We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It used to be so much better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lodge Lancaster
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It used to be so much better”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

As locals, we used to eat here very regularly. However, as time has gone on, the quality of food has gone lower and lower. On our last visit, we ordered a Lodge pie, a Lodge 2 meat roast and a Lodge Keepers platter. The Lodge pie was excellent as usual. The 2 meat roast was fair, but the Lodge keepers platter was terrible.It was on the menu as : Lancashire & Cheddar Cheeses, Home Roasted Ham, Pork Pie, Pickles, Salad, Apple, Tomato with Coleslaw,
Chutney & Freshly Baked Bread. The ham was really poor quality and very wet and stringy. There was no sign of a pork pie, as stated on the menu, and when we asked for it, it arrived looking very sorry for itself. The apple was just that - not even cut up - just an apple plonked at the side of the plate. As for the freshly baked bread - dream on!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slynelodge, Manager at The Lodge Lancaster, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am so sorry that you feel the meals were not up to standard.

I am concerned that the Lodge Keepers Platter was of a poor standard, I have discussed your review with the Head Chef, and he assures me that some retraining will occur regarding the plating of this meal, in the interim we have removed it from the menu. We take all complaints very seriously, and are generally found to receive positive feedback, but we are aware on occasions we do make mistakes, so please accept this reply as a genuine apology and we hope to see you again very soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    81
    42
    27
    27
See reviews for
89
87
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houghton Regis
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This hotel was about 20 mins walk from Bolton le sands, It had plenty of parking and It was easy to find and had beautifully laid out planters and borders. the old stone building was lovely to look at. Staff where friendly and helpful. room was lovely, clean and well maintained. Bed very comfortable.

Breakfast was value for money. Only minor comment was that their was no menu for breakfast advertising what was available, they said they did a continental breakfast and this was never mentioned. A full English breakfast was available that was lovely.

Interior surroundings where lovely and we would have loved to have a evening meal here. We did have evening drinks and these where not over priced.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We booked 10 days in advance of arrival date through booking.com I provided my credit details to confirm the booking and had confirmation email. However when we arrived in the evening after a long journey from London although they had our booking they did not have any rooms. I found this absolutely shocking. They sent us to alternative accommodation which was a very nice bed and breakfast but totally out of the way and we had not booked a bed and breakfast but a "4 star hotel". With all the facilities. Certainly this was not 4 star treatment. Furthermore on arrival at the bed and breakfast the rate was £ 20.00 more than at Slyne Lodge! We were left no choice as to accept as we had no transport, no way of finding other accommodation and it was late at night. I certainly would not recommend this hotel who is unable to honour their bookings and we heard that this happens all the time! Is this the policy of this hotel, to overbook consistently? I certainly would not trust them with any booking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lancaster hotels

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed there on our way from the south coast to Scotland. We needed a room suitable for 3 adults as our son his disabilties. The room available was a good size with beds for 4 people. The TV wouldn't work but the staff found a solution and were very helpful. We had dinner in the restaurant. Two of us had the roast dinner which was disappointing - drowned in gravy so you couldn't identify the meat and frozen veg and a half cob of sweetcorn, which was weird! Cooked breakfast was excellent but there was little choice of cereal and nothing else apart from orange juice. Most places provide fruit/yogurts these days. Saw another group having continental breakfast and it looked very poor. A reasonable stop off not far from the M6.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are in the stable block at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here recently for a stopover whilst my husband was cycling from John O'Groats to Lands End. When I checked in, the staff were very friendly and showed me to the room. The room was clean and comfortable and quiet, as it was in the stable block and overlooked the back of the property. It had the usual guest tray with coffee, tea and biscuits.
We ate in the pub restaurant that evening, where there was an extensive menu. The portions were generous and the food was very tasty.
There was a reasonable choice at breakfast with cereals and a cooked option. The only down side was that breakfast wasn't available before 8.30am which meant a late start for that days cycle

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed overnight recently due to appointment in Lancaster. Mix up with booking.com whereby family room we had booked was not available - Slyne Lodge agreed to two rooms at the same price. Rooms were in the old stable block to the rear of the lodge comfy bed, modern bathroom, flat screen tv etc. Room would benefit from lick of paint, but quiet and got a good nights sleep. All staff extremely friendly and helpful and the carvery was one of the best i have ever had with humungous portions of Beef and Pork. Would definitely stop here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My room was basic, roomy and comfortable, tv and hair dryer. Bathroom was decent size. Everything was clean and tidy. The lodge/pub itself was clean and tidy, modern, served food. The staff were friendly and helpful. At breakfast I wanted cream on my cornflakes so they fetched me some. The only draw backs I found was the water from the shower was nearly none existent ( if you turned on the tap it stopped altogether), and breakfast wasn't until 8.30am, so if you want an early start then don't pay for the breakfast. You cant actually get into the lodge/pub bit until 8.30am for breakfast anyway because its locked. But none of this would put me off staying here again. It is a good place for a weekend away if your going to use it just as a base.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlecalfuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 7 in Lancaster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
5.5 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
2.6 mi away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#7 of 7 in Lancaster
3.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
2.8 mi away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Borough Hotel
The Borough Hotel
#7 of 24 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge Lancaster

Property: The Lodge Lancaster
Address: 92 Main Road | Slyne with Hest, Lancaster LA2 6AZ, England (Formerly Slyne Lodge)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge Lancaster 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Lodge Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slyne Hotel Lancaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing