We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a great location”

Review of Roeburnscar

Window seat in sitting room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Window seat in sitting room
Entrance Heron superking bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Window seat in sitting room
Entrance
Heron superking bedroom
Roeburndale valley showing meadows and woods of Backsbottom Farm
Roeburnscar from Roeburn river
Path up into woods from cottage
Main sitting room
View to Whernside and Three Peaks
Main kitchen
Buzzard twin bedroom
Deer in field next to cottage
Heron
Roeburndale bluebells
Drive towards cottage
Cottage viewed from garden
Flat sitting room
Entrance into drive
Flat sitting room
Garden pond
Verandah
Flat bedroom
Flat bedroom door
Owl twin bedroom
Flat sitting room
Floor plan
Flat patio
Entrance to drive on Roeburndale East road
Garden pond
Dippper single bedroom
Path up to house from garden
Roeburndale bluebells
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Lancaster, Lancaster District, Lancashire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Roy P
Bury, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a great location”
Reviewed November 18, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

The bungalow was exceptionally spacious, with plenty of room for the eight of us to sit, cook,eat, etc, The location by the river was excellent and the walk along the river or into the village is very pleasant. Being without tv for a weekend was no problem and the children all improved their game playing skill (of the board game type !) Both Jane and Robb were always available to answer questions andpoint us in the right direction. The pub in Wray, the George and Dragon, should not be missed, as the food is very good and the owners are very peasant.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 19, 2015
It was a pleasure to host you, Roy, and your lovely family. I'm sure the George and Dragon will be thrilled to hear your feedback as I am too--thank you for coming and being such great guests, Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staplefor...
england
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Hideaway in a beautiful location”
Reviewed August 9, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a wonderful family celebration at Roeburnscar. It was a 70th birthday and we wanted to invite people from different generations . This lovely dwelling met all needs and we were able to relax in peaceful surroundings, eat and drink together and enjoy beautiful scenery.
The surrounding area is varied and we enjoyed the coastal views of Arnside and Silverdale; the splendour of the trough of Bowland and the many pretty villages with welcoming pubs.
The owners were very concerned that we had a great time and their friendliness was amazing. Massive commitment to the environment in all aspects of Roeburnscar which is reflected in the beauty of the place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2015
Thank you so much S.and family for coming to the cottage and giving us such a great review- a review which covers so many aspects: the local area, the house and it's immediate surroundings,all of which go towards contributing to a family holiday.It is much appreciated--thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hootley23
1 review
“Chilled”
Reviewed March 27, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Had a fantastic 2 night stay here with my wife and her parents. A gorgeous place with stunning scenery as the house is nessled within the forest next to the river roeburn, it feels like your miles from reality. We took in a couple of fantastic walks with our little pooch and also did the 20 minute amble into the village and had a pint in the local and some excellent grub in the tea rooms. Perfect destination for a relaxing weekend sat on the balcony or if you wish done your wellies and get exploring!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2015
Thank you for your review and for mentioning the local walks and eating places. Good to know you all enjoyed it, many thanks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann B
Céaucé, Basse-Normandie, France
1 review
“perfect family retreat”
Reviewed December 28, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

We were Grandparents from France with children and grandchildren from Warrington and Darlington spending a Christmas weekend together. BPerfect layout for us all with everyone having their own space. beautiful views and setting was magical.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: position and views
Liked least: not enough varied sized pans for large catering
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2015
Thank you for your kind review. It describes perfectly how spacious the house is but also cosy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A beautiful place to stay!”
Reviewed December 27, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

This was a beautiful place to stay while I was helping my mother who lives nearby to pack to move. The sound and views of the rushing stream, being in the forest, and a gorgeous walk every morning before leaving helped reduce the stress of the move. The owner was very helpful when needed and took care of whatever I needed, and the place was spotlessly clean!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2015
So glad that the house gave you a base whilst you were here for your mother.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy K
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Enchanting place”
Reviewed December 27, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

What a lovely place to stay , we were a party of 10 and 2 dogsl, included 2 little ones (aged 4 months old and 2 years) . This place wraps it's arms around you and makes you feel you are a million miles away from any hustle and bustle. We enjoyed a pre christmas family get together with A big christmas dinner and woodland walks. We really loved staying here and I have a feeling we will definitely be returning . The cabin was comfortable , roomy and had bags of character. Loved the Eco element to the place and views to die for

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and views
Liked least: Not quite enough cooking equipment , pans etc but we were cooking for 10 !
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 28, 2014
Lovely to hear about your experience at the cottage and your feedback is very much appreciated-many thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WirralGib...
Wirral
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Fabulous weekend”
Reviewed November 25, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Just returned from celebrating 3 family birthdays. Accommodation was perfect for our needs with 2 king size rooms, a twin and a single together with 2 bathrooms, 1 with bath and 1 with shower.
Large living room with wood burning fire opening onto a porch overlooking the Roeburn river. Separate dining room and a kitchen with lots of crockery and cooking pots too. The wine and biscuits on arrival was also a nice touch.
We particularly enjoyed Rod's informative walk on Saturday and enjoyed learning about the trees and the area in general. Every question was answered very fully!
We all agred we would definitely stay here again. Thank you Rod and Jane for an excellent weekend.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 26, 2014
Thank you so much everyone for coming and for the great review. We're really glad your family stay was enjoyed so much and thanks for enjoying the woodland walk .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing