We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab food!!!!”

Gressingham Restaurant at Thurnham Hall
Price range: $25 - $41
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: At the heart of historic Thurnham Hall, The Gressingham Restaurant serves lovingly prepared, traditional home-cooked food in a relaxed and intimate environment. With elegant décor and exceptional service, we offer a wonderful setting for casual dining, family celebrations and more.When you arrive, take a drink in our Jacobean Lounge & Bar – the original ‘great hall’ with an enormous roaring open fire and live pianist several days of the week. Then you’ll be seated in one of two rooms, surrounding our kitchen. At the front of the hall, The Fountain View room looks out past the fountain to serene Lancashire countryside. At the rear of the hall, The Tower Room is part of the original 13th century tower.
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

I actually work for thurnham hall ( accomadation side ) and myself and my friend went for a meal In the restaurant. I thought it was great . Already recommended to friends and family . The food was wonderful . Shrimps and steak pie ... Warm rolls as we were seated . Wine chilled and in a bucket on the table. The two waiters on duty were grand .... Friendly and professional .
Relaxing atmosphere .
Going to leave reception more often and head for a meal !
You won't be disappointed

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank clairelorobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWestonCole, Manager at Gressingham Restaurant at Thurnham Hall, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback!
What a lovely thing to do.
It has to be said that the staff who work at Thurnham, (Resort & Bowland Village Inns Staff) are probably our most regular customers and it's lovely that you chose us to have dinner with when I'm sure on your free time you normally enjoy a break from the place.
We are thrilled you enjoyed dining with us in the Restaurant and will welcome yourself & all Resort staff back at anytime

Kind Regards

Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (105)
There are newer reviews for Gressingham Restaurant at Thurnham Hall
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 74 of 105 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

Try Sunday lunch or just sandwiches in the Bar, it's all good.
Everything was great when we were there and the pleasantness of the staff is to be commended, all part of a lovely stay in beautiful surroundings.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWestonCole, Manager at Gressingham Restaurant at Thurnham Hall, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you for such a lovely Review!
We are delighted you had such a wonderful time with us. We really do share each review with every single member of our team and they were thrilled with yours.
We look forward to welcoming you back hopefully in the not too distant future!

Kind regards

Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

My partner and I decided to call here for lunch whilst doing a circular walk from Galgate which took us through the car park of this wonderful Hall. We found our way in around the back past a beautiful pond area and were met with very friendly staff who quickly showed us the menu. We decided to eat outside as it was a rare lovely day! The local ducks soon realised we were there and gathered to see what they could get from us! The staff offered to tempt them away but it added to the experience sharing our lunch with some very funny and quite cheeky visitors! We had a light lunch and my only comment, which I fed back to the staff, was that I would have preferred the salad dressing to be served separately as it had mustard in it and I am really not keen on mustard!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pollyw900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWestonCole, Manager at Gressingham Restaurant at Thurnham Hall, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Thank you for your recent review!
I am delighted to hear you had such a wonderful time on your stop off with us.
Thank you for the feedback about the salad dressing which is a light honey mustard, however we do have a normal vinaigrette & basil oil as well as everyone's tastes are different, we are only too happy to accommodate our guests requirements, they only need too ask.
As you so rightly pointed out we do have some permanent residents in the form of our ducks who are usually found at the pond or on the paths, they are currently breeding at the moment so there are lots of nest's dotted around and even some ducklings too see!
Thank you again for your comments we really do enjoy reading them all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Following drinks in the bar we were led through to the dining area about thirty minutes before our booking. This was not a problem but we felt slightly rushed.
The waiters were polite but seemed untrained regarding the wine list (we had to order our bottle by it's number rather than name as he could not pronounce Sauvignon). Service was good if a little unpolished. To be given a dish and told "here you are, cheers" seemed a little unprofessional. That said the service was generally good and attentive.
The food was remarkably good all of our starters and main courses were cooked well and very tasty. After dinner we had a drink in the bar where a pianist was playing. This was lovely if a bit too loud to talk over which is the point of background music. I would recommend that he plays with the piano lid down in the future, if asked.
I'd definitely reccomend it for food however the service and atmosphere felt a little amateur when compared to the high quality of our dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ewen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWestonCole, Manager at Gressingham Restaurant at Thurnham Hall, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review.
We really do share them as a team as they are something to cherish when we get things right, but also gives us something to work on if there is something we can do better for the further enjoyment of our guests,
As I recently mentioned we do have a few newer members of the team, who are currently under training to bring them us too speed with the team as a whole, however I do believe that it is worth mentioning that due to the extensive number of wines we have on our list & it is quite the norm to have a correlating Bin number to bottle and for our team to check the name against the Bin number as we do have more than one Sauvignon on our wine list.
We do hope you will pay us another visit too see how our new staff members are doing on their journey with us.

Kind Regards

Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

The historic Thurnham Hall is such a lovely setting for a restaurant. The good food was served in generous portions, and was relatively inexpensive. The service was attentive if a little lacking in experience, but that will soon remedy itself. I stayed at Thurnham Hall Resort, and would definitely use this on-site restaurant again.

Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWestonCole, Manager at Gressingham Restaurant at Thurnham Hall, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review!
It is always so nice to hear that our visitors have enjoyed their stay with us and our hard work is paying off.
We have had some new additions to our team and we are currently working very hard to bring them up to speed with our customer service ethos.
We look forward too your return visit hopefully in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gressingham Restaurant at Thurnham Hall also viewed

Glasson Dock, Lancaster District
Conder Green, Lancaster District
 
Conder Green, Lancaster District
Lancaster, Lancaster District
 
Lancaster, Lancaster District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing