We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A proper curry house” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sultan of Lancaster

Sultan of Lancaster
Ranked #11 of 238 Restaurants in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A proper curry house”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Really liked the food here, and the naan breads are HUGE!!! Only down side is that they don't sell alcohol, and after a few mouthfuls all I was wishing for was a beer to wash it down!

Helpful?
Thank gavinlewis85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    77
    27
    12
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We were greeted by a very friendly and enthusiastic waiter who knew the people I was with practically on a first-name basis, despite them not being particularly regular there! The food came quickly and was delicious and reasonably priced. The naan breads are HUGE! Will certainly be visiting again soon!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy-Cakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Totally amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Visiting Lancaster we passed the interesting old church building which houses this Indian restaurant and thought we'd try it. What a brilliant decision , the food was some of the best we'd had.I highly recommend the lamb chop rolls! the staff were lovely and friendly and very helpful and knowledgeable about which foods I as a coeliac could and couldn't have. If ever we're in Lancaster again we will be back.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wheatfreehell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Indian food for miles around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Good food in magnificent surroundings (a converted former church), and a warm welcome from long-serving staff. Desai prawns and saag ghosht are personla favourites. If you like Indian vegetarian food, the off-shoot an Lancaster University's campus is even better - no set menu but alwayus two or three well-spiced vegie dishes (eg spinach paneer, Bombay potato, chick peas) and a couple fo chicken or lamb dishes for the non-vegetarians. They also serve pizza, kebabs, burgers, sandwiches, which I can take or leave, and it's primarily a student diner than an atmospheric restaurant.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank PJD187064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
344 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Great food, I had Lamb Rogan Josh: medium strength curry cooked with tomatos and fresh herbs and spices with some naan bread. Very nice and friendly staff. Feels like at home. Definately worth to go!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paulina_Bali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sultan of Lancaster also viewed

Lancaster, Lancashire
Lancaster, Lancashire
 

Been to Sultan of Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing