We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Quality Hotel Dudley
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Dudley
Boscastle
2 reviews
“Comfortable Hotel”
Reviewed February 4, 2011

Comfortable Hotel, helpful and polite staff, clean room, and sensible rates, what more can you ask?

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROBLLOYDZIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennyCornwell, Front Office Manager at The Quality Hotel Dudley, responded to this review, February 8, 2011
Thank you for leaving a comment on Tripadvisor.

Thank you for your lovely review, everything you have mentioned from the comfortable Hotel, helpful and polite staff, clean room, and sensible rates is everything that we aim to achieve so I am glad we have been able to. We will hopefully look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    80
    73
    65
    106
See reviews for
77
120
22
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 21, 2011

my stay at the hotel was comfortable and and the service was really good the morning breakfast service was a pleasure the young lady pam was a star she made people feel so welcome and nothing was too much trouble a real pleasure to have met and been looked after by her many thanks all staff were helpful and polite and happy to help

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b177yboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennyCornwell, Front Office Manager at The Quality Hotel Dudley, responded to this review, January 23, 2011
Thank you for your recent comment on Tripadvisor.

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding the Comfort, the Service, and the Breakfast, all of these comments will be shown to the staff members involved who I am sure will be delighted to read the nice comments you mentioned Especially Pam who has been mentioned personally.
It’s always nice to know that we our making our guests stay a welcoming and happy one.
We are delighted to say that we have recently appointed a new Head Chef as well as a Food and beverage Manager so your comments regarding the breakfast will let them know that their succeeding in meeting our guest’s high standards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 17, 2010

Recently had a works christmas party here, had such a wonderful night!
The tables looked lovely, the staff were polite, friendly and very attentive. The food was nice but could of been bigger portions (we are a greedy bunch !)
Would like to say thankyou to laura who couldnt have made the night any better, and thankyou to the waitress's, also to the djs who made dancing away till 1am worth the aching feet!
What a great way to end a working year!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guesty1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennyCornwell, Front Office Manager at The Quality Hotel Dudley, responded to this review, December 22, 2010
Thank you for your recent comment on Tripadvisor.


Firstly thank you for your lovely comments. It is always nice to know that our hard work is paying off, ensuring that you our guests have a great time with us. I have passed your comment on to the Food & Beverage department especially Laura who was extremely happy to receive such a nice review. We hope to welcome you back soon in the mean time have a great Christmas & New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2010

Didn't get to stay at this hotel due to the worst snow in recent history. Having booked two nights accomodation for work I found I would be unable to get to Dudley due to cancelled trains and extremely dangerous driving conditions. I contacted the hotel 2 days prior to my booking to cancel. I was horrified to discover that the hotel does not have a cancellation policy and instead takes immediate payment prior to arrival which is unrefunable or unexchangeable. The hotel staff were very rude and appeared to have no customer service training. After a 2 day battle on the phone I managed to talk the manager into giving me a refund for 1 of the 2 nights. One week later I got my bank statement and discovered that not only had they charged me for the 2 nights accomodation they also taken another £45 from my bank account (this is paramount to thief!). Eventually I got the agreed refund after more arguements and stress. I would never consider staying at this hotel and I would not reccomend that anybody else stay here if they want to be treated like a human being.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oppack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennyCornwell, Front Office Manager at The Quality Hotel Dudley, responded to this review, December 13, 2010
Thank you for leaving a comment on Tripadvisor.

Most of our rates are fully flexible being able to cancel them free of charge up until 2pm on the day of arrival. The rate you choose as advertised was one of our advance payment options which is considerably cheaper than our flexible rate and does state it is non refundable or changeable hence why it is a lower price.
As a gesture of good will because of the snow our operations manger agreed to refund one night for you. Unfortunately a mistake was made when processing the refund due to an error with our PDQ machine and a charge was made instead of a refund. When the hotel was advised of this you received our sincerest of apologies and the problem was rectified straight away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
1 review
Reviewed December 9, 2010

Just back from a great weekend visiting Dudley and staying at the Quality Hotel, Dudley.
Hotel was of a great standard for the rate we paid cleanliness and service were exceptional. We were checked in by the hotel manager who greeted us after a very tiring shopping day who kindly brought drinks to our room as the hotel bar was very busy. We decided to eat dinner out at one of the close by restaurant's but ate breakfast on Sunday morning which set us up great for a final shopping day and our journey home. All in all we had a great weekend and would like to personally thank the Vickie for ensuring we had a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swhitlock348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennyCornwell, Front Office Manager at The Quality Hotel Dudley, responded to this review, December 22, 2010
Thank you for your recent comment on Tripadvisor.

Firstly thank you for your lovely comments regarding the Hotel, Cleanliness & staff. I’m glad you had such a good time here with us at the Quality hotel. I have passed your comments onto Vickie who was extremely happy to know you had such a good time while staying with us. Hopefully we will look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2010

Stayed here as part of a group booking to the Christmas Market in Birmingham which was excellent. The hotel however was a disgrace. We had 29 rooms booked including evening meal and breakfast for 47 guests. First of all I have to say most of the staff were pleasant and helpful. When things went wrong however, the management were very unhelpful.
6pm. Check-in. Quick and efficient. Excellent polite receptionist. Meal choices selected for that evenings meal on check in. Good start.
Rooms. Disaster. A whole floor of our rooms were not cleaned and ready. We entered our double room to find it in a disgusting state. Beer cans strewn around. Bathroom filthy. Beds filthy. Lamps upturned. Just who on earth leaves a room in this state anyway! And why wasn't it checked before allocating it to a new customer!! We were eventually given an alternative room which although only a twin was at least clean.
7.30pm Bar for a pre-dinner drink. 1. No draught beers!! 2.Took 20 minutes to get served. There were only 8 people in the bar. 3.The glasses were dirty. Surely nothing else could go wrong.
8pm Restaurant. Remember meal choices were pre booked. It was 8.40 before the starter arrived on our table. We had not seen any waiting staff before this time. One starter quite frankly was a joke. Described in fancy terms as an Orange something or other what actually arrived was a bowl of orange and grapefruit segments. The mains arrived at gone 9pm. To be fair it was hot and most of the veg were cooked except the parsnips which were raw in the middle. We didn't wait for the dessert deciding to give the bar another go. IT WAS LOCKED!!! Complaints were made to the restaurant manager who was unhelpful and dismissive.
Breakfast the next morning was fine. Choice of buffet style cooked english, toast yogurts etc.
In summary. There were not enough staff to cater for the number of people in residence. Management of this hotel is very poor. Individual staff members were doing there very best in difficult circumstances but you would have to pay me to stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanMac55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2010

Stayed here for one night to visit the Dudley Winter Ales Festival. Good location, only 15 minutes walk into the town. Room was comfortable and we slept well - although the beer may have helped! Very helpful receptionist who gave us a town plan and advised us on the easiest walking route to the venue. Bathroom is due an update, but everything worked fine. Breakfast was generous and quite acceptable, but it's best not to leave fried eggs standing on the hotplate for too long until they develop a crust!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelwearyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennyCornwell, Front Office Manager at The Quality Hotel Dudley, responded to this review, December 8, 2010
Thank you for your recent comment on Tripadvisor.
Firstly thank you for your lovely comments regarding the location, the room, the receptionist, and it being value for money all of these comments will be shown to the staff members involved who I am sure will be delighted to read the nice comments you mentioned.
With regards to the bathroom it is something the hotel is looking to invest a lot of money in (hopefully as soon as the recession dies down) in the mean time we have a maintenance team in 6 days a week keeping everywhere as fresh as possible.
We are delighted to say that we have recently appointed a new Food and beverage Manager so your comments regaling the breakfast will help us to improve on areas were guests think the standards could be higher.

I am really glad that you had a good time whilst staying here and we will hopefully look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dudley
0.2 mi away
Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley
0.5 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dudley
226 reviews
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Kingswinford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Dudley
Travelodge Birmingham Dudley
#2 of 2 in Brierley Hill
98 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury M5 Jct.2
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quality Hotel Dudley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quality Hotel Dudley

Property: The Quality Hotel Dudley
Address: Birmingham Road, Dudley DY1 4RN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Dudley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Dudley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Quality Hotel Dudley 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel's located in the heart of the West Midlands and the Black Country, once the centre of industry in Great Britain and the world. We are just 2 miles from Jct 2 M5 & 4miles from Jct 9 M6 motorways, & have great local public transport links right outside our door.The hotel boasts 72 ensuite bedrooms, a combination of doubles, twins & family bedrooms, all with flat screen TV's, tea&coffee making facilities, trouser press, free high speed Wi-Fi internet access throughout, free car parking, 24hr reception, & a full service restaurant.The hotel is within easy walking distance to great local attractions including Dudley Zoo, The Black Country Museum, and the Dudley Canal and Limestone Mines.Vibrant & exciting Birmingham city centre is less than 20mins away by car; the train station is only 1 mile from our hotel, regular service takes you into Birmingham in 10 mins with having no worries about parking charges either. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Quality Hotel Dudley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Dudley
Quality Hotel Dudley
The Quality Hotel Dudley United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing