We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnificent Park” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Williamson Park

Williamson Park
Ranked #1 of 44 things to do in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Magnificent Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Including the Butterfly House, Birdhouses and small animal park. Perfect place for a picnic. Ashton Memorial tower is magnificent

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    517
    239
    33
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool
Level Contributor
119 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Butterfly House is worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

I had wanted to go for a long time to the Butterfly House. I knew is was in Williamson Park but as I am not from the area I did not realise it was in the middle of a very nice well maintained park. We went March 2013 and there were not many butterflies inside the house itself but it was a very hot tropical house (as expected) with other creatures such as terrapins, stick insects and fish. The butterflies that were in there were flying around as expected but there were not so many (could be the time of year). For the entry price of the house you can also walk round a pleasant small animal area which had a reptile house, a wildlife walk and an aviary you can walk in amongst the small birds. It cost us £3.50 for adults and £3 for a child which I thought was quite reasonable if you took your time to enjoy them rather than rushing round. We sat in the house for a good half an hour watching the various butterflies and pupae twitching. They even had a feeding stand where you can see them eating very closely. There is an outdoor free play park for children and we went inside the memorial itself which really is a spectacular building. Much more impressive in real life than on the pictures. The view from the top was also very impressive, as was the park itself. We took some breadcusts with us to feed the ducks and went for a bit of an explore in the park itself. There were many hilly paths, a nice walk round the pond and it was all very clean and well maintained. Ideal for exploring children with many families out for the same purpose which made me feel quite safe. Overall I would like to come back here in the summer with a picnic and explore further, even though we wandered around for about 4 hours, we still did not explore the entire park. There is also a cafe (which we did not eat in) where there are toilets if required. The paths are well maintained for pushchairs and wheelchairs. There is a pay and display car park, but we parked outside on the road for free.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluebeard69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Excellent views to be had from the park & even better from the top of the memorial. Good cafe
Loos a bit smelly

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank oldwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
275 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“lovely views of area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

nice clean park, lovely views especially from williamsons tower. you can see for miles on a clear day. to lakes through to blackpool on fylde coast

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaylover201059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
321 reviews
133 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Beautiful place ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Took the family here today on our day trip to Lancaster .its a lovely park and well looked after . The butterfly house is good but not a huge amount of butterflys . The kids loved the space and the play area got well used. Nice facilities and a huge amount of picnic areas to choose from. All in all if you want a nice family day out pack a picnic and get there :)) ....... The views are priceless from the memorial.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank minxycookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Williamson Park also viewed

Lancaster, Lancashire
Lancaster, Lancashire
 
Lancaster, Lancashire
 

Been to Williamson Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing