We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All in all a great base when visiting the area”
Review of Toll House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Toll House Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife and I have now stayed at the Penny Street Bridge Hotel on four separate occasions. The fact that every time we have a short break in Lancaster we choose the 'PSB' as it is called by staff and regulars alike for me says as much as what I will write below. In short it does the job and it does it acceptably well.

We first stayed in September 2010 and had a wonderful room on the curved corner of the building with one of the best views I have encountered from a hotel bedroom. Situated on the corner of Penny Street and Aldcliffe Road the room overlooked the Lancaster Canal, the old "road to the South", the A6 and across towards the old Lancaster (Greaves) railway station listed building. Our second stay didn't have quite such a good view but the room was just as good although my wife found that the noise coming from the Republic night club on the other side of Penny Street stopped her getting a good sleep on this visit. When we checked out she mentioned this and we were recommended to ask for a room to the rear the next time.

And so the next two stays we have asked for a room to the rear of the hotel and this request being granted my wife has enjoyed a good night's sleep ever since. The two rear rooms we have had were somewhat smaller than those with the great views at the front but nevertheless just as good a standard and the smaller rooms are available now at a less expensive rate. I would say that the air conditioning/heating pods in all the rooms we have stayed in are somewhat troublesome and it might be a good idea to have an aircon engineer give them all a thorough checkup. They do not always respond to commands and then at 2am spring into life for no apparent reason. In our most recent room the remote control handset seemed to have flat batteries. This was not a big enough problem for us to complain about it however and I am sure that if we had it would have been attended to.

On at least two of our stays we have eaten our evening meal at the hotel and also enjoyed bar meals there too. The prices are very reasonable and the staff friendly to say the least. We have also in the past enjoyed breakfast in the hotel and on our first visit it seemed to be mainly businessmen and women who were staying but in the evenings on our last few stays there have been a lot of couples and even what looked like locals at the bar. We now eat elsewhere for breakfast but this is simply to help us relax more on our short breaks and it is purely to allow us a later rise, the full Lancashire breakfast is fully recommended for any lovers of a fulsome hearty start to fuel you up for the day ahead.

We always travel to Lancaster by train and the PSB is only a ten minute walk from the railway station and the bus station is about the same distance if you walk straight down Penny Street and Cheapside. When we first stayed there was no nearby convenience store except a very small newagents down King Street but in the intervening visits a Tesco and now a Sainsbury have both opened, the Sainsbury being only a few yards away on the opposite side of the street.

There is a lot to see and do in Lancaster and the surrounding towns and villages. Being so close to the rail and bus stations the PSB is ideally located as a base when staying in the Lancaster for either business or pleasure. Any gripes that we have ever taken to reception have been dealt with politely and professionally and I would recommend you give the Penny Street Bridge hotel a try if you need somewhere to stay in Lancaster. Preston is only an 18 minute one stop train trip from Lancaster and so the PSB is also an ideal alternative to staying in Preston itself if you are visiting or working in that city.

Room Tip: Ask for a 'room at the rear' if you are a light sleeper and do not use earplugs. If you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miceal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Paul Spencer - Manager at Toll House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

I think this is possibly the most comprehensive and accurate review we’ve had on Trip Advisor. I appreciate the time and effort that you have taken in order to put your thoughts and experience across. Thank you very much.

Kind regards,
Paul Spencer - Manager and all the team at Penny Street Bridge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (545)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

357 - 363 of 545 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

Not sure what I was expecting when I stayed here but I was Very pleased. The room was clean and a good size as was the bath room. Breakfast was great. The only negative was it took a while to get someone to come to the front desk to check us out. A good value

Room Tip: Ask for one in the back over looking the channel and away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANP123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Paul Spencer - Manager at Toll House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Many thanks for your review and we’re more than glad that you were pleasantly surprised with your visit to Penny Street, it’s always a great compliment.

Kind regards,
Paul Spencer - Manager and all the team at Penny Street Bridge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Lancaster does not have a vast choice of hotels and this is our local choice. Stayed here along with our guests on our wedding night and then again for my birthday. The rooms are small it's a listed building. The night porter Peter is a star and has made us very welcome around the fire in the residents lounge. The bar is large sometimes with live bands. The breakfast is fabulous and freshly cooked to order none of that congealed hot plate rubbish. Parking is limited you need to reserve one of the 3 spaces. There is ample parking across the road which is discounted.

Room Tip: You may want a view of the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elbowsoffthetable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Paul Spencer - Manager at Toll House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

It’s nice to hear that someone returns time and again to us mainly because of the service they receive. Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Paul Spencer - Manager and all the team at Penny Street Bridge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Penny Stret Bridge offers an excellent all round service in central Lancaster. Nicely refurbished comfortable rooms and very nice bathrooms provide everything for a comfortable stay. Very good bar food and excellent breakfast. Staff are welcoming efficient and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. This hotel has considerable charm and represents very good value for money. What a pity more moderately priced hotels in the UK can't manage the standard of this one!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank betsieboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Paul Spencer - Manager at Toll House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

What more could one add to such a great review. Thank you for taking the time to put your thoughts down in print. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Paul Spencer - Manager and all the team at Penny Street Bridge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed here in June for my daughters wedding. We had booked several rooms for various nights and from the minute we arrived the service was excellent. My daughter was given a large, light airy room to enable her to get ready and made-up for her wedding, (Rm 8), and us parents were in room 18 which was at the top and back of hotel looking over the canal area. It was a lovely room, airy and comfortable with a nice clean ensuite. My son was around the corner in Rm 17 and this was a little smaller in the bedroom size but had a small extra room and an ensuite too. Other members of the wedding party had various other rooms and all were very comfortable and clean. All have tea/coffee and biscuits in and toiletries in the bathrooms. The only gripe we had was milk has to be collected from reception in a flask for the rooms and this can be a nuisance if you run out and need more/forget to pick up. The breakfasts are perfect and the choice was plentiful and freshly cooked. The bar is nicely decorated and has a nice relaxed atmosphere. There is also a lovely patio area to eat or drink in,very pleasant in the summer. The whole hotel is very striking inside as it is an old building with an interesting history but is beautifully decorated, clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The young night porter in particular!! All in all highly recommended and we will always stay here when we visit Lancaster again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter and overlook the canal which is pretty and scenic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ibisbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Paul Spencer - Manager at Toll House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Thank you for your fantastic review. It’s good to know that we can keep everybody happy for such a special occasion.

Kind regards,
Paul Spencer - Manager and all the team at Penny Street Bridge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for two nights in August for our wedding reception. They were incredibly helpful and accommodating to our needs, providing a private dining room and a personalised menu agreed with us in advance. The food and friendly staff had been our main reason for choosing this as our venue, but we were equally delighted with the hotel rooms. The staff were incredibly helpful and could not have done more to make sure we had everything we needed and to help us carry off our celebrations with as little fuss and stress as possible.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorns1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Paul Spencer - Manager at Toll House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

It would seem we could be the perfect place in Lancaster for small, intimate weddings. We’re so glad that you enjoyed your special day with us and hopefully we’ll see you next year for your first anniversary?

Kind regards,
Paul Spencer - Manager and all the team at Penny Street Bridge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We liked the Hotel, the rooms were comfortable, well furnished light and airy. We only had breakfast because we were eating at pre booked restaurants in the evening. The choice was quite good and the quality good. The dining room is large and pretty well devoid of soft furnishings so tends to be noisy but not at breakfast!
The staff are courteous and helpful and the cost acceptable.
The only negative is that there is NO parking but car parks are available in the vicinity

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Paul Spencer - Manager at Toll House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Thank you for your recent review. Looking at your profile you seem to be a seasoned traveller so your kind comments are most welcome. Sorry about the car parking but the Council Car Park is only 50 yards away and very reasonable for a city centre. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Paul Spencer - Manager and all the team at Penny Street Bridge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lancaster
2.7 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 6 in Lancaster
1,418 reviews
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 6 in Lancaster
1,107 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#6 of 6 in Lancaster
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
693 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Lancaster Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toll House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toll House Inn

Address: 120 Penny Street, Lancaster LA1 1XT, England (Formerly Penny Street Bridge)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster District > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range: $88 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Toll House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Lancaster, Toll House Inn is a popular hotel full of character and charm. We've a relaxed and contemporary atmosphere but have maintained many historic features. Each of our rooms are uniquely shaped and unlike the other. All rooms are equipped with all the small details that make it a home away from home. And in the morning you'll awake to a hearty Lancashire breakfast. Downstairs is our popular bar and restaurant which serves locally sourced dishes alongside a fantastic range of cask ales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Toll House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penny Street Bridge Hotel Lancaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing