We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Dudley
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Good stay at this village hotel. Good staff and comfortable rooms with some decent food. Like the village chain and you know what your going to get for your money. Only down side to this trip was the pool was closed. Will stay here again and hopefully get a chance to use the pool.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KellysinKos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dleeh456, General Manager at Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Thanks for your comments. Only sorry that the pool was closed for a couple of days due to a serious technical fault. Please let the recpetion know when you have booked your next stay and we will organise a free upgrade as a small gesture of goodwill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,071)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,769 - 1,775 of 2,072 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

There was a good offer on the price of this hotel for days we required and was worth amount paid. Room was fine but bathroom had few cracked floor tiles. Room was serviced throughout our stay . Unfortunately heating was faulty in the swimming pool and was freezing, although a notice did state it was not as warm as it should be. We did not stay long as it was uncomfortably cold, but did have nice sauna. Food is expensive in the hotel, and we would recommend using the complex nearby which has a choice of eateries near a bowling alley and cinema. 5 minute walk from hotel. There is also a large Tesco nearby. Breakfast was good but a tea or coffee making facility would be appreciated, It is quite noisy outside with revellers on a Friday night from the Village pub getting taxis etc.

Room Tip: Try to get room away from stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dleeh456, General Manager at Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Kathy - Thank you for your feedback. We are really sorry that the pool fault led to a closure and a compete refill, this is only the second time in 12 years but it was a challenge and took several days to get back to normal with the temperature etc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed here on the 7th of April. Hotel was average. Poor check in process, wasn't even asked if we required a newspaper in the morning. Room was OK, could do with some freshening up, strange feet marks on the wall. We paid for dinner bed and breakfast. The restaurant was shut so we had to eat at the bar. Was not ideal as the TV was up full blast. Staff in the bar were not aware of how to process the dinner rate food. It ended up taking two hours to get someone to sort out our food order. Our 3 year old son was not impressed especially when the pub quiz started!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamTam007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dleeh456, General Manager at Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear Guest - I was sorry to learn that your Sunday evening stay failed to meet your needs. The Verve Grill closes on Sundays but you should have been made aware of this when you made you booking. I am sorry that this appears to have been not the case. We have shared your comments with the team and will do much better with the issue you had with allocations described in your report. In the meantime, if you would like to email me directly, I will organise a return Sunday stay with my compliments. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The bed was very comfy! Bathroom decor tired and in need of redecoration but clean. Strangely everywhere is painted grey which is a little dark and dismissal. We ate in the pub where service was slow, food ok but the menu consisted mostly of sandwiches and burgers.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lallysl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dleeh456, General Manager at Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience of Village Dudley. We have shared your feedback with our brand team who amongst many things agree colour schemes and menus. Whilst these are outside of our local control we were pleased to read you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Close your eyes and you could be in any of this groups hotels.... With that said the service & staff look after you very well . Location is ideal for Dudley centre or pasting through.. Hotels have Sky for that Monday night football

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BMorriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dleeh456, General Manager at Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for your comments. As a branded group, VILLAGE Urban Resorts strive to deliver exactly the same product with great service across all 25 hotels. This is pretty much what set out and train our teams to do. Hopefully the hotels offer a local a twist (including regional food specials and local ales etc) and this combined with our knowledgable and helpful staff is our strength. Its a reassured concept that we work hard to acheive. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I often book here on Sunday nights because the prices on Bookings.com are generally very good then. Last time I paid under £50 for bed & breakfast. I have stayed in better & friendlier hotels but the Village does what is says on the tin, clean & comfortable rooms and an OK breakfast, which would be much better cooked to order, but it seems all big hotels are now going for the hot buffet approach. I'm staying there again next week so let's see how they do then.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lonamike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dleeh456, General Manager at Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

IronMike - Thanks for your feedback. We tend to provide a buffet breakfast simply because of the huge volume of guests wishing to eat at the same time (between 150 and 250 on peak mornings). This does tend to make life easier, reducing waiting times and reducing our staff overheads allowing us to pass on competative prices to our customers. It also means you can take as little or as much as you require which some guests like. We will review the provision on Sundays as this tends to be the quietest day of the week and we could probably deliver a better provision if cooked to order. Thanks for sharing the thought and we look forward to seeing you next week.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Returned and stayed in an upgraded UpperDeck room in March 2013. We were greated by the reception team who remembered us from a previous stay and welcomed us back.

The Upper Deck room was fantastic, nothing spared when it comes to comfort, with bottled water and Starbucks coffee with biscotti biscuits in the room, Sky Movies HD and wifi Internet access. The rooms were separated from the main rooms which meant you did not have any noise from the main hotel.

Breakfast was included, which was a fantastic end to our stay. Definitely worth paying that little bit extra, and will be visiting again.

Room Tip: If you feel like spoiling yourselves then book Upper Deck for your next stay, rooms are quiet
See more room tips

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank EdenBlewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dleeh456, General Manager at Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thanks for sharing your review. Delighted to read an honest account of the £20 upgrade to Uppr Deck. We look forward to welclming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dudley
2.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley
0.1 mi away
The Quality Hotel Dudley
0.3 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#6 of 7 in Dudley
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Kingswinford
5.4 mi away
Novotel Wolverhampton
Novotel Wolverhampton
#6 of 21 in Wolverhampton
946 reviews
5.4 mi away
Village Hotel Birmingham Walsall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley

Address: Birmingham Road | Castlegate Park, Dudley DY1 4TB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Dudley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Dudley
Price Range: $49 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley is situated on the A461, near to Dudley Centre and close to lots of attractions. The children will love the animals at Dudley Zoo. Everyone will enjoy a trip to the massive new Bullring Shopping Mall in the centre of Birmingham. You can also enjoy a stroll along Birmingham's canals and walkways, or visit the world renowned Ironbridge Living Museum. Within a short distance the unique Half Penny Green Vineyard is open to visitors. Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley has 124 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Squash Court, 25 metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel And Leisure Dudley
Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing