We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Toll House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Toll House Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Perfectly located (handy for buses, and just across the road from the canal cruise station) period building with really pleasant staff, great service and a lovely room. Less than £4 in a taxi from the train station. Did exactly what it says on the tin - we were specific at the time of booking about a twin room not too much walking distance from the lift and that's exactly what was waiting for us. The lift is silent, the beds are great and we slept really well. The room was lovely and of a good size for two people, and the secondary glazing meant very little outside noise. A couple of minor noise occurrences within the hotel but they were insignificant (noise from water pipes in adjacent rooms running showers - of short duration and common in any period property, and the usual noise of people coming and going from other rooms, again completely expectable in a hotel and in no way a disturbance). The AC worked well and we could get the room temperature exactly as we wanted it. Tiny issue with the bathroom floor but this was noted for addressing immediately we let staff know. The bathroom is not a uniform square (period building again - perfectly in order) and Kate Moss I aint (!) but there' was still plenty of space and a good-sized drench shower which was lovely. The food was excellent and from a wide ranging but well-sized menu, there 6 real ales on which were all great and everything was served by knowledgeable staff to whom nothing seemed to be too much bother - in fact, it's worth saying again that the staff definitely shine here. Another thumbs up from us for the fresh milk flasks, and the chef is 3 for 3 with perfectly poached eggs! Everyone was really helpful with local gen for places to go and how best to get there. A joy to stay in, particularly as this was our first visit to Lancaster. We will be back, and it will be to stay here - excellent.

Room Tip: Room 8 was on the first floor one room away from the lift and looks out over the back (ie not over t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FeesonsTart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Paul Spencer - Manager at Toll House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Would you like a job as our copy writer for our next brochure? Many thanks for your detailed and wholly representative review about Penny Street. We aim to please and seem to have ticked your boxes this time!

Kind regards,
Paul Spencer - Manager and all the team at Penny Street Bridge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (530)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 530 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

I was disappointed in this place - it has good ratings and is in Sawdays guide. The room was nicely decorated but a bit cramped with not much space to get around furniture and bathroom also quite awkward to go in and out of. Most disappointing was the service at breakfast though. I was asked if I wanted tea and coffee and then just left, I eventually had to ask if I could order food.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twowives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Paul Spencer - Manager at Toll House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

I'm sorry that we didn't live up to your expectations - we do have one or two quirky rooms due to the original layout of the listed building but you can always request a larger room when booking.

Kind regards,
Paul Spencer - Manager and all the team at Penny Street Bridge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Our few days in Lancaster was very enjoyable and staying at Penny Street Bridge was a really good experience. The staff were efficient, friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the area. The food was excellent, particularly the large choice available at breakfast

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ella0411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Paul Spencer - Manager at Toll House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thanks for your great all round review - hopefully your breakfast kept you going throughout the day!

Kind regards,
Paul Spencer - Manager and all the team at Penny Street Bridge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Ideal position to the town centre and the university, cannot fault the staff in any way as really helpful and friendly but found the hotel a bit expensive for a disappointingly small room, could really do with a refurbishment and an update, Disappointed and unlikely to go back

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris0772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Paul Spencer - Manager at Toll House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you for your kind words about our staff. I’m sorry you were disappointed with the size of the room, our room rates are based on our occupancy rate not the classification of the room and so it might have been that you experienced the negative side of this, we would like to welcome you back to stay with us again and recommend booking early to get the best available rate. Our rooms are refurbished on a cyclical basis and so I’m sorry that you perhaps did not experience the room at its best.

Kind regards,
Paul Spencer – Manager and all the team at Penny Street Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed here with friends in July. I was worried when I went in my room that it was opposite "Revolution Bar". However, I needn't have, as the windows don't let a sound in (and this was a Saturday night stay too). Hotel is quite strict about check in time, none of our 4 rooms were ready any earlier. However, its a lovely hotel, great staff, good breakfast. Would stay again - very relaxing. Its opposite the lovely canal too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerbyshireRoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Paul Spencer - Manager at Toll House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

I’m glad you enjoyed your stay, we are very conscious of our surroundings hence the triple glazing! With check in times we will always try and check you in as soon as your room is ready, it must have been a particularly busy departure day on the day of your arrival so I’m sorry we weren’t able to check you in straight away.

Kind regards,
Paul Spencer – Manager and all the team at Penny Street Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Enjoyed our 2 night stay, room very comfortable, breakfast was excellent, especially the black pudding! Parking facilities directly across from hotel, charges not expensive, would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Paul Spencer - Manager at Toll House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you for your review, hopefully we will see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Paul Spencer – Manager and all the team at Penny Street Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My chaotic family stayed here a couple of weeks ago including our 2 under 5s and we all LOVED it. The staff were patient and friendly with our overtired kids. The rooms were great - stylish-clean - comfy and a connecting door to the kids.
We had dinner bed and breakfast. All Good.

Room Tip: Ask for family room and they have 2 rooms with connecting doors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goldiecampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Paul Spencer - Manager at Toll House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

What can we say! Thank you for this lovely review we know how hard it can be to travel with children so will always do our best to help!

Kind regards,
Paul Spencer – Manager and all the team at Penny Street Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lancaster
2.7 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 6 in Lancaster
1,390 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 6 in Lancaster
1,088 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#6 of 6 in Lancaster
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Lancaster Central Hotel
4.3 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toll House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toll House Inn

Address: 120 Penny Street, Lancaster LA1 1XT, England (Formerly Penny Street Bridge)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster District > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range: $106 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Toll House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Lancaster, Toll House Inn is a popular hotel full of character and charm. We've a relaxed and contemporary atmosphere but have maintained many historic features. Each of our rooms are uniquely shaped and unlike the other. All rooms are equipped with all the small details that make it a home away from home. And in the morning you'll awake to a hearty Lancashire breakfast. Downstairs is our popular bar and restaurant which serves locally sourced dishes alongside a fantastic range of cask ales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Toll House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penny Street Bridge Hotel Lancaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing