We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good day out. Staff could be more cheerful.”

Dudley Zoo and Castle
Ranked #2 of 24 things to do in Dudley
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
357 reviews
138 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“A good day out. Staff could be more cheerful.”
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my partner went to Dudley Zoo on the 17th March.

It's quite expensive to get in considering its quite run down. Very few places for food or drink so make sure you use the map to ensure you aren't too far away when hunger or thirst strikes.

A good variance of animals. The castle could be capable of so much more if they only planned things out. I guess budget must be tight. I hope the lottery funding comes through soon and things are improved.

Overall enjoyed the visit and will go back
In a few years to see how things have hopefully improved.

We spent about 4 hours walking round so make sure you allow plenty of time.

Helpful?
Thank Danny748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,716 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    686
    606
    238
    104
    82
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“I love Dudley Zoo :-)”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

brilliant day out expect to spend at least 3-4 hours here they have all sorts of animals from lemurs to tigers to orangutans and monkeys. I did the zoo keeperfor a day which was the best experience ever i fed the lions, flew the owls, fed the sealions and chimps and much more. Theres so much to see really is worth going

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tinac26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great attraction in a fantastic setting that is trying very hard with it's anim”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I have been coming to this Zoo since I was a small child but it had been several years since my last visit.

First and foremost this zoo is operating under limited funds and does not have the dramatic impact of somewhere like Chester. However most of the problems here are to do with cosmetics and not animal welfare. People report on tripadvisor as though they have some learned authority on animal husbandry, when in reality they are basing their their opinions on whether or not the enclosures look nice.

When i visited this zoo a few months ago I observed animals that appeared fit, healthy, active and more importantly were successfully breeding. Animlas will generally not raise young under stressful conditions and Dudley Zoo has an excellent breeding record. Those who say this Zoo is not caring properly for it's animals are ill informed, ignorant and misguided.

It is true that a lot of the enclosures need an overhaul to make them more aesthetically pleasing to visitors but most buildings on the site are listed and require careful and expensive restoration. The zoo is choosing to spend it's limited funds on looking after the animals even at the expense of pleasing the visitors sense of aesthetics.

Issues of peeling paint aside. Dudley Zoo is a great day out. The castle is a wondefully dramatic rambling ruin and the way in which the animal enclosures tumble around it's hillside is lovely. There are some great species to look at here including many rare and endangered animals. It is possible to get very good views of all the animals and observe loads of interesting behaviour. The keepers work really hard to provide the best possible care and the more visitors they get, the more money they will have to make improvements.

As long as you can see past the shabbyness of certain areas of the zoo this makes a wonderful and exotic day out in the heart of the Black Country. Go there and see for yourself, and armchair Virginia Mckennas make sure you are better informed before passing such critical judgements!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank DanielHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redditch
Level Contributor
50 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“great day out”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

ive not been to dudley for many years , and had a great day there on saturday, lots to see
i went with my six year old daughter and she enjoyed it , its a good family day out and at a fair
price

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank happydadroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
“I love dudley zoo”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I love dudley zoo. First time i went today and after reading the reviews i was a little apprehensive but the place is brilliant. Animals were out and about and the sun was shining . The only thing we didn't see was the bear but for the price its worth going again to see if i can see him. Food and drink from the cafe is good value for money and clean. Ok some of the enclosures could do with a bit of work but you can see work is on going and you must remember it needs funding. Monkey tails made my day worth the entrance fee for that alone. Could of spent all day in there. The squirrel monkeys are so cute and we caught them having an afternoon snack.

Helpful?
Thank chrissiHorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dudley Zoo and Castle also viewed

 

Been to Dudley Zoo and Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing