We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tastebud tickling Thai food”

Siam Balcony Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 245 Restaurants in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Tastebud tickling Thai food”
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

We ate here on the 22nd after a bit of research on TA. We were greeted warmly and quickly seated at an uncluttered table, a single rose being the only embelishment. Delicious prawn crackers and a decent bottle of sauvignon blanc soon appeared as we perused the menu. To start we chose Thai sausages and fishcakes both served with a sweet chilli dip. The dip was refreshingly zingy without overpowering the other flavours. For mains we had the yellow (mild) curry and a traditional Thai green, both with chicken as the meat ingredient. A single serving of steamed rice proved to be enough for us both. Presentation of both the starters and mains was excellent and the staff gave us just enough attention without being intrusive. We don't usually eat dessert but having seen some delivered to other diners we were tempted to a vanilla summer and a Thai sticky pudding, both were delicious. The atmosphere in the restaurant was peaceful and although it was about 30% full at the time, patrons were nicely spaced out. Lighting and background music were just right adding to a very pleasant meal. It will be a pleasure to return the next time we stay in Lancaster.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    42
    12
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Runcorn
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely place, warm welcome”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

What a great restaurant this is. The staff are lovely and friendly. The service is top class. We didn't order a starter but after seeing some of the starters coming out of the kitchen i was sorry i didn't order 1. The presentation of the food is beautiful and is delicious. I would recommend this Thai restaurant for sure. The only downfall is there not on my doorstep and we traveled a long way to eat here but it was worth every mile. I cant wait to go back to Lancaster and would book a table here again without a second thought. We had eaten at the Mung Mee a few times before and was disappointed when we found it had closed. Please do book a table at Siam Balcony and i know you will not be disappointed. So what are you waiting for? Go book a table and try it for yourself. It is better then its predecessor.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnneRuncorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grange-over-Sands, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Take Away on a rainy Saturday”
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

After reading other reviews we thought we would give Siam Balcony a try tonight. We have had, and like both Blue Moon and Sabai Thai in Lancaster so we thought we should try and compare.
We ordered Tom Kha Gai, Chicken Panang, Chicken Pad Thai and Coconut Rice. Firstly portion size of curry was smaller than both other places, but we thought the chicken was nicer.
It arrived after 25 minutes, which was good, and was a good temperature on arrival, we didn't have to reheat it.
Overall, it was very tasty. But we wouldn't say it was any better than the other two restaurants and unfortunately we like different dishes at each of them!! We wish they would join up and create a super Thai in Lancaster, that would be good.:)
Would recommend Siam Balcony, but would not say they are the best in town. Unlike the Chinese restaurants Lancaster has to offer, we think all the Thai restaurants are of a good standard. Our advice, try them all and choose your favourite!

Helpful?
Thank Miss_H24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnforth
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very delicious and beautifully presented meals”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

The best Thai food in Lancaster. Our party of four enjoyed the vegetarian and meat set dishes menu, very delicious and beautifully presented Thai meals, thank you.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Onn15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Outstanding.....you have to go!”
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Like other reviews, we were sad to see the old mung mee close; however, after a makeover which has transformed the restaurant for the best, Siam balcony is every bit better than its predecessor.
Same great warm welcome, attentive staff, amazing food and good value, considering the freshness and portion size,
We recommend the tempura vegetables as a starter (beautifully fresh and well presented) and the Thai red curry has to be the best for miles.
If you still have space for more, the traditional Thai pudding (served in a banana leaf) is amazing.
We will definateiy be back soon!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bergerac76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Siam Balcony Restaurant also viewed

 
Lancaster, Lancashire
Lancaster, Lancashire
 

Been to Siam Balcony Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing