We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ann's Thai

Ann's Thai
Ranked #8 of 156 Restaurants in Dudley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $19
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Welcomes to mini Thailand. The bulls head in bilston street,sedgley is a traditional English pub. Come along and try our selection of real Ales (as approved by Camra) and dine in our authentic Thai Restaurant (Awarded 2014certificate of Excellence on tripadvisor) Whether you looking for a drink or a meal - or indeed both - then you can be assured of awarm welcome at the bull's head and Ann's Thai Restaurant. Beer-gardens and Free parking at the back of the pub . We hope to see you soon..
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We don't live in the area but had to kill a few hours while our daughter went to a nearby wedding reception, so we came on trip advisor and went for the top restaurant. It certainly deserves its rating, the service was impeccable and the food outstanding. Every meal I saw looked delicious, but the peanut curry I had was to die for. I can't recommend this place enough- well done!!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    64
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very impressed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We booked this for our daughters 23rd birthday. 4 adults dined.
The restaurant is at the back of the Bulls Head Pub in Sedgley.
Friendly welcome, shown to table on time.
We were given plenty of time to order.
The food was beautifully presented and of the best quality
It was all full of flavour with not a trace of MSG anywhere.
The staff were helpful and attentive and they smiled all through service.
We were very impressed and will be returning to this branch or the sister restaurant in Walsall.
A real treat. We were served a 3 course meal each , the bill came to £75 excl drinks.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherrybaby_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good value, food middling”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Perhaps our expectations were too high after reading all these glowing reviews, but we didn't feel the food quite hit the spot. The value is very good, especially the wine, which is the cheapest I've seen in a UK restaurant in years (£7ish for a perfectly good bottle of wine!). Service was friendly and efficient.

Food portions were quite generous but we both found the flavouring very sweet, with a corresponding lack of the salt and sour tastes you expect in Thai cooking. We enjoyed our evening, but wouldn't rush to go back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulFranks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“New chef, even better food. Dudley's hidden Gem restaurant !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We discovered Ann's Thai more than a year ago when she employed one of the best Thai chefs in England in her kitchen. as my older reviews attest, the food was breathtaking.

Ann and Mee parted ways, and Ann has found a new Chef. We wanted to be sure to give the new chef a real family test !

We arrived at 18:45 to find we were in time for "the early bird special", where any menu starter or main course could be obtained for only ten pounds. Hard to fault !

The three of us ordered :
Starters: Chicken Satay - tender and aromatic with lovely rich peanut sauce
Plum sauce chicken wings: glazed with sweetness, but savoury and moist.
Tempura Squid: fresh and light, beautifully seasoned.

So far so good !
Entrees:

Green Chicken curry with Coconut rice: perfect, fiery, creamy with crunchy al dente veg in it. Fantastic food.

Beef salad: fiery, crunchy, aniseedy goodness. My favourite dish on earth presented beautifully.
Chicken pad Thai : hearty and warming
Chicken stir fry: aromatic and textured, lovely
Sweet & Sour chicken. Light, fresh sweet but never cloying.

I can honestly say that the food is a little more rustic than under Mee, but is all the better for it. Even better textures and richer flavours than before.

Add to this the still amazing quality and value of the Bull's Head drinks service and the Family test" was passed with flying colours. I cannot recommend Anns Thai any more highly. excellent. Go and try it !

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ormstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food, Service and Value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Well what can I say! Our first visit and certainly not the last! The food was fantastic, Ann's hospitality and friendliness was second to none and great value, 15% off Monday to Wednesday but to be honest is more than reasonable without this! Not advertised anywhere so all by word of mouth, if your looking for a great Thai meal you must give this a try!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank AndyCaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ann's Thai also viewed

Dudley, West Midlands
Dudley, West Midlands
 
Dudley, West Midlands
Dudley, West Midlands
 
Dudley, West Midlands
Dudley, West Midlands
 

Been to Ann's Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing