We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good central place to stay when visiting Lancaster”
Review of Toll House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Toll House Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“A good central place to stay when visiting Lancaster”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We liked the Hotel, the rooms were comfortable, well furnished light and airy. We only had breakfast because we were eating at pre booked restaurants in the evening. The choice was quite good and the quality good. The dining room is large and pretty well devoid of soft furnishings so tends to be noisy but not at breakfast!
The staff are courteous and helpful and the cost acceptable.
The only negative is that there is NO parking but car parks are available in the vicinity

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Paul Spencer - Manager at Toll House Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. Looking at your profile you seem to be a seasoned traveller so your kind comments are most welcome. Sorry about the car parking but the Council Car Park is only 50 yards away and very reasonable for a city centre. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Paul Spencer - Manager and all the team at Penny Street Bridge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    202
    44
    13
    6
See reviews for
78
211
24
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This is the 6th time i have been and stayed at the Penny Street Bridge in 6 years.. As per always the service is Excellent. The Rooms are clean and tidy, the bar is Classy and modern and the Staff are always polite and friendly.
I have been recommending the Hotel to friends and family who have also stayed and had a pleasant stay.

Heres on for next year!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Paul Spencer - Manager at Toll House Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you. We’re waiting for you to make it seven in seven. Ten years gets you a long service reward. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Paul Spencer - Manager and all the team at Penny Street Bridge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Fourth time we've stayed here and yet again we had a pleasant stay. The staff are friendly and helpful and the room comfortable and clean. Breakfast was lovely - one tip if you like strong tea ask for an extra teabag in the pot, this was happily provided by the young man serving us. We will no doubt be back and would recommend Penny Street Bridge to friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JananWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Paul Spencer - Manager at Toll House Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your comments about your stay at Penny Street Bridge. We must have had a shortage on (say it quietly in these parts!) Yorkshire Tea Bags during your stay. It will be remedied for your next visit, most definitely.

Kind regards,
Paul Spencer - Manager and all the team at Penny Street Bridge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Me & my partner ended up here after being double booked in our original hotel. So glad we stayed here. Absolutley stunning hotel. Loved all the original features in the dining room. Limited parking spaces but we got one dispute us just turning up on the day. The manager was extremely helpful in sorting out the situation for us. The room itself was spacious and very clean. The bathroom modern and shower excellent. Given the city centre location, external noise wasn't a problem as secondary glazing was fitted in our room. Room also had aircon. Would definately stay here again and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyki6954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Paul Spencer - Manager at Toll House Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Many thanks for your recommendation and we’re happy to have been able to step up to the plate when your original hotel let you down. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,
Paul Spencer - Manager and all the team at Penny Street Bridge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed for two nights as we had booked a train trip from Lancaster station and couldn't fault the hotel. Room was lovely service excellent and all the staff were really friendly. Breakfast was superb and evening meal was delicious. Gold medal!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherry33Brum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Paul Spencer - Manager at Toll House Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
A nice Olympian analogy – I suppose our number one rating could be deemed worth a gold medal. Thank you for your recent review.

Kind regards,
Paul Spencer - Manager and all the team at Penny Street Bridge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed at this hotel to visit friends in Lancaster for the weekend and the experience was all a bit Fawlty Towers.

We were given a room key and sent upstairs to a room that had a 'do not disturb' sign hanging on the door handle. When we went back downstairs, the receptionist apologised and gave us another room. She had given us a room that the people in front of us had just checked out of.

Our room was pleasant but directly above a bar. It was a Saturday night so there was constant loud thumping music that went on till 3am in the morning.

We asked if our bag could be stored when we checked out - it was placed in the toilet behind the reception counter that is used by the staff and any guests who want to use it(!).

A huge shame because the hotel is nice and staff really lovely but all these things together were just bit of a disaster...

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fruity_kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Paul Spencer - Manager at Toll House Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
It’s a shame that the bar next door had a very rare late function on the night of your stay – we unfortunately do not have any control regarding that but they did turn the music down when our Duty Manager requested them to do so. Apologies for an unenjoyable stay.

Kind regards,
Paul Spencer - Manager and all the team at Penny Street Bridge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We had a team away day at the hotel with stop over so we managed to rack up a good 24 hours in the hotel with the use of one of their meeting rooms. The staff are very polite and helpful and the food was amazing, we had a buffet lunch with what I must say was the best sandwishes I have ever eaten, along with other things. We had dinner in the restaurant and after the amazing lunch we had high hopes for dinner and they did not disappoint. breakfast was the icing on the cake, simply perfection. Rooms, I couldn't believe how nice the rooms and the hotel are given the very resonable price we paid. It is definate must stay place.

Room Tip: Ive seen other reviews about the noise coming from ajoining rooms but we had no trouble
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fidophy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Paul Spencer - Manager at Toll House Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
It’s good to know that we can cater for small business meetings/conferences and meet all your requirements so competently. Thank you for your ringing endorsement.

Kind regards,
Paul Spencer - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
2.7 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
1,321 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 7 in Lancaster
1,007 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#7 of 7 in Lancaster
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Lancaster Central Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel and Bar
The Royal Hotel and Bar
#4 of 24 in Lancaster
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toll House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toll House Inn

Property: Toll House Inn
Address: 120 Penny Street, Lancaster LA1 1XT, England (Formerly Penny Street Bridge)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Toll House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Lancaster, Toll House Inn is a popular hotel full of character and charm. We've a relaxed and contemporary atmosphere but have maintained many historic features. Each of our rooms are uniquely shaped and unlike the other. All rooms are equipped with all the small details that make it a home away from home. And in the morning you'll awake to a hearty Lancashire breakfast. Downstairs is our popular bar and restaurant which serves locally sourced dishes alongside a fantastic range of cask ales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Toll House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penny Street Bridge Hotel Lancaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing