We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For soup this place is yummiest”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Soupanova - CLOSED

Soupanova
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Soups
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“For soup this place is yummiest”
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Never been a massive fan of soup but this place is set to change my mind I think...had a lurvely lunch today!

£3.50 for a medium takeaway chicken & red pepper soup with some gorgeous pumpkin and cranberry bread mmmm very nice and shall definately be going back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gemma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    10
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Lancashire
Level Contributor
125 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Not really a Restaurant”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is really a take-away food outlet with high-chairs under counters and two tables with five chairs. There was a selection of five soups, about a dozen fillings for sandwiches on different types of bread. The soup was interesting; they included celeriac, carrot and mint plus three others. It was quiet when the group met in the late afternoon. We had personal service and the soup was tasty without being over salty. The place had an artisan feel. It was fine as a meeting place where we could refuel and discuss issues. It is not a destination restaurant.
It met the requirements and I would meet there again but it cannot accommodate many people in a social group.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MerlinsonofOdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancaster
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“great soups”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

i'm a regular in here for lunch either eat in or takeaway, alison deserves credit for what she produces every day , always varied and something you will like with a nice choice of bread or a sandwhich. smoothies are good aswell so get your five a day.
an eclectic mix of customers and a good vibe in the shop.
stop going on holiday will you please

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hairbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The soups made here are great, there is a good variety and each one as good as the last. There is also a good range of breads, to have with your soup

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best dining option in the city”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The owner, Alison, makes several delicious soups every day, meat and vegetarian ones. They are always with a certain kick and very tasty, You can order a bagel with it (with onions, sesame etc.) or a sandwich (Coronation chicken is my favourite, but hummus is also great). You get a soup deal (sandwich and a soup) for 4 pounds. It's yummy, tasty and cheap! There are also several desserts (muffins and cakes) available. I am planning on becoming a regular.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soupanova also viewed

 
Slyne, Lancaster
Halton, Lancaster
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing