We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”
Review of The Robert Gillow

The Robert Gillow
Ranked #32 of 231 Restaurants in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: To satisfy your interest in craft ale and for those looking to explore beers from the far flung corners of the globe, the Robert Gillow is the place to start your journey. With an array of over 100 beers to choose from we have something to keep you interested as you seek your favourite tipple. Our food menu is served daily so you can enjoy a laid back meal with friends with our sharing platters.
Reviewed May 11, 2019 via mobile

Highly recommend this little beauty! Great staff with a friendly, down to earth manager. A credit to the brewery! Great range on gins, just my thing, and a lovely menu to go with it. Basic, but good quality!
Will most definitely be returning! :-)

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank RicciT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob_Heathcote, General Manager at The Robert Gillow, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2019

Hi Ricci,

Thanks for taking the time to review us, we’re thrilled you enjoyed yourself and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Rob and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 189 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

My friend and I met for lunch at the Robert Gillow and were surprised at the choice of toasted sandwiches. We finally ordered a BLT toastie and a chicken with chilli toastie. The server also asked would we like to add soup or chips for an extra 99p. We ordered one portion of chips. The toasties, chips and two cappacino’s were lovely and we will definitely be returning. Next time for cake and coffee for £3.95.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank 696JOHNTHOMAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob_Heathcote, General Manager at The Robert Gillow, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2019

Hi John,

Thank you for visiting and taking the time to review us. We’re glad you enjoyed your time here and we look forward to seeing you next time!

Rob and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2019

Great range of bitters and gins. Lovely quirky pub, which has more seating upstairs that we hadn't realised was there until we visited the toilets.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank viccij2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob_Heathcote, General Manager at The Robert Gillow, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2019

Hi Vicci,

Thanks for visiting, we’re glad you like our beer and gin range! We get new cask ales in regularly so there’s always something new to try,

Hope to see you again soon,

Rob and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2019

Good pub, well looked after beer and generally busy. The only downside is that often there's nowhere to sit as it's quite small inside. Great choice of bottled beer, but often it's not chilled and stored at room temperature.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank JaseCork43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob_Heathcote, General Manager at The Robert Gillow, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2019

Hi Jase,

Thanks for visiting and taking the time to review us!
Apologies if your bottle was not quite down to temperature we may have had to restock the fridges at short notice, we always try to keep this to a minimum though.

Hope to see you again soon!

Rob and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2019 via mobile

Lovely atmosphere, lovely wine and it’s great for people watching in the big windows, bar staff were ok.

It’s a nice little place for a delicious glass of Sauvignon blanc after returning from the castle.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Benji10uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob_Heathcote, General Manager at The Robert Gillow, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2019

Hi Benji10

Thank you for visiting and taking the time to review us, we’re glad you had a nice time and hope to see you again in the future!

Rob and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Robert Gillow also viewed

Lancaster, Lancaster District
Lancaster, Lancaster District
 
Lancaster, Lancaster District
Lancaster, Lancaster District
 
Lancaster, Lancaster District
Lancaster, Lancaster District
 

Been to The Robert Gillow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing