We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS !!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Station House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 13 Lancaster B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 15, 2012

just back from a weeknd visit with our son at cumbria uni ,, got this room at VERY last minute , as comp had bin crashed for weeks, then magically came on, day before we where due to travel, this LOVELY b@b is just straight across from train station, and a 5 min amble into the towns centre, we paid £60 for a nite, normally would never , more than £50 ,, but am so glad we did ,, such a lovely clean, warm, well looked after place , felt i was in somebodys home ?? mebbe was ?/ our room, looked out onto the train tracks,, never heard a thing !!! the room itself was huge, with, as my hubby said, all grannys furniture in it , in sayin that we mean it was so lovley n comfortable, quaint, n periodic !! the breakfast ,, included ,, was brill ,, service very fast from two lovely polite young women,, LOVED the toast came wrapped in a plate with a hot towel over it to keep warm, also asked if we wanted any more ,, when finished, AND white n brown !! i would surely recommend this place to any one that travells as much as we do ,, WELL DONE old station house !!!!

Room Tip: sorry to leave this comment, as not applicable, is a b@b , dont expect to find a swimming pool nor f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shira t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 115 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

we went to lancaster for the weekend,we went on the train so it was so easy to get to from the station just around the corner. very nice room,clean and comfortable.not much info on what time breakfast was,place very nice breakfast very good tables set out really nice.easy access in to town.couple who owned it very nice.we would go back again.

Room Tip: we had a side room view to houses .just to warn you noise with trains if you can put up with that.we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzy1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

A stones throw from the priory church, where we were attending my niece's wedding. Very close to the city centre. Almost opposite the Storey Institute. The do afterwards being within the Institute NICE restaurant. Everything was perfect except the weather!! But we live in the UK, so we should be used to it by now. The landlady kindly lent us a couple of extra umbrellas.

I thought this B & B was perfect. I really couldn't find anything to complain about. For the money it was fantastic.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dale c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We spent only a night there. We chose this B&B because of its parking facility and it was getting late.
Our room was at the top floor, which is fine. At the first glance, it seemed OK (not small, quite nice, a certain charm). But after 5 minutes of being there, I noticed that the room was not really clean. The bin had not been emptied since the previous customer. One of the cup from the tea/coffee making facility was filled with sugar and instand coffee. The bed sheets were really over-used/old. Unfortunately, it was far too late for us to start looking for another B&B.
The breakfast was OK. The lady from the staff was really efficient and friendly. I really have the feeling that we have been unlucky with our room, but I won't recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emilie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We are considering moving to Lancaster and stayed at the old station house to get a 'feel' for the area.

I have to say that the old station house was fabulous, the landlady was great, very knowledgeable on the area. it was clean' friendly and cosy and a joy to stay at. Our room was quite small but it had everything you needed you felt like you were staying at a friends house not in a guest house.

The people in Lancaster i found to be the most accomodating and friendly people I had ever met. From the coffee shops in the city centre to the staff at Williamson Park.

We went for a lovely walk down the Lancaster Canal. It was quite beautiful and so quiet!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy-Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Nice place. close to train station and city centre.

Room was worth the money we paid.

Above average staff. Super friendly waitress.

Would stay again just for the breakfast (veggie black pudding was a first) and the breakfast room ambiance.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katrinastravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The Housekeeper is very helpfull and allowed us to park our car whilst we explored the City.This we found a great advantage,Comfy bed!clean room!and a warm welcome.
A hearty Breakfast,(order the night before)The young lady who served us was very pleasant and efficient.
I will stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 3 is a 3 bed family room overlooking the Railway Station
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#6 of 6 in Lancaster
367 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Lancaster Central Hotel
3.0 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 6 in Lancaster
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 6 in Lancaster
1,088 reviews
0.4 mi away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 6 in Lancaster
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Station House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Station House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 25 Meeting House Lane, Lancaster LA1 1TX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster District > Lancaster
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lancaster
Price Range: $37 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Station House Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 minutes from the centre of Lancaster & all its attractions. Easy access to Lancaster University & St Martins College and all the hospitals. Close to the train/bus station. All rooms are individually designed and en-suite with tea/coffee making facilities, TV, Iron & board and hairdryer. Varied breakfast menu. Off road private car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Old Station House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Station House Hotel Lancaster
Old Station House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing