We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visiting relatives”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Quality Hotel Dudley
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Dudley
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Visiting relatives”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel as it accepts dogs and wanted to take our two toy poodles.
Although the linen including the towels were good the pillows were like bricks and the mattress awful. As we were on the ground floor we could not leave windows open, the Quilt was too heavy and so we were too hot.
The curtains were hanging off their hooks and I had to climb on the chair to hook them up before these were drawn or light came in from the main road.
The carpet smelt like a wet dog but you only smelt it when you were in bed I assume as you were nearer to the floor! I am of the understanding that is why a charge is made for dogs, we paid £5.00 per dog, so the hotel then use specialist cleaning products after any stay of a dog, even if they are clean, as ours are. We declined to pay for breakfast as this part of the hotel is not dog friendly and meant that we either sat alone and ate individually or carried through to our room, not very good.
Poor value for money, would not recommend , would not stay again. Some attention to detail is needed.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank sanfairyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick W, Guest Relations Manager at The Quality Hotel Dudley, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest
Thanks for taking the time to post a review from your recent stay here, please accept my apologies for the issues raised. We do welcome guests with dogs & are a dog friendly hotel however we must respect our other guests & basic health and food safety laws when our restaurant and breakfast area is concerned. Dogs are not allowed in these areas.
Our maintenance team are attedning to the points raised regarding your ensuite bedroom.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    80
    73
    65
    106
See reviews for
77
120
22
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Teesside
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Easy to access, but in need of attention and in my opinion definitely not a family hotel.
It is clean but the furniture and curtains have seen better days and those in my room needed to be replaced.
The bathrooms are spacious but the water pressure leaves a lot to be desired especially if you like to shower.
The food is tasty and cooked with a positive Indian touch, however the restaurant can in no way shape or form be said to have any ambiance and is not the place where you would choose to eat unless there you had no other option.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick W, Guest Relations Manager at The Quality Hotel Dudley, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Allan
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review from your recent stay here with us. We have plans in place to upgrade our curtains and furntiture in our ensuite bedrooms some are worse than others but I agree they do need attention.
We are a very busy midweek hotel for the West Midlands and Black Country area however we are located very conveniently for some great attractions locally including Black Country Museum, Dudley Zoo, West Mids Safari Park, the fabulous Ruskin Glass Centre in Stourbridge & of course Birmingham city centre

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Room and linen were clean and generally ok however the shower didn't work.When we arrived we had to wait over 10 minutes for someone to appear at reception.The breakfast was rubbish,we went down to the breakfast room and were just left to stand around , it was very unwelcoming. The dining area was untidy and generally unclean with dirty cutlery. There were no glasses and no offer of a hot a hot drink, we even had to ask for bread for the toaster.there were 2 people working in the dining area and neither of them appeared to be bothered to do anything with all the used plates etc on other tables, in fact we could overhear them having an argument in Polish at one point.The breakfast was very ordinary with the sausages appearing to be just cooked,hopefully.
Go to the village hotel across the road if you have the chance

Room Tip: go to the village hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vsc0tt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick W, Guest Relations Manager at The Quality Hotel Dudley, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest
Thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay here and please accept my apologies that your stay did not meet with your expectations.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

First of all the staff are very rude on reception actin like they can't b bothered to speak or do nothing... Rooms are average id say worth there money beds r always clean but the rooms are deffo out of date now...the corridors are not all that they smell an the walk is silly to get to a room... Seen prositutes goin to rooms with men... But overall id stay again but pay no more than 40 pound for the room

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou3108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick W, Guest Relations Manager at The Quality Hotel Dudley, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Hello Lou3108
Many thanks for posting a review regarding your recent stay with us, please accept my apologies that your stay did not meet with your expectations.

However you have indicated that you would stay again providing the rate would not exceed £40.00.

We have very competitive rates especially for weekends, staying a Friday, Saturday or Sunday night can be from as little as £35.00RO for an advance purchase rate deal.

Keep looking out for these great rates online & I hope that we can offer a better welcome for you next time you stay.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CORNWALL
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed there with my son on recent visit to alton towers .
it is located just off the motorway with good link roads to all local attractions
they have a wonderful restaurant and a nice bar .
we booked a twin which was much better than we had to put up with alton towers hotels
we tried the offer to a spa / gym/ pool which was very good
and found local cinecomplex with lots of restaurants for lunch again across the road
will be using as a stop over as we live in cornwall and it is centrally located

Room Tip: try the ones facing the back of the hotel so you can open the windows during the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sinbadsaol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick W, Guest Relations Manager at The Quality Hotel Dudley, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Hello Sinbad
Many thanks for posting your review of your stay with us recently and great to hear that you had a real enjoyable stay here along with your son.

We are just 5 minutes from Jct 2 M5 motorway & ideally placed for covering the whole of the West Midlands area, Birmingham, Cadbury World, Black Country Museum, Dudley Zoo even Ironbridge Gorge World heritage site's not far from us.

There's absolutely loads to do in the Black Country region............ come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I stayed here and it has to be said, with some trepidation.

The Quality hotel is definitely a tale of two halves with the staff and restaurant on one side and the building itself on the other.

The staff were great, couldn't do enough to help, very attentive and extremely friendly. The restaurant was a revelation, how they can turn out meals of that quality, at those prices amazed me. I had some of the nicest food I've ever had in a restaurant.

The rooms were okay, nothing special, but as the saying goes, you get what you pay for.

The downsides were an issue and here are the things I didn't like with suggestions

Smell - yes there were strange smells in corridors. A deep clean and airing would help
Showers - the fixed heads are the wrong height for everyone, please replace with flexible as rooms are being refitted
Beds - very tired and saggy. Would end fit from a replacement program
Cleanliness - mainly spotless, but the fans in the bathrooms were full of dust and the information folders had water stains and pages stuck together
Doors - a lot of banging doors to keep you awake. My room door wasn't a great fit so you had to bang to close. A small thing but kept waking me up. Hire a carpenter for a few Amy's and get them to rehang all doors that require banging closed

I think the hotel is adequate, but without deep clean and a program of renovation is likely to go downhill fast

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arobajase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick W, Guest Relations Manager at The Quality Hotel Dudley, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Hello
Many thanks for posting your review from your recent stay here with us good to hear that you were impressed with some aspects of your stay & that there were others where you were not so.

I have forwarded your review through to the GM here, she will be putting plans in place that will tackle areas that you have detailed for improvements.

Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We have just got back from spending the weekend in Dudley. Our main attraction was the 1940 Blitz weekend at the Black country museum, we thought we would stop over night, so booked the Quaility Hotel on Birmingham road Dudley. The first port of call was the receptionist a Kim Morris, she couldn't do enough for us so helpful. The room was very clean and very spacious, tea and coiffee facilities. Wi-fi had a good night's sleep . Our breakfast was well presented, all cooked to our liking as much as we could eat. well worth staying over ,We'll be going back.

Room Tip: We stayed in 302 , ground floor large suite,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francesstaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick W, Guest Relations Manager at The Quality Hotel Dudley, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Hello Frances
Thanks for posting a review of your recent stay with us and great to hear that you received a standard of service that exceeded your expectations.

All our staff work extremely hard to provide the best service and an overall happy hotel experience for all guests, your kind comments will be well appreciated.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dudley
0.2 mi away
Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley
0.5 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dudley
226 reviews
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Kingswinford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Dudley
Travelodge Birmingham Dudley
#2 of 2 in Brierley Hill
98 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury M5 Jct.2
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quality Hotel Dudley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quality Hotel Dudley

Property: The Quality Hotel Dudley
Address: Birmingham Road, Dudley DY1 4RN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Dudley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Dudley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Quality Hotel Dudley 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel's located in the heart of the West Midlands and the Black Country, once the centre of industry in Great Britain and the world. We are just 2 miles from Jct 2 M5 & 4miles from Jct 9 M6 motorways, & have great local public transport links right outside our door.The hotel boasts 72 ensuite bedrooms, a combination of doubles, twins & family bedrooms, all with flat screen TV's, tea&coffee making facilities, trouser press, free high speed Wi-Fi internet access throughout, free car parking, 24hr reception, & a full service restaurant.The hotel is within easy walking distance to great local attractions including Dudley Zoo, The Black Country Museum, and the Dudley Canal and Limestone Mines.Vibrant & exciting Birmingham city centre is less than 20mins away by car; the train station is only 1 mile from our hotel, regular service takes you into Birmingham in 10 mins with having no worries about parking charges either. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Quality Hotel Dudley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Dudley
Quality Hotel Dudley
The Quality Hotel Dudley United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing