We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent pizza, and friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Sun Pizza

The Sun Pizza
Ranked #59 of 240 Restaurants in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent pizza, and friendly service”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Have been in Lancaster for about 10 months, during which time we have been sampling the cafes and restaurants, but Sun Pizza had escaped our notice until a few weeks ago. You have to know you definitely want pizza, because that's more or less all that is on the menu, but having made that decision, this is definitely the place to go. The restaurant was (rather alarmingly) quiet for a Friday evening, particularly so given the excellent quality of the food and the friendly service. Will definitely be going back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EAS47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    21
    4
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Private dining!”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We visited on a Thursday evening for dinner, as we walked through the door a waiter rushed ahead of us from the cafe opposite. We were the only diners in there, and it would appear they share staff with the cafe as the waiter went back and forth all evening.
The pizzas we ordered were great, authentic thin and crispy. Our order was slightly wrong when it arrived, but it was quickly rectified.
The only downside was the lack of attention, we would have ordered more drinks and desserts had we been given the chance but got bored of waiting, and felt a bit awkward being the only ones in there...particularly when the music stopped for 10 minutes.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent thin pizzas but restaurant is limited”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

The pizzas were very good. But. The restaurant felt like an add on for the Sun Cafe over the road. Staff kept moving to and from the restaurant, obviously they shared a lot of resources. Also the menu is incredibly limited, basically pizzas or not a lot else. Wine list is very short and the place was very quiet with just us in. It was quite an odd dining experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Niall P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great service ...authentic pizza !”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

I took my children here on Saturday night ,we could of opted for the cheaper Italian places that are around but my husband and I have eaten here before so I wanted to take the kids and give them a taste of "proper" pizza ! We arrived quite early and it looked like the restaurant was being used for a party so we was given a table across the street at the sun cafe which is also a lovely restaurant .The restaurant was empty so lacking a bit of atmosphere but as I said it was early .Our pizzas arrived promptly and as everyone has said before me these are lovely thin based authentic pizzas ,my daughter had the calzone which she said was lovely ! The service here is second to none and makes for a lovely experience .

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply fantastic”
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

Came here to celebrate my son's 21st and were not disappointed. This is one of those authentic Italian restaurants and serves probably the best pizzas.
If you can't decide where to go in Lancaster then take the worry out the decision and come here.
Excellent.

Helpful?
Thank Mike_of_MaLLaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sun Pizza also viewed

Lancaster, Lancashire
 
Lancaster, Lancashire
Lancaster, Lancashire
 

Been to The Sun Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing