We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tough Steak !!!!”
Review of Saltwells Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dudley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Saltwells Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Dudley B&B and Inns
Blackpool
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Tough Steak !!!!”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Visiting friends, they invited us to a meal at this hotel as it had a good reputation, there was 10 of us in total and arrived at 7.30 to a near empty restaurant. Everything went wrong from the start, from the meals arriving with the wrong combinations on the plate to a medium rare steak being well done and tough. When complained they apologised, took the plate away and brought back a fresh steak which was also over cooked !!. It was their steak special night, the steaks were so thin, like the ones you buy off a car boot butchers, 3 of the steaks were tough, a lamb steak was tough but amazingly the other 6 dishes, lamb shanks, fish etc were lovely ( prob pre packed Wetherspoons type food ). The pepper sauce was so thick you could stand a chip in it.
The friend who took us there was so embarassed ( as his steak was also tough ) he is now informing his friends to keep away from the place. Get yourself a decent butcher, decent steaks, most people dont mind paying an extra couple of quid for quality, staff who concentrate on the job in hand and you may start to build a good reputation for yourselves. Very disapointed and feel very sorry for our friend who recommended this amateur restaurant/cafe to us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    13
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
14
8
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Visited this week after an enjoyable walk in the area. This pub is tucked away off Coppice Lane, and is a hidden gem. We had a cheap and cheerful carvery priced at £3-99-who can argue with that? A great selection of quality real ales and two roaring log fires. Very homely and well used pub, due in no small part to the friendliness of the welcome given by the bar staff. Couldn't fault.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The staff were very friendly and pleasant. I had a terrible migraine when I arrived and the staff were quick to find me a paracetamol and a glass of iced water to take to bed.

The room was small, warm, fine for a night or two, with a wardrobe and had its own shower room, the room was in a fair condition, the shower room was fairly new, but closer attention could of being paid to cleaning it. The biggest down side was that the mattress in the room was really uncomfortable with big springs.

Breakfast was simple, cheap and pleasant, toast, cereals, sausages, bacon, eggs, fruit juice, tea or coffee.

We paid 45.00 for a double room and breakfast. I was happy to pay this price. I would stay here again if I was working in the area.

The location is good, just 10 minutes walk to the shopping center and about 20 minutes walk to the train station, there is a short cut both directions, through the woodland nature reserve, which is a pleasant enough walk.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy20102010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The saltwells is set back quite a way from the main road,it reminded me of a trip to the local landfill tip years ago as a child down a narrow lane,and strangely upon our arrival i was not suprised as we met with a baron run down publichouse and masses of fly tipped rubbish dumped over the carpark wall.As were walking to the door there was a smell of venting rancid cooking oil from the kitchen on the front of the building.the first bad sign was the dripping black oil from the vent above my head.the smell wafted through the building as we entered into the brightly lit boutique 1970s bar and restaurant,styled in fire-engine red and gloss white decor.we sat at an empty free table to look at menus and order drinks only to be told to move as they were reserved by a young waitress who had no manners(or reserved table signs). i ordered cajun chicken and chips,delivered to the table in good waiting time,the peas were stewed to an olive green and the chips were greasy, soggy and tasted of fish from dirty unchanged frying oil.
"The butterflied cajun chicken was tasty and cooked just right,though no garnish in site"!
Terrible amosphere! average food.! do not venture off the beaten track to eat here but definitely turn off and visit if you have a couple of bags of rubbish you need to dump over the wall .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinselBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

We live local and visit often. The food is always served piping hot and the service is excellent. Value for money , good food.
Nice overall experience , well done to all those involved in running the place. Well worth booking a coach party.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Busterchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Over the last ten years or so it has been my pleasure to dine out at the " Saltwells " and have always found the food and service to be a good standard. Today I have dined out yet again with the wife, Sunday roast lunch, dessert and tea for less than £12 for the pair of us, whilst the menu would probably not impress Mr Ramsay this is not always a bad thing. I can reccomend the Saltwells to anyone looking for good honest black country food and hospitality. Arrive early as this place is very popular !

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jon068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

I stayed overnight, at Saltwells Inn, Brierley Hill, Dudleys to visit to the 'Black Country' .
Walk the former canals, visit trade & industry sites, museums in Dudley,
(including Black Country Living Museum).
If conduct also 'retail therapy' sorties, on local retail development centres: Merry Hill.
Accommodation basic, yet comfortable at a 'budget' price, have a pub meal in or dine out..

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dudley
0.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Dudley
Travelodge Birmingham Dudley
#2 of 2 in Brierley Hill
99 reviews
2.7 mi away
Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury M5 Jct.2
2.6 mi away
The Quality Hotel Dudley
3.6 mi away
Silverdale Hotel
Silverdale Hotel
#1 of 4 in Dudley
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saltwells Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saltwells Inn

Property: Saltwells Inn
Address: Saltwells, Dudley DY5 1AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Dudley
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Dudley
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Saltwells Inn Dudley, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing