We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Dudley
Walderslade
1 review
“Very helpful and friendly staff”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

After arriving late with our 2 children, following a terrible journey and car breakdown, the staff could not do enough to help us. The lovely receptionist helped us put up the travelcot and get us settled in our room, while the manager got some food sent up to us as we had arrived too late to eat in the restaurant.

Our 4 year old found it all very exciting and slept very well in the sofa bed that had been made up for him. The breakfast was lovely and he enjoyed the pancakes with chocolate sauce! We then spent the morning in the pool and all thoroughly enjoyed our stay, in fact we didn't want to leave! I would definitely reccomend the hotel, especially for families, and really hope to have the opportunity to stay again :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dleeh456, Manager at Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Rebecca C

Thank you for your comments, I remember when you arrived at the hotel, and I am very glad that you all enjoyed the food that we managed to arrange for you. Its great to hear that you managed to spend a little time relaxing in the pool.

If you let me know when you are next staying I will make sure we have some more of that yummy chocolate cake!

Kind Regards
simon.barratt@village-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    511
    373
    204
    159
See reviews for
329
598
72
428
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Excellent hotel and friendly staff.
Only complaint was the number of TV channels available in our room 10 number including 3 Sky Sports channels. Enquiring at reception we were told that we would have to upgrade to a higher
room at an extra £20 per night to get a better selection of TV channels. This day and age when
TVs have built in Freeview we wondered how ancient the hotel TVs were.

Room Tip: First floor rooms facing to the rear are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hird1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dleeh456, Manager at Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Hird1

Thanks for your feedback, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at VILLAGE Dudley, we do have a selection of freeview channels in the standards rooms, but the Upper Deck rooms have fully SKY+ TV wi=hich offers a much larger package.

If you advise me of your next stay, I will upgrade your bedroom so that you may try out the Upper Deck bedroom package.

Kind regards
simon.barratt@village-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Village Hotal, the staff were really friendly and nothing was too much trouble, we ate in the restaurant with a 2 year old and our waiter Joshua was an amazing young man, he catered for all our needs making changes to the childs meal without any fuss and also asked if we would like the childs main course when we had our starters meaning that we could we eat our food in comfort without a 2 year old constantly asking were his food was!
The room that we stayed in was very comfortable and was equipped with everything we needed included an iron, ironing board, and hairdryer. We will definatley stay stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dleeh456, Manager at Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Helen W

Thanks so much for your comments, its great to hear that you and the family enjoyed your stay with us, its especially pleasing to hear that Josh in the restaurant made such a positive impression.

I look forward to welcoming you back V. Soon

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I am a member of the gym at this hotel and have stayed here quite a few times too, most recently being in December after a party night.

The facilities at this hotel are lovely! The rooms are so spacious and have everything you need. They represent the De Vere brand very well. Starbucks in the lobby is a nice touch and there is wi-fi through out the hotel.

Bar food is average as are staff (Mark used to be lovely but believe he has left ?) waitress are ditzy at best, and if in the restaurant prepare to ve spoken to harshly if you forget to take your hat off, my 47 year old husband was made to feel like a naughty child.

Most of the staff are complete and utter dolly birds - don't expect to see anyone older than 30 or bigger than a sze 12 on reception, it just won't happen. Wouldn't be a big deal if they didn't expect their looks to excuse their incompetence. Took over two hours to have a hairdryer that actually worked brought up to our room!

They guys who work in the gym are also fab! And there's one older one on reception who always has a smile and a quick chat. I thought I would feel so uncomfortable and self conscious as a middle aged woman in the gym, but the guys make you feel right at home and there are plenty of older members.

Katie and Luke in sales are both fab! Always have time for you and can't be faulted. There's a newer girl (haven't caught her name) who, unfortunately, falls into the dolly bird category and is useless! She has to bat her eyelids and get somebody else to do her job for her.

If this place hired people based on their work ethic and ability rather than their bust-to-waist ratio it would be perfect

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dleeh456, Manager at Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Gail M

Thanks for your feedback on the facilities, its great to hear that you enjoy using them. I would like to clarify that we employ people based on their skill set, personality and competency in the roles that they are applying for, if you could email me directly as I would like to follow up on your points, as I certainly dont accept poor customer service, and would like to make sure that we minimise the chance of it reoccuring.

Kind Regards
simon.barratt@village-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Absolutely loved our Village Hotel stay Went up for our friends 30th and went to the Boogie Nights Party Night at the hotel Stayed 2 nights Hotel spotless Bed was sooo comfortable and room was lovely and dark because of blinds and curtains so slept like a baby Everyone, except one Bar girl, was so helpful and lovely and made us feel so welcome x We need some Village Hotels down South though lol It's bye bye Premier Inns, Holiday Inns etc and hello to Village Hotels Highly recommended Thank you Tammy aged 48

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dleeh456, Manager at Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Tammy46

Thanks so much for your glowing comments, its is always great to hear (and read) when our guests have enjoyed their experience with us. I hope you will return again, maybe try one of our tribute nights in the Victory Pub...

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Second time I've stayed here and if I wasn't totally impressed the first time, this time was if anything even less impressive. It's not the staffs fault, they are lovely, typical welcoming friendly Brummies. The place is just tired. The dark dingy decor, and lack of real light in the rooms is just depressing. The food has never been great here and again breakfast and corporate lunch were bland and average at best.

The worst thing though has to be the TV service. You get the five terrestrial channels and sky sports. Not even free view channels are available, and the picture is so snowy that it was like stepping back into the sixties. How they can charge so much and not provide a decent TV service with a picture that doesn't bring on a headache after half an hour is beyond me, to be honest its pathetic.

The Village has had its last chance with me and in future I will stay at the current Premier Inn half a mile away or when complete the new one that is being built almost next door to the Village. Again this is no reflection against the staff who are great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dleeh456, Manager at Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Karl K

Thanks for your feedback, please accept my apologies for your stay, it is great to hear that the staff are what makes the hotel. If you would like to email me directly, i would like to resolve your concerns.

Kind Regards
simon.barratt@village-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Having never eaten here before we took a risk at inviting 27 guests to celebrate a 60th Birthday on April 14th in the Verve Bar & Grill.
A risk definately worth taking. The 5 course Sunday Lunch went down well with everyone (even the fussy ones). Steven our waiter was a joy. Always smiling and having a laugh. All staff were pleasant and helpful. The Birthday card was a nice touch.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LYNN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dleeh456, Manager at Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Lynn B

Wow, a group of 27 and everyone was happy.. It is so great to hear that the team did such a good job, especially Steven. Thank you for your custom, and for your comments.

If you let us know when you will be returning that would be great.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dudley
2.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley
0.2 mi away
The Quality Hotel Dudley
5.4 mi away
Village Hotel Birmingham Walsall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dudley
226 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury M5 Jct.2
4.6 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Kingswinford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley

Property: Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley
Address: Birmingham Road | Castlegate Park, Dudley DY1 4TB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Dudley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Dudley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley is situated on the A461, near to Dudley Centre and close to lots of attractions. The children will love the animals at Dudley Zoo. Everyone will enjoy a trip to the massive new Bullring Shopping Mall in the centre of Birmingham. You can also enjoy a stroll along Birmingham's canals and walkways, or visit the world renowned Ironbridge Living Museum. Within a short distance the unique Half Penny Green Vineyard is open to visitors. Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley has 124 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Squash Court, 25 metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel And Leisure Dudley
Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing