594 of 1,957 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

we went to the village for a wedding night, it was a beautiful place no mistake but the drinks are by far too expensive especially for where it is. it cost far to much just for pop so if you like a proper drink be aware of the prices for sure. there was nothing wrong with the venue but you need an overdraft to pay for anything if you like a drink.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dleeh456, Front Office Manager at Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for the lovely comments regarding the Village Urban Resort Dudley as a hotel venue, if you would like to discuss the cost of the beverages with our Restaurant & Bars Manager, you are more then welcome to do so by emailing steve.dear@village-hotels.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I got married at the Village 2 years ago. The staff were amazing all the way from first booking it until the big day was over. The prepared exactly what we asked for and helped with some food that we had to have due to guests having allergies. I have since stayed at this hotel a few more times and again had a great time. The restaurant is a bit pricey but that is the only negative thing. The pool is great and the bar. The rooms have always been clean, tidy and well maintained.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dleeh456, Front Office Manager at Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind comments, it means the world to us.

I am glad you keep returning to the Village Urban Resort Dudley, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Katherine Jeffries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I stayed for a night with work and I had one of the worst nights I have ever endured in a hotel. THE NOISE!!! I stayed in the 1st floor facing the car park and there was no noise from there, it came from the A461 that was on the same level as my room and the noise was incessant! I was kept awake all night and due to the high temperature this month the window was left open, no air-con. I closed the window and it made no difference at all. Added to the mix was the dog that was barking hourly in the houses that are in an elevated position above the road where all the traffic noise came from. Not a great experience. However, there was a chance for the hotel to redeem the situation as due to work commitments, I had a pre-booked/paid further visit a few days later. I told the guy on reception as I was leaving the first night that I had a rubbish night - he did ask after all - and he was most apologetic and when I informed of my impending visit he said I would be looked after. Mmm?

So I arrived the next visit today and turned up really late and was met at reception with the usual friendly response but when I related my previous experience it was met with a stony stare, there was no commentary from the previous week and I was informed I was on the second floor and I was promised it was certainly quieter.

I was not taking any chances so I opted for a much touted Upper Deck room that is located in an annex which as I found out when I opened the door was even closer to the dreaded A461. Luckily the floor plan meant the window was facing away from the road so the subsequent road noise was nowhere near as bad. Hey, I even had a distant view of the West Bromwich footy ground, although to be honest I only twigged that as the floodlights were on due to an obscure match taking place.

So the Upper Deck room was a little better than the one I had the previous week but being a bloke the mountain of cushions on the bed was lost on me. It did not make it any more comfortable, so it begs the question, why? The coffee choice was supposedly a better choice, Starbucks, but the end result in any case is you end up with a cup of hot brown liquid that is a close to coffee as I actually was to the aforementioned West Brom footy ground.

The only redeeming feature is the food in the "Victory" branded pub was pretty reasonable. Decent burgers and a decent pint of Pedigree ale and the set up is very blokey so appeals to my sense of wellbeing so saved the day.

Overall not a great experience, another issue with the Village experience is they are very much driven by the on site gym, so the aroma of sweaty trainer is more or less piped through the reception area. The ambience is one of shabbiness and I thought there was a distinct lack of interest in me as a customer in respect of the points I raised. Maybe because I was on a work paid for gig, who knows but that is at the peril of the company as I will certainly steer my colleagues away should they need to stay over.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the main road or overlooking Tesco. I know a terrible description but the ro...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dleeh456, Front Office Manager at Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding you resent stay at Village Urban Resort Dudley, I am sorry to hear about the noise from the traffic during your first stay and the uncomfortable temperature. I am glad the UpperDeck room was an improvement.

I sincerely apologise you felt that there was a distinct lack of interest from the hotel side in respect of the points I raised at any point, if you would like to discuss this further, please contact me by emailing Katherine.jeffries@village-hotels.com.

Kind regards
Katherine Jeffries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Used as a overnight stop for a Saturday night. Room was tired and a little stuffy coupled with a bathroom in need of refurbishment. However you get what you pay for and we got a good deal so no real complaint. Breakfast was good and plentiful, but you need to get your timing right on a Sunday morning - queue was growing as we left the restraunt.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank AshbourneIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dleeh456, Front Office Manager at Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding you resent stay at Village Urban Resort Dudley, I am glad to hear you had an enjoyable breakfast, I can appreciate it gets rather busy at certain times on a Sunday morning.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Katherine Jeffries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed here as we were going to the nearby zoo, The hotel was good, looking like 2 other Villages I have stayed in before in reception and public areas. The bar was OK, it smelled of stale ale though and was a little grubby. We only ate breakfast in the hotel though, electing to eat out in the evening. Breakfast was pretty good, although the bacon was a bit fatty and the scrambled eggs had been left on the buffet for a while.

The room itself was a bit disappointing though, it had everything we wanted but the bathroom was grubby and needed a clean, some of the flat surfaces hadn't been cleaned properly either and had marks.

A decent hotel, just needs a little more care.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dleeh456, General Manager at Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Steven - Thank you for you comments and I am sorry that the bathroom was not as clean as it should have been, please accept my apologies. Your feedback has been shared with our housekeeping team for follow up. I have also passed your thoughts on the bacon to our company chef who is responsible for our product decisions. We thank you again for taking the time to provide a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Spent a lovely weekend attending a friends wedding, very comfortable rooms, the food was very good and all the staff were very pleasant and helpful. Just one drawback our room was at the rear of the hotel over the function room which was quite noisy from the disco and also the air con motors were going until early in the morning and again when we woke up, it was very hot in the room so we could not have the windows open because of the noise, so always ask for a quiet room (wherever that is)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheltenhamRufus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dleeh456, General Manager at Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank you for your feedback and delihted to read the wedding you attended was a special day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dudley
2.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley
0.1 mi away
The Quality Hotel Dudley
0.3 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#6 of 7 in Dudley
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Village Hotel Birmingham Walsall
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury M5 Jct.2
4.6 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Kingswinford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley

Address: Birmingham Road | Castlegate Park, Dudley DY1 4TB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Dudley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Dudley
Price Range: $56 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley is situated on the A461, near to Dudley Centre and close to lots of attractions. The children will love the animals at Dudley Zoo. Everyone will enjoy a trip to the massive new Bullring Shopping Mall in the centre of Birmingham. You can also enjoy a stroll along Birmingham's canals and walkways, or visit the world renowned Ironbridge Living Museum. Within a short distance the unique Half Penny Green Vineyard is open to visitors. Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley has 124 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Squash Court, 25 metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel And Leisure Dudley
Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing