We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value & Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lodge Lancaster
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Value & Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

What a great place! Were quite sceptical when we arrived because the room block is in a converted building in the back courtyard, but those fears were gone immediately! We were greeted by the owner and his wife who were so friendly and helpful, they told us they had recently bought the pub and apologised for the decor work going on in the bar. The rooms were a real plus, warm & comfy with lovely bathrooms. We stayed for three nights on a long weekend and loved every second. The staff were friendly and couldn't do enough, we ate ther two of the three nights and the food was excellent! My wife had the Bury Chicken and said she it was perfect! We were also amazed by the freshly cooked English Breakfast, i'm used to big chain hotels with bufet style offering, but what a difference it makes having it freshly cooked for you, special mention to Rose who was wonderful at breakfast (Thankyou!). The guys who have taken this place on really are working hard to make it special, and we wish them every success! We will be back again!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeyd1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    80
    41
    27
    26
See reviews for
87
86
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2010

stayed for a couple of nights and was very unimpressed,half the staff have changed since we last stayed as has the manager.the rooms were untidy and cold,the toilet smelt.when we brought this to the managers attention (a perma tanned southerner who seems very out of place in a 'northern pub') he brushed us off.we went for dinner and it took atleast 45 minutes to arrive,no starters.we asked to speak to the manager but were told he was to busy having a cigarette!!needless to say we will not be visiting again! on another note most of the staff are happy and seem willing but are missing the training,but if their manager has no idea then how will they?

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lenny2728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lancaster hotels

Lancaster
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2010

Went for a meal with friends. Food was excellent, however let down by service. Previously before it changed hands there was always a shortage of staff, things do not seem to have changed. Food came intermittently, waiting for vegetables etc. Wine glasses were dirty. They were sent back, but we did not even get an apology.(it took 10 minutes to get replacements. the restaurand/bar was not busy) It does not make any of our party keen to go back.

Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jimbo002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2010

When we first entered our room it smelt of stale cigarette smoke. The room had not been cleaned; the carpet was covered with crumbs, there was dust everywhere, the towels were stained, there was dried blood on the loo roll, the toilet had dirty marks and obviously had not seen a loo brush recently. The shower screen was loose and so water ran down on to the floor. The bed sheets were clean but stained with some rather dubious looking marks.
At breakfast, the cereals were out-of-date, some by as much as 10 months! The milk in the little jugs on the tables was off too, though the big general-use jug was fine. The cooked breakfasts were delicious but it was a bit off-putting having seen the out-of-date cereal - it made you wonder how fresh the rest of the food was.
The staff were generally helpful and polite, if a little quiet and withdrawn, but no-one went out of their way to make any kind of special effort. They looked a bit bored to be honest.
We were really disappointed because the building itself is beautiful and could have been stunning with just a bit of care and effort.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LilyIris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wincanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2010

You can stay at a characterless budget motel and eat Little Chef style mush, or you can pick a place like Slyne Lodge which has vastly better rooms in a separate block behind a friendly pub serving good food, all for about the same amount.
It isn't luxurious, but you aren't paying luxury prices and our room was comfortable and well equipped and well behaved pets are welcome. Some of the pub staff were a little inexperienced, but their enthusiasm and friendliness meant we were happy to make allowances.
As a stop over on our way further north we were very happy with our experience.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Treworga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herts
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2010

This is located just outside Lancaster in easy reach of the lakes . Traditional style pub with a resturant . The rooms were average size with on suite in a converted barn behind the pub. you could just see the sea over at Hest Bank so the view was good.
The bar had a good atmosphere but drinks were a bit expensive for a pub . All the staff were polite and helpful the food was good pub grub.
The only down side was going to use the toilet ,removing paper seal saying it was clean to find it was not ! I did not complain as I was not paying but if I was on my own it would have been mentioned.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cliveoHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2010

Stopped off for a meal with my friend last saturday,

We ordered, and meals arrived, which were ok, I was a bit put off by the lack of attention to detail, cobwebs, above our head, alot of scuff marks on the entrance door, 2 tubs to catch the drips from the leaky conservatory roof,

My friend ordered bread & butter pudding, it arrived on a plate, I wold have thought a dish more suited,it looked non too appetising and was cold in the middle, crusts were charred, as we ate, customers left and tables were not cleared, it seemed disorganised, and the waitress lokked non to clean, marks on her uniform. We complained and got a refund,

Wouldnt go again

It used to be an excellent place to eat, but in need of refurbishment

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MorecambeKaty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 7 in Lancaster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
5.5 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
2.6 mi away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#7 of 7 in Lancaster
3.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
2.8 mi away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Borough Hotel
The Borough Hotel
#7 of 25 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge Lancaster

Property: The Lodge Lancaster
Address: 92 Main Road | Slyne with Hest, Lancaster LA2 6AZ, England (Formerly Slyne Lodge)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge Lancaster 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Lodge Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slyne Hotel Lancaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing