We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Penny Bridge Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Toll House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Toll House Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle Upon Tyne
1 review
“Penny Bridge Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Enjoyed our 2 night stay, room very comfortable, breakfast was excellent, especially the black pudding! Parking facilities directly across from hotel, charges not expensive, would definitely stay again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Paul Spencer - Manager at Toll House Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your review, hopefully we will see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Paul Spencer – Manager and all the team at Penny Street Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    194
    43
    11
    6
See reviews for
79
205
23
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bristol
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

My chaotic family stayed here a couple of weeks ago including our 2 under 5s and we all LOVED it. The staff were patient and friendly with our overtired kids. The rooms were great - stylish-clean - comfy and a connecting door to the kids.
We had dinner bed and breakfast. All Good.

Room Tip: Ask for family room and they have 2 rooms with connecting doors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goldiecampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Paul Spencer - Manager at Toll House Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
What can we say! Thank you for this lovely review we know how hard it can be to travel with children so will always do our best to help!

Kind regards,
Paul Spencer – Manager and all the team at Penny Street Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinca, France
Level Contributor
130 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

If you want scenic views from the window forget it. However the room was spotless and it had a large bathroom with a true walk in shower. Air con in the room was good and even though the hotel was in the centre of Lancaster it was very quiet. The dinner and breakfast were both excellent. However the real treat was fresh milk in a flask. How good is that, none of this " tastes like fresh milk" UHT rubbish you get in 99% of hotels. Well done definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deneuk12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Paul Spencer - Manager at Toll House Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Our milk flasks are very popular, and we can’t stand UHT either! I’m glad we were such a positive surprise; some of our rooms even have views of the canal so we can tick that box too! Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,
Paul Spencer – Manager and all the team at Penny Street Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We were suppose to have stayed in another Hotel outside of Lancaster, but on arrival there was a mix up between booking.com and the Hotel and very kindly and apologetic the Hotel made arrangements for us to stay at the Penny Bridge.
Arrival was good , we were met by a very helpful Barman who showed us the way to the Reception and a delightful receptionist who booked us in .
Confirmng the Room Rate of £93 B&B and directing us to Room 26.
From that point on the whole experience was appalling !!!!
The Room was never a Double Room it was so small it was beyond uncomfortable
The TV was at such an extreme angle that it was unwatchable even lying flat on the bed
The Ensuite was even smaller and you just simply could not move freely at all.
We just couldn't wait to get out of the room it was never worth £93 for one night , not even half the size of a Room that could enjoy at any Travelodge or Premier Inn.
The bed however was comfortable but not a double more like one of those three quarter size , the duvet was ill fitting and we are not large people in stature.
The Breakfast was an experience which will for well travelled people be up there with the all time worst !!!!
The staff were once again very good , very customer orientated but what arrived was bordering on stupidity.
I requested as I always do when staying in Hotels Bacon , Mushrooms , Poached Egg and on this ocassion what looked like a nice piece of Black Pudding when I glanced over at another guests plate.
What arrived was one uncooked , half a piece of Bacon approximately 50mm in diameter, literally one small half cut mushroom which was not even 25mm long or 12mm wide, a poached egg that probably didn't see a chicken but possibly a Quail.
As you can expect we didn't stay much longer , checked out and left .
Once again the experience of check out was very good as the Receptionist was well trained.
She did ask how was our stay but I felt that it was an inappropriate time with many people waitign to check out that I should begin to explain our experience.
My recommendation for what it is worth to anyone wishing to stay at this Hotel would be to avoid it if you are 1.2m in height or above and enjoy a hearty breakfast. I do however

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Paul Spencer - Manager at Toll House Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Firstly thank you for your kind words about our staff and I’m glad that they made a positive impression after what I’m sure was a stressful situation with your overbooking at your original hotel.

I’m sorry that you were not happy with the size of your room, your reservation was in our room classification of “small double” and so the person making the booking will have had this made clear to them, perhaps there was some confusion with the other hotel as they booked on your behalf. Unfortunately our room rates work on an occupancy basis rather than classification and as this was our last room you did pay the premium price for that time.

I’m sorry that you did not enjoy your breakfast with us, as you point out our breakfast staff are very customer orientated and so would not have hesitated to get you more of anything you wished as we want our customers to enjoy the hearty breakfast our regulars come to expect. I’m glad that your check out experience was a good one and we do train our staff to ask if you have had a pleasant stay as we see it as the last chance to rectify any wrongs you feel you might have experienced. And so although we appreciate your discretion we would always rather deal with any issues in person at the time of the problem, that way we can ensure you have as pleasant an experience as the majority of our guests do.

Kind regards,
Paul Spencer – Manager and all the team at Penny Street Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Starting with the negative, the only thing that was wrong was the very slight cleanliness issue regarding the shower tray! That said the room was spacious and comfortable, all staff were friendly and informative of local area and were excellent hosts!! The breakfast was comprehensive and catered for all our needs quality was of very good standard, the evening meal was extremely good value for money and best of all a lift to our hotel room! Would thoroughly recommend as value for money!! If ever back in Lancaster would definitely stay again or recommend to any one!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debsmc77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Paul Spencer - Manager at Toll House Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
I’m very sorry there was a slight oversight with your room but I’m glad that it didn’t impact negatively on your stay with us. Thank you for your lovely comments about our staff and breakfast, you must join us for dinner next time!

Kind regards,
Paul Spencer – Manager and all the team at Penny Street Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
514 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel based on the reviews on TA and weren't disappointed. We were passing through Lancashire for one night and chose this establishment. Very friendly greeting at reception and very informative regarding eating times, newspapers and any other things that we might need. Our room number 14 overlooked the road but there is no problems with noise, even on a Saturday night. Althought the building is old, it's very well maintained throughout. Modern well equipped bedroom. Bed very comfy and room spotless. Flat screen tv on wall, decent siz and airconditioning which worked very well. Beautiful bathroom with exc fittings and a really good power shower. We ate in the restaurant which is one of the beSt bars I've visited, excellent seating and lovely bay windows with nice cornices. Our meal was excellent, fish and chips and streak and kidney pudding ( the best I've tasted). All meals are freshly made and was served quickly. All mains about £8 - £10, wine £13. Breakfasts is around £8 but if you book in advance £6. There is tea making facilities in the room which also includes coffee and hot chocolate with nice biscuits. There are only 4 parking places available therefore it's advisable to reserve in advance. How verb if none are available large car parking is available a couple of mins away and reception was even able to tell us the cost of it which was a nice touch. Would jump at the chance to come back

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bordersgeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Paul Spencer - Manager at Toll House Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
We would jump at the chance to welcome you back! Thank you for this lovely review and I’m pleased that every aspect impressed.

Kind regards,
Paul Spencer – Manager and all the team at Penny Street Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed 1 night after arriving late and weary from a long drive from Southampton. The desk staff were the best of any hotel we stayed at in England. The young lady anticipated our needs and problem solved efficiently and happily. It was well beyond friendly helpful service. We had arrived too late to dine in the restaurant so after consulting with us she arranged for Indian takeaway (very delicious) with free delivery while we settled into our rooms. They then called us when it was ready and they had opened a dining area, set the table and had the meal ready to be served. They then took drink orders and another exceptionally engaging bar staff person brought drinks in to us. Exceptional service.

Beyond the desk...the hotel location was very central and is an old hotel that has been renovated with it seems a great thought to design elements. It integrates very nicely the solid and substantial building with a reasonably modern and very comfortable room/bathroom fit out. It has a lift. The rooms are a good size and well sound proofed from each other and the road. Beds and linen were very comfortable and the air conditioning was good. My personal preference is open windows and the modern inner window and the older outer window were both able to be opened (taking care of the high curtain). The shower was exceptional, even the water was soft. The complimentary toiletries were lovely, Crabtree and Evelyn from memory. Full breakfast downstairs was delicious. There were two downsides I must mention. Firstly our bathroom smelt of smoke although thankfully in the room itself it was almost imperceptible. Also as we arrived late the few parking areas at the hotel were full and we had to unload our luggage and then drive the car to a close public car park (fee payable). Not knowing the area I felt a little apprehensive about security. Apart from those two negatives overall I would definately return to this hotel and also the district for a longer stay in this engaging community.

Room Tip: One bathroom had shower into a bath, the other just a shower. Maybe request your preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Paul Spencer - Manager at Toll House Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about our staff, I’m so glad that we were able to help you with what I’m sure must have been a very tiring day! In anticipation of your next stay with us let me assure you that the council car park across the road from us is very secure but do give us a ring at the time of your booking and we will try and reserve you one of our spaces.

Kind regards,
Paul Spencer – Manager and all the team at Penny Street Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
2.7 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#7 of 7 in Lancaster
3.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#5 of 7 in Lancaster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Sun Hotel
The Sun Hotel
#4 of 24 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Borough Hotel
The Borough Hotel
#7 of 24 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toll House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toll House Inn

Property: Toll House Inn
Address: 120 Penny Street, Lancaster LA1 1XT, England (Formerly Penny Street Bridge)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Toll House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Lancaster, Toll House Inn is a popular hotel full of character and charm. We've a relaxed and contemporary atmosphere but have maintained many historic features. Each of our rooms are uniquely shaped and unlike the other. All rooms are equipped with all the small details that make it a home away from home. And in the morning you'll awake to a hearty Lancashire breakfast. Downstairs is our popular bar and restaurant which serves locally sourced dishes alongside a fantastic range of cask ales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Toll House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penny Street Bridge Hotel Lancaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing