We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice Lunch”

Gressingham Restaurant at Thurnham Hall
Price range: $25 - $41
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: At the heart of historic Thurnham Hall, The Gressingham Restaurant serves lovingly prepared, traditional home-cooked food in a relaxed and intimate environment. With elegant décor and exceptional service, we offer a wonderful setting for casual dining, family celebrations and more.When you arrive, take a drink in our Jacobean Lounge & Bar – the original ‘great hall’ with an enormous roaring open fire and live pianist several days of the week. Then you’ll be seated in one of two rooms, surrounding our kitchen. At the front of the hall, The Fountain View room looks out past the fountain to serene Lancashire countryside. At the rear of the hall, The Tower Room is part of the original 13th century tower.
perth
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very nice Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

we had a voucher for Sunday lunch which was very nice staff a guy was playing a piano which made a nice atmosphere ,friendly would recommend it

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank RodneyPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thurnham, Manager at Gressingham Restaurant at Thurnham Hall, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank your for your comments!
We are currently on Deal Monster with our Sunday lunch offer which is proving extremely popular week on week.
Andrew Hilton Is our resident pianist who plays every Friday night & Sunday Lunchtimes. I am delighted you had such an enjoyable experience with us.
We hope too see you back with us in the not too distant future.

Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    30
    14
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere but slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Lovely place and good food but the service was very slow. The staff were obliging but disappointed we couldn't have a latte or capaccino as the machine was broken. Ironically one of our party owns a commercial kitchen firm who wouldn't have let a customer go a weekend without such an important piece of equipment. There was a singer performing in the bar who whilst good made it difficult for us to have a conversation, not exactly background music. We've been to the other restaurants owned by the same group which are better.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nijo00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thurnham, Manager at Gressingham Restaurant at Thurnham Hall, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your recent review.
We really do appreciate when people take that little bit of time to leave us some comments.
I'm sorry that you we're disappointed you could not have a cappuccino or latte following your meal as you accurately mentioned our machine was indeed broken. Unfortunately this broke on the Saturday evening going into service and an engineer could not get to us with the part. It was subsequently fixed on Monday morning. We were able to offer our guests regular teas and coffees and we would of been more than happy to provide you with some warm milk.
Our lounge entertainment is on weekly on a Saturday and is very popular with on site guest as well as out local diners alike. There is always however seating provided in the Restaurant away from the speakers should guest wish to continue a quieter conversation, you need only ask and our team would be happy to accommodate your requests.
Thank you again for your comments.

Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Out Rawcliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Fab Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We only booked this because we were staying at Thurnham Hall and it was handy, so glad we did! Great food, good portions and the staff are efficient and welcoming. Great atmosphere, a thouroghly enjoyable night, so much so that we booked again for the following night and had friends join us. Our fellow diners were impressed too, one commenting that his steak was one of the best he had had!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank karen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thurnham, Manager at Gressingham Restaurant at Thurnham Hall, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know your thoughts on your latest visit to us at Thurnham Hall!
I say it time and time again but we really do LOVE when people leave us feedback. It allows us to share together as a team our achievements with the positive reviews but also to address something which we may not have got quite right in the first place.
We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable experience whilst dining with us so much so you returned for another visit.
We look forward too seeing you again, hopefully in the not too distant future

Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice food. Great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

I wasn't sure what to expect at first. The presentation of the menu leave a bit to be desired and that left me wondering if we'd be in for a treat or a shocker.

All of our three courses came out impeccably presented, lovely and rustic. The same for flavours and taste, too. I'd highly recommend the Duck à l'orange.
We all really enjoyed our meals and evening. I thought the Summer pudding was a little out of place, as it was February- but I chose it out of curiosity and loved every mouthful.

We also really enjoyed our post meal drinks next to the humongous fire.

Great evening had by all. Compliments to the chefs and front of house staff.

Thanks muchly!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cheftebblington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thurnham, Manager at Gressingham Restaurant at Thurnham Hall, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review!
We really do appreciate it when people take that little bit of time out of their busy day to leave us feedback, it is something the whole team look forward too during our staff meetings.
We are currently in the process of a revamp of our menu's both content & it's style but thank you for confirming that we are doing the right thing with the decision to change it.
Due to the awful weather we are still having, our huge fire, as you so rightly pointed out is still being lit daily and will be for probably the next few weeks.
Thank you again for you comments & we look forward to seeing you in the not too distant future.
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

WOW the standard in the restaurant was fab and brilliant value. The people who run this restaurant have improved the quality of the food and value for money no end. We were realyl pleased as we have avoided eating onsite in the past. Well in future we will make sure we eat here whenever we are visiting Thurnham Hall. The menu caters for all tastes and is reasonably priced and completes well with gastro pub prices which is fantastic considering the location. The staff are friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. Although the restaurant is open to non residents too. I would recommend that you book as I suspect it could get busy during peak season. The Christmas menus looked lovely and again were very reasonably priced, I wish were were going to Thurnham for Christmas just so we could have Christmas dinner here. We will definitely be back.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bee1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thurnham, Manager at Gressingham Restaurant at Thurnham Hall, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review!
Firstly my apologies for the delay in my response, as I’m sure you can appreciate we've had a very busy few months with December, Christmas and New Years Eve, but we are now on full steam ahead into 2013.
I’m delighted you had such a wonderful time with us, we do always like to offer our guests good value for money & an experience they enjoy so much they can't wait to return. We have had such lovely comments about our festive luncheons, I’m so pleased you choose to highlight them for special mention, hopefully this year you'll make a return visit to sample our 2013 festive offerings and pull a cracker or two with us.
Once again, many thanks for taking the time to leave us feedback and we'll look forward to your return visit.
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gressingham Restaurant at Thurnham Hall also viewed

 
Lancaster, Lancashire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing